Genre: Contemporary Romance

ARC Review: The Gypsy King by Devney Perry

I received this book for free in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

ARC Review: The Gypsy King by Devney PerryGypsy King by Devney Perry
Series: Tin Gypsy #1
Published by Devney Perry LLC on 29th October 2019
Genres: Contemporary Romance, Romantic Suspense
Pages: 404
Format: eARC
Source: the Author
Buy on Amazon USBuy on Amazon UK
Goodreadsthree-half-stars

The former Tin Gypsy motorcycle club has everyone in Clifton Forge, Montana convinced they’ve locked their clubhouse doors and ripped off their patches. Everyone but Bryce Ryan. There’s more happening at the club’s garage than muscle car restorations and Harley rebuilds. Her instincts are screaming there’s a story—one she’s going to tell.
As the new owner of the small town’s newspaper, Bryce is hungry for more than birth announcements and obituaries. When a woman is brutally killed and all signs point to the Tin Gypsies, Bryce is determined to expose the club and their leader, Kingston “Dash” Slater, as murderers.
Bryce bests Dash match after match, disappointed her rugged and handsome opponent turns out to be an underwhelming adversary. Secrets are exposed. Truths defeat lies. Bryce is poised to win this battle in a landslide.
Then Dash breaks all the rules and tips the scales.
One kiss, and she’s fighting to save more than just her story. She’s fighting to save her heart from the Gypsy King.

Rating: 3.5+ stars (Almost but not quite 4 stars)

Lets do this again, I already wrote a review for this but unfortunately I broke my laptop so I couldn’t use it (its still broken so :///) which is why the reviews are late, I was hoping it would be fixed and I wouldn’t have to rewrite them but 🙁 anyways, I’ll update this review with the original one later on.

Whats its about: It’s about Bryce Ryan, the reporter we’ve met in the outpost. She’s smart, beautiful and strong. She left her tv anchor person job to come work with her father at their local newspaper. Bryce has always wanted to be a reporter, she longs to do investigative journalism and her curiosity and instincts are questioning the Tin gypsy motorcycle club’s recent closing down. Which leads to Kingston “Dash” Slater, the former leader of the club and now just the owner of an auto shop. Dash has left behind the club and all its illegal dealing and he’s much happier for it. This all changes of course when a murder charge against his father is bought up and Bryce is there to make things more complicated for him. Now the only way to get answer might be to work together.

What I liked: Bryce, I really liked her, I wanted her to get her own story when I read the outpost so I was very excited to read this and she didn’t disappoint. Bryce along with her strong side, also really longs for a family and her wanting to change her life from the lonely woman, away from her family and not doing what she really desired took some guts. Dash, I liked him as well. He had decided to change the clubs ways and to go the more legal way. I liked the mystery aspect, its not as big or twisted as I generally read in my romantic suspense but it made the book more interesting. I liked the chemistry Bryce and Dash had, it was pretty great. I always enjoy a bit of reluctant feelings about by enemy stories.  I like the writing, the characters and the general plot line.

What I didn’t like: Overall if you look at the amount of time Bryce and Dash actually have spend together in the months following their first meeting, its only a couple of days…nearly not long enough for them to fall in love when all they did was focus on finding the culprit or having sex so the conclusion of the feelings felt rushed. I was hoping for more development in their relationship. I didn’t really understand why they didn’t go to the police in the later bit in the book, it kinda just felt like it was done for dramas sake but it didn’t make sense? Along with 1-2 more inconsistencies in the book, along with certain things not making sense and my feeling very confused after finishing it. I’m sure we will continue on in the next book but it just felt very baffling to not get a proper answer. The last few chapters just felt rushed and made the characters made some decisions that I felt they wouldn’t have in the earlier ones.

Overall, I liked the book, its just not my favourite from Devney Perry. I generally really like the characters and the storylines and feel satisfaction after finishing Devney Perry’s books which I suppose contributes to me rating this lower. I’m really looking forward to Isaiah and Genevieve’s book which releases next year.

 

Release Blitz: The Kingmaker by Kennedy Ryan

Release Blitz: The Kingmaker by Kennedy Ryan

Release Blitz: The Kingmaker by Kennedy RyanThe Kingmaker by Kennedy Ryan
Series: All The King's Men #1
Published by LLC on 28th October 2019
Genres: Contemporary Romance, Multicultural & Interracial, Romantic Suspense
Pages: 344
Buy on Amazon US
Goodreads

Ambition. Passion. Betrayal..
RITA® Award-winning author Kennedy Ryan delivers the epic first installment of the All the King's Men Duet..
Raised to rule, bred to lead and weaned on a diet of ruthless ambition.

In a world of haves and have nots, my family has it all, and I want nothing to do with it.

My path takes me far from home and paints me as the black sheep. At odds with my father, I'm determined to build my own empire. I have rules, but Lennix Hunter is the exception to every one of them. From the moment we meet, something sparks between us. But my family stole from hers and my father is the man she hates most. I lied to have her, and will do anything to keep her. Though she tries to hate me, too, the inexorable pull between us will not be denied.

And neither will I.

“A dazzling, thought-provoking, layered romance that will keep you on the edge of your seat. One of the best books of 2019.”

— L.J. Shen, USA Today bestselling author

The Kingmaker, the first in the all-new powerful and emotional All The King’s Men Duet, from RITA ® Award-winning author Kennedy Ryan, is available now!

 

Enter the $50 Gift Card Release Giveaway

http://bit.ly/TKMRelGiveaway

THE KINGMAKER LIVE JW

Download your copy today or read FREE in Kindle Unlimited!

Amazon |Amazon Worldwide |Amazon Paperback 

THE KINGMAKER AN SIERRA QUOTE

Pre-order the stunning conclusion, The Rebel King!

Releasing November 17th

Amazon |Amazon Worldwide |Amazon Paperback

Be notified FIRST when The Rebel King goes live: http://bit.ly/2oRuDhf

Get notified when The Kingmaker is available on Audio: http://bit.ly/kingmakeraudio

About Kennedy Ryan

A Top 30 Amazon Bestseller, Kennedy Ryan writes about women from all walks of life, empowering them and placing them firmly at the center of each story and in charge of their own destinies. Her heroes respect, cherish and lose their minds for the women who capture their hearts.

She is a wife to her lifetime lover and mother to an extraordinary son. She has always leveraged her journalism background to write for charity and non-profit organizations, but enjoys writing to raise Autism awareness most. A contributor for Modern Mom Magazine and Frolic, Kennedy’s writings have appeared in Chicken Soup for the Soul, USA Today and many others. The founder and executive director of a foundation serving Atlanta Autism families, she has appeared on Headline News, Montel Williams, NPR and other media outlets as an advocate for families living with autism.

Blog Tour: Bishop’s Queen by Katie Reus

Blog Tour: Bishop's Queen by Katie Reus

Blog Tour: Bishop’s Queen by Katie ReusBishop's Queen by Katie Reus
Genres: Contemporary Romance, Romantic Suspense
Format: eARC
Source: the publisher
Goodreadsfour-stars

Return to the Endgame trilogy where blood is thick, but passion is thicker…
He doesn’t believe in fairy-tale endings…
They used to call Evan Bishop the golden boy. He had it all and was about to close the business deal of a lifetime, then marry the woman of his dreams. But everything goes to hell when a faceless enemy wants to destroy his family’s empire and see him dead. Except the bomb meant to kill him fails. He wakes up from a coma to find his face scarred and his brother missing and wanted for murder. Now that he’s damaged, he hides away from the world—including the woman he loves. He refuses to be a burden to her, so even though it destroys him, he sets her free.
She’s about to prove him wrong…
Isla MacDonald isn’t walking away from Evan just because he’s decided to shut her out of his life. He blames himself for the bombing that got her father killed and nearly killed him—but he’s wrong. After all attempts to see him fail, with a broken heart she tries to resume her life and take over her father’s firm. Though it’s not her dream, she wants to honor his legacy. But when someone tries to kill her—twice—she needs a bodyguard. To her surprise Evan steps up and insists on protecting her, putting on a show as the caring fiancé. But he won’t let her back into his life or into his heart. To have any chance at a future together, they’ll have to resurrect the past and stay alive long enough to expose the man determined to see them both dead.
Author note: This book can be read as a stand-alone, complete with HEA.
Books in trilogy: Bishop’s Knight, #1 Bishop’s Queen, #2 Bishop’s Endgame, #3

Rating~ 3.75 stars

Bishop’s queen is about Evan and Isla, the two people who were in love before the tragedy happened in the book 1 of the series, leaving Evan with physical and mental scars and him pushing away from everyone, including breaking off his engagement with Isla. Now with Isla in danger, Evan can’t help but stay close to her.

I quite enjoyed the book, though I do wish I had read the first book in the series, it would have made my connection to Evan and Isla stronger and would have given me an insight of how they were before the event. Regardless of that, I liked Evan and Isla together, though they Evan had broken off their engagement, it was very much obvious of how much they both still loved each other and Isla couldn’t care less about his scars. I also enjoyed the romantic suspense element to the book, it was done well to keep me interested in who might be the culprit.

Quibbles:I do wish however that we had gotten a bit more of the romance between Evan and Isla, since the suspense part of the book takes it away from romance a bit, I guess if the book had been longer it wouldn’t be an issue.

Overall, I enjoyed Bishop’s Queen, it had been sometime since I read a romantic suspense by Katie Reus and it reminded me why I enjoy her writing and her characters, they are just very easy to connect to and get lost in. I’m looking forward to reading the book in the series!

He leaned down, not sure what the hell he was going to do to cut her off. Kiss her? God, what was he thinking? He started to pull back, then she grabbed him by the front of his shirt and yanked him down to her.

Her green eyes flashed in anger—and hunger—as her lips collided with his. What was she doing? What was he doing? He should pull away, but he couldn’t. Instead, he threaded his fingers through her thick auburn hair, cupping the back of her head as she plastered herself to him.

He loved the sweet taste of her, had missed her for far too long. Every morning he woke up, expecting to roll over and see her, but his bed was always empty. And cold. He’d ached for her in that hospital room, even as he was the one who’d kept her out. And he’d continued to ache for her once he’d been discharged. He simply couldn’t stop wanting her.

Needing her.

Without breaking the kiss, he reached behind himself and held his hand to the scanner. A second later, the door opened with a soft snick and then they were inside his place.

Though it wasn’t really his place, but a sparsely furnished rental with the basics and a killer view.

He wasn’t sure what they were doing, not really. He wanted to be friends with her, wanted her in his life, but he didn’t want to saddle her with him. And he really didn’t want her to have any regrets. “We should stop,” he rasped out, surprised he was able to talk at all as he pulled back, his breaths coming in hard and shallow.

She slid off his jacket and tossed it to the ground. “Should we?” Her tone was tart as she stared up at him almost defiantly.

Dammit. He couldn’t remember why they should stop as he looked into her bright eyes. He wanted her so much, had never stopped wanting her, loving her.

About Katie Reus

Katie Reus is the New York Times and USA Today bestselling author of the Red Stone Security series, the Darkness series and the Deadly Ops series. She fell in love with romance at a young age thanks to books she pilfered from her mom’s stash. Years later she loves reading romance almost as much as she loves writing it.

However, she didn’t always know she wanted to be a writer. After changing majors many times, she finally graduated summa cum laude with a degree in psychology. Not long after that she discovered a new love. Writing. She now spends her days writing dark paranormal romance and sexy romantic suspense.

Teaser: Bishop’s Queen by Katie Reus

Teaser: Bishop's Queen by Katie Reus

Teaser: Bishop’s Queen by Katie ReusBishop's Queen by Katie Reus
on 22nd October 2019
Genres: Contemporary Romance, Romantic Suspense
Buy on Amazon USBuy on Amazon UKBuy on KoboBuy on itunesBuy on B&N
Goodreads

Return to the Endgame trilogy where blood is thick, but passion is thicker…
He doesn’t believe in fairy-tale endings…
They used to call Evan Bishop the golden boy. He had it all and was about to close the business deal of a lifetime, then marry the woman of his dreams. But everything goes to hell when a faceless enemy wants to destroy his family’s empire and see him dead. Except the bomb meant to kill him fails. He wakes up from a coma to find his face scarred and his brother missing and wanted for murder. Now that he’s damaged, he hides away from the world—including the woman he loves. He refuses to be a burden to her, so even though it destroys him, he sets her free.
She’s about to prove him wrong…
Isla MacDonald isn’t walking away from Evan just because he’s decided to shut her out of his life. He blames himself for the bombing that got her father killed and nearly killed him—but he’s wrong. After all attempts to see him fail, with a broken heart she tries to resume her life and take over her father’s firm. Though it’s not her dream, she wants to honor his legacy. But when someone tries to kill her—twice—she needs a bodyguard. To her surprise Evan steps up and insists on protecting her, putting on a show as the caring fiancé. But he won’t let her back into his life or into his heart. To have any chance at a future together, they’ll have to resurrect the past and stay alive long enough to expose the man determined to see them both dead.
Author note: This book can be read as a stand-alone, complete with HEA.
Books in trilogy: Bishop’s Knight, #1 Bishop’s Queen, #2 Bishop’s Endgame, #3

Katie Reus is back with the next book in her bestselling Endgame Trilogy. BISHOP’S QUEEN will be out on October 22nd – check out the brand new teaser and pre-order your copy today!

 

Pre-order your copy of BISHOP’S QUEEN today!
Amazon | Apple | Nook | Kobo

About Katie Reus

Katie Reus is the New York Times and USA Today bestselling author of the Red Stone Security series, the Darkness series and the Deadly Ops series. She fell in love with romance at a young age thanks to books she pilfered from her mom’s stash. Years later she loves reading romance almost as much as she loves writing it.

However, she didn’t always know she wanted to be a writer. After changing majors many times, she finally graduated summa cum laude with a degree in psychology. Not long after that she discovered a new love. Writing. She now spends her days writing dark paranormal romance and sexy romantic suspense.

Excerpt: The Kingmaker by Kennedy Ryan

Excerpt: The Kingmaker by Kennedy Ryan

Excerpt: The Kingmaker by Kennedy RyanThe Kingmaker by Kennedy Ryan
Series: All The King's Men #1
on 28th October 2019
Genres: Contemporary Romance
Buy on Amazon USBuy on Amazon UKBuy on B&N

Power. Passion. Betrayal.

RITA® Award-winning author Kennedy Ryan delivers the epic first installment of the All the King’s Men Duet.

Raised to rule, bred to lead and weaned on a diet of ruthless ambition. In a world of haves and have nots, my family has it all, and I want nothing to do with it.

My path takes me far from home and paints me as the black sheep. At odds with my father, I’m determined to build my own empire. I have rules, but Lennix Hunter is the exception to every one of them. From the moment we meet, something sparks between us. But my family stole from hers and my father is the man she hates most. I lied to have her, and would do anything to keep her. Though she tries to hate me, too, the inexorable pull between us will not be denied.

And neither will I.

All The King’s Men Duet, an all-new powerful and emotional duet from RITA ® Award winning author Kennedy Ryan, is coming October 28th, and we have the first sneak peek!

A fat raindrop plops on my nose, sliding down the bridge, followed by another and then a wet succession.

“Aw, hell.” I pull my jacket up on my elbows to provide some shelter for the two of us, but the rain trebles, more coming down and faster.

“We still have four blocks before my place,” I say. “Sorry, but the weather is unpredictable this time of year.”

Rain has already started molding the thin dress to her body, faithfully hugging every swell and curve. A hard shiver runs through her and her teeth chatter.

“Come on.” I grab her hand and duck into an alleyway. An overhang provides a tiny patch of dry ground and shelter. “We may be able to wait it out. These showers sprout up and pass over like they never happened.”

We’re sandwiched between two buildings and there is barely any light, but the moonlight finds her, sculpting shadows beneath her cheekbones and etching dark crescents of her lowered lashes. The rain has smeared her mascara, and water-slicked hair flattens to her head. She should look bedraggled, but she manages to be the prettiest girl I’ve ever seen.

I bend, tentative at first, even after last night. Even after making love to her again this morning when I chased her up the stairs. I approach slowly, giving her the chance to refuse, but she doesn’t. She meets me, eyes open, lips eager, hands bunched in my wet hair. It’s a freshwater kiss, made of rain and passion.

WANT MORE? Click here to keep reading and to enter Kennedy’s cover reveal GIVEAWAY >>> http://bit.ly/sneakpeekKR

Releasing October 28th

THE KINGMAKER PAPERBACK PREORDER.jpg

Pre-order the paperback today!

Amazon | Barnes and Noble  

Be notified FIRST when The Kingmaker goes live: http://bit.ly/2oRuDhf

About Kennedy Ryan

A Top 30 Amazon Bestseller, Kennedy Ryan writes about women from all walks of life, empowering them and placing them firmly at the center of each story and in charge of their own destinies. Her heroes respect, cherish and lose their minds for the women who capture their hearts.

She is a wife to her lifetime lover and mother to an extraordinary son. She has always leveraged her journalism background to write for charity and non-profit organizations, but enjoys writing to raise Autism awareness most. A contributor for Modern Mom Magazine and Frolic, Kennedy’s writings have appeared in Chicken Soup for the Soul, USA Today and many others. The founder and executive director of a foundation serving Atlanta Autism families, she has appeared on Headline News, Montel Williams, NPR and other media outlets as an advocate for families living with autism.

Review: Team Player 2 Anthology

Review: Team Player 2 Anthology

I received this book for free in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Review: Team Player 2 AnthologyTeam Player 2: A Sports Anthology by Charleigh Rose, Ella Fox, Emma Scott, Ilsa Madden-Mills, Kate Stewart, Kennedy Ryan, Mandi Beck, Meghan Quinn, Rochelle Paige, Sara Ney, Teagan Hunter
on 20th September 2019
Genres: College Romance, Contemporary Romance, Romance, Romantic Comedy, Sports
Pages: 1014
Format: eARC
Source: the publisher
Buy on Amazon USBuy on Amazon UK
Goodreadsfour-stars

Our love of hot jocks is never-ending.
Muscular football players. Passionate tennis pros. Sexy soccer stars. All sorts of alpha hotties, on the field and off.
Have no fear! The team is back again, and this time...it's thicker. You'll get your sports romance fix with brand-new stories from eleven bestselling authors.
Need one last summer fix? Dive into this anthology.
*This anthology contains original, never-before-seen stories by the following authors: Mandi Beck, Ella Fox, Teagan Hunter, Ilsa Madden-Mills, Sara Ney, Rochelle Paige, Meghan Quinn, Charleigh Rose, Kennedy Ryan, Emma Scott, and Kate Stewart.

We still aren’t responsible for melted devices.

I was eagerly awaiting the release of Team Player 2 anthology, it has stories from 8 contemporary authors, some of whom I absolutely adore and some who are new to me.

Fast Break by Kennedy Ryan

4+ stars

This is Quinn and Ean Jagger’s book. Quinn who we met in Block Shot (book #2) and Ean who is the coach of August’s team (from Book #1). I really enjoyed this one, its pretty short but as everything with Kennedy Ryan its well written and she made me teary at the epilogue. All in all a pretty great short wish I could have a bit more time with a couple but its done really well for a short novella. We also get to see/hear about the other characters/couples from the HOOPS series which was a plus, especially if your are a fan of Banner. It’s a great little addition to the series!!

The Teaching Hours by Sara Ney

3.5+ stars

This was fun, cute! I haven’t read the Jock series so I didn’t know the characters from beforehand (which I think would have made it a better read for me) but it was also fine as a standalone. Hannah and Rex were cute, again I wish we had a bit more time with the couple but its was pretty rounded off as we got to see them from strangers to getting to know each other and then starting dating. Also Rex and his niece were so cute together.

**I will update this as I read other novella’s in the anthology**

About Ella Fox

Ella Fox writes like a woman possessed whenever she gets the chance! She is the author of The Hart Family Series, The Renegade Saints Series and The Catch Series.

When she’s not writing, Ella indulges the gypsy in her blood and travels the country. Ella loves reading, movies, music, buying make-up, reading Tmz, Twitter and pedicures… not necessarily in that order. She has a wild sense of humor and loves to laugh. Her favorite thing in the world is hanging out with her family and watching comedy movies.

About Emma Scott

Emma Scott is a bestselling author of emotional, character-driven romances in which art and love intertwine to heal, and in which love always wins. If you enjoy thoughtful, realistic stories with diverse characters and kind-hearted heroes, you will enjoy my novels.

About Kennedy Ryan

A Top 30 Amazon Bestseller, Kennedy Ryan writes about women from all walks of life, empowering them and placing them firmly at the center of each story and in charge of their own destinies. Her heroes respect, cherish and lose their minds for the women who capture their hearts.

She is a wife to her lifetime lover and mother to an extraordinary son. She has always leveraged her journalism background to write for charity and non-profit organizations, but enjoys writing to raise Autism awareness most. A contributor for Modern Mom Magazine and Frolic, Kennedy’s writings have appeared in Chicken Soup for the Soul, USA Today and many others. The founder and executive director of a foundation serving Atlanta Autism families, she has appeared on Headline News, Montel Williams, NPR and other media outlets as an advocate for families living with autism.

About Meghan Quinn

Born in New York and raised in Southern California, Meghan has grown into a sassy, peanut butter eating, blonde haired swearing, animal hoarding lady. She is known to bust out and dance if “It’s Raining Men” starts beating through the air and heaven forbid you get a margarita in her, protect your legs because they may be humped.
Once she started commuting for an hour and twenty minutes every day to work for three years, she began to have conversations play in her head, real life, deep male voices and dainty lady coos kind of conversations. Perturbed and confused, she decided to either see a therapist about the hot and steamy voices running through her head or start writing them down. She decided to go with the cheaper option and started writing… enter her first novel, Caught Looking.
Now you can find the spicy, most definitely on the border of lunacy, kind of crazy lady residing in Colorado with the love of her life and her five, furry four legged children, hiking a trail or hiding behind shelves at grocery stores, wondering what kind of lube the nervous stranger will bring home to his wife. Oh and she loves a good boob squeeze!

About Sara Ney

Purveyor of all things witty & romantic, I love: iced latte’s, traveling, and bright, bold colors. On any given day, you can find me in my office, lovingly gazing at my bookshelf or shuffling my Bic felt-tip pen collection. I love hand writing letters, and sarcasm.

I live in the midwest, but “Will Write for Travel,” and believe everyone should follow their dreams, no matter how big or small. My favorite authors include Cindy Miles, S Walden, Suzanne Enoch, Tessa Dare (to name a few). I am a glutton for Historical, RomCom, Sports and MC romance.

One husband. Two daughters. Plenty of chaos.

Review: Down to You by Jayne Frost

Review: Down to You by Jayne FrostDown To You by Jayne Frost
Series: Sixth Street Bands #5
Published by Createspace Independent Publishing Platform on 4th sep 2018
Genres: Contemporary Romance
Pages: 425
Buy on Amazon USBuy on Amazon UK
Goodreadsfour-half-stars

She started from perfect.
A star who shone brighter than the rest.
But then fate took it all away.
Now she's broken. A beautiful song with a fractured beat.
But I'm still on the rise. Chasing a dream that she's already left behind.
If I'm lucky, I can find my redemption in the spotlight.
Destiny brought us together. Put her in my path.
It started with a road trip.
But somewhere along the line, it became a journey from here to there. Maybe she can help me.
Maybe we can help each other.
Maybe music is enough.
Maybe.
Every story deserves a soundtrack.
And ours is epic.
Down To You is a standalone, rockstar romance within the Sixth Street Bands Series. 18+ for adult situations.

I have been stalking people’s 5 star/favourites shelves to find new authors recently and I came across this, it was recommended me on GR as well and since I was still in the mood for contemporary plus enemies to lovers is like catnip to me. I want it as soon as I sniff it.

Victoria Grayson once lived a very charmed life which changed after the death of her husband and one of her best friends.  The woman she is now is vastly different, just sort of being existing, mostly for her friends, work and family. Logan Cage on the other hand had an awful childhood, his mother’s death and his father being an asshole and awful father and human. The only thing he really cares about is his sister and his music.

Logan and Tori, man I really adored them together. Their lives regardless of the riches they have is very bleak, lonely and filled with grief.

I really loved Tori and Logon together, they interactions at first are filled with barely concealed animosity that grows in friendship and love. They go on a journey together and take you along the ride of them finding their HEA. Which is filled ups and downs, angst and heartbreak. I adored them together and individually. They had great chemistry, you could see them falling deeper and deeper for each other. They both become open not just with each other but their friends as well. They help each other become more open and become better and stronger people.

I liked that Rhenn wasn’t made to be a bad guy and Tori didn’t compare her love to him with Logan. She loved Logan, he made her feel alive again and even when it breaks her heart…she continues to love him. Logan is of course insecure about Tori’s feelings for him but ultimately he comes to realise she does love him for him. She’s it for him.

Logan probably wouldn’t appreciate it but he was just so cute at times with Tori, getting her cookies, teasing her, helping with her stretches and working with her with song writing. And Tori, really needed that, she needed someone to see her, not Belle the rockstar, part of the famous couple and not Tori, the manager of Twin Souls but Victoria. Who longed for a child, who was sweet, loved her family and was just so lost in her personal life but was strong in her career and had so much love to give.

I haven’t read the other books in the series, I was completely fine with the story (probably would have loved the book even more had I read them) so this can be read as a standalone. I’m looking forward to reading Miles story next which is out now!

Slight quibble aside of me wanting more Logan and Tori together since they spend quite a bit at the end separately and wanting more conversations between them. It was a very good read. On a very surface level it reminded me Steal by Rachel Van Dyken and Faking it by K. Brombery. One because of the whole celebrity aspect, two because of the ‘forced’ closeness/tour and three because of the grief and pain that the couple had. Which are books I also really enjoyed so!

About Jayne Frost

Jayne Frost, author of the Sixth Street Bands Romance Series, grew up in California with a dream of moving to Seattle to become a rock star. When the grunge thing didn’t work out (she never even made it to the Washington border) Jayne set her sights on Austin, Texas. After quickly becoming immersed in the Sixth Street Music scene…and discovering she couldn’t actually sing, Jayne decided to do the next best thing–write kick ass romances about hot rockstars and the women that steal their hearts.

Review: The Friend Zone by Abby Jimenez

I received this book for free in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Review: The Friend Zone by Abby JimenezThe Friend Zone by Abby Jimenez
Published by Piatkus on 11th June 2019
Genres: Contemporary Romance, Contemporary Women
Format: eARC
Source: the publisher
Buy on Amazon USBuy on Amazon UK
Goodreadstwo-half-stars

Kristen Petersen doesn't do drama, will fight to the death for her friends, and has no room in her life for guys who just don't get her. She's also keeping a big secret: facing a medically necessary procedure that will make it impossible for her to have children.
Planning her best friend's wedding is bittersweet for Kristen - especially when she meets the best man, Josh Copeland. He's funny, sexy, never offended by her mile-wide streak of sarcasm, and always one chicken enchilada ahead of her hangry. Even her dog, Stuntman Mike, adores him. The only catch: Josh wants a big family someday. Kristen knows he'd be better off with someone else, but as their attraction grows, it's harder and harder to keep him at arm's length.

The Friend Zone will have you laughing one moment and grabbing for tissues the next as it tackles the realities of infertility and loss with wit, heart, and a lot of sass.

I guess this is another case of me having high expectations because I saw high rating/people really hyping this up (should have stuck to my guns about not reading hyped books when they get released but reading them in my own time), unfortunately maybe because of that, along with the issues I’ll mention below this ended up being more on okay read than a great read that I was hoping for.

The good bits: I did enjoy the authors writing, her sense of humour and her characters are quite complex and she knows how to work a plot. I did like Josh and Kristin (for most part). I also liked their banter and chemistry…

The meh bits: I just didn’t like Josh’s behaviour, the way he knew that Kristin was in a relationship and he loved that the fact she was loyal/wouldn’t cheat but at the same time was hoping that she’d dump the guy for him, all the while he’s her ‘FRIEND’ and I also didn’t like Kristin just not being straight up with Tyler, he reenlists and she’s like okay lets have sex Josh. :/ like right after…and later in the book she’s talking to him about being alone while he’s on tour ? and its ??? you knew this what is was going to be like, it just felt it just all about her wants in that relationship. Her just constantly thinking about being with Josh while she is with Tyler was also blegh to me. There is also her not telling Josh about her fibroids and infertility issues, which understandable at the start just got more and more frustrating as the book went on, I think she doesn’t tell like till almost 70% of the book. Also this is, I get it, its fiction and you want things to be perfect/happy for the couple and most often I would agree but if you’re actually spending the whole book about this issue and make the heroine struggle through this and of her being not defined by her infinity issues and her ability to bare children to then just go and ahead and give the couple a child. (also when this came when I was already pissed that modern media had killed two women who had fertility issues, spoilers for Avengers endgame: Black widow and GOT: Daenerys, like is already an annoying thing that you kill them as shock value or give them a magic sperm…??? which contributed to me feeling pretty frustrated with the ending) I’m happy for them of course but it doesn’t fit the book as an ending. The could easily adopted or used a surrogate…and the whole set up with the next book is already making me :///

I would give this author another try in the future but probably would wait a bit…

About Abby Jimenez

Abby Jimenez is a Food Network champion and USA Today best selling author with her hit debut novel The Friend Zone. Abby founded Nadia Cakes out of her home kitchen back in 2007. The bakery has since gone on to win numerous Food Network competitions and has amassed an international cult following. Her wry literary wit was spotlighted as the admin behind the hilarious viral comments on the now famous Nadia Cakes Vageode™ cake.

Abby loves a good romance, coffee, doglets, and not leaving the house.

Review: The Regret Duet by Aly Martinez

Review: The Regret Duet by Aly MartinezWritten with Regret by Aly Martinez
Series: The Regret Duet #1
Published by Aly Martinez on 19th May 2019
Genres: Contemporary Romance, Romantic Suspense
Pages: 234
Buy on Amazon USBuy on Amazon UK
Goodreadsfive-stars

Every little girl dreams of the fairytale. The one where the white knight rushes in to save her from the clutches of evil. They fall in love, have babies, and live happily ever after.
By that definition, my life should have been a fairytale too.
When I was eight years old, Caven Hunt saved me from the worst kind of evil to walk the Earth. It didn’t matter that I was a kid. I fell in love with him all the same.
But that was where my fairytale ended.
Years later, a one-night stand during the darkest time imaginable gave us a little girl. It was nothing compared to the pitch black that consumed me when I was forced to leave her with Caven for good.
At the end of every fairytale, the happily-ever-after is the one thing that remains consistent. It wasn’t going to be mine, but there hadn’t been a night that passed where I hadn’t prayed that it would be hers.
I owed Caven my life. However, I owed that innocent child more. And that included ripping the heart from my chest and facing her father again.

I had only read the blurb and Astrids review of book of the duet and decided to give it a go. I’m decidedly pro standolnes and not duets and trilogies because a) the dreaded cliffangers b). not a fan of waiting to complete a couples story and when’s it contemporary I’m even more reluctant to try. But I was the mood and it seemed so intriguing and bonus both the books were were out.

I really loved the writing and the couple. I loved the writing so much that I decided to binge read four books of the author after finishing this.

I would really suggest reading the book without finding out the spoilers, just go in blind. It’s better that way and you’ll fall in love with Caven and Hadley.

Caven Hunt is a millionaire whose entire world changed the night when he found his daughter at his doorstep as a result of a one night stand. Caven’s childhood was filled with terror and later marked with tragedy and pain. After everything he’d went through, the only person he really is close to is his best friend Ian. Not even with only living relative, his brother. Finding out he has a daughter, is a huge shock to him but she changes his life and changes it for the better. She really is the best thing in his life. After getting over his shock, Caven falls in love with the tiny and helpless baby who brings the happiness in his bleak and chaos filled life. And chaos comes again when his daughters’ mother returns on her 4th birthday.

Hadley Banks life changed from the day at the mall when she was 8. She lost her loving parents then and now at 26, she has lost all her family. All that remains is Roselee. Hadley’s also been through a lot, but she’s finally here and all she really wants it is to be a part of Roselee’s life. Hadley is really trying. She’s not demanding, just wants to be a part of Roselee’s life and is willing to do everything she can. She’s very lonely and even now suffers from PTSD.

Usually in books, it’s mostly the father bailing out but here Roselee’s mother did which is unique on its own but then you have the fact that Hadley and Caven have a connection that goes beyond that.

Hadley and Caven, I loved them. Caven was an amazing father to his daughter. Caven and Roselee had a beautiful bond and there was nothing he wouldn’t do for that little girl. Caven however is also filled with guilt for events he’s not responsible for. He’s just feels so sorry, which added a vulnerability to his character which along with the love he has for his daughter ,makes you love him. He is decidedly angry that Hadley has come back and so we get that delicious hate/love with Caven and Hadley. It’s sort of inventible that at some point they’d give into the sizzling chemistry they have. I think they were a great couple, I loved their love and their love for Roselee.

“…There’s a reason time only marches in one direction. You can choose any second to start over again.”~Hadley Banks.

Of course this ends in a cliffhanger, which I didn’t see at all coming. In hindsight, it’s like ahhh that makes so much sense now but since you don’t expect it, it hits you in the gut.

This is my first read by the author and there’s something very addictive about her writing, added with the great characters, couple and a cute kid along withe plot, it made for overall fantastic read.

Review: The Regret Duet by Aly MartinezWritten with You by Aly Martinez
Series: The Regret Duet #2
Published by Aly Martinez on 13th June 2019
Buy on Amazon USBuy on Amazon UK
Goodreadsfour-stars

When I was fifteen, a single bullet changed my life. I spent the next decade trying to outrun the devastation of my past, building an empire that would shield me from whatever life could throw at me.
But all the money in the world couldn’t help me when I found a screaming newborn abandoned on my doorstep.
I’d never wanted to be a father. Passing the sludge that ran through my veins down to an innocent child seemed like a tragedy. But there she was—pink cheeks, red hair, and mine.
Somehow, against all logic, that little girl became the best thing that ever happened to me. It was impossible to stay lost in the past when I was the only one who could protect her future.
Which is exactly why, when her mother came back four years later, I was ready for battle.
If only I could stop myself from falling in love with her during the war.

After the cliff-hanger from book 1, I was dying to know what happened. There are so many ups and down in this book. Things that shock you, things that make you laugh, love and want to wish someone hell.

I loooovvveed the main couple. Caven, even in his hatred and asshole-ish behaviour was still lovable. You understand why he’s like that. The same is true with the heroine, no matter what she did, you still love her. Her decisions to me, for most part made sense with the way her character is written and she’s also lovable. The way she loves Caven and Roselee is also touching. I loved them together, they had to work through stuff but they came out stronger. Their HEA left me with immense satisfaction.

While the story has quite a few twists and turns and emotional upheaval, we also get lighthearted moments and sweet moments between the couple, and the couple with Roselee. And I really enjoyed the writing, the plot and the characters.

“I love you. In this second and all the ones to come.” ~Caven Hunt

I read the duet is one sitting, in one day. Honestly don’t even think I did anything but read except when I had to pee. It was my first duet by the author and I’ll be checking out other duets by her now (thank god for kindle unlimited) The duet was just very easy to get lost into and the couple was captivating that couldn’t help but root for them. I didn’t want to say goodbye to the couple and I adored the epilogue. I’m also smacking myself in the head for not giving this author a try years ago.

Overall rating ~4.5 stars.

About Aly Martinez

Born and raised in Savannah, Georgia, Aly Martinez is a stay-at-home mom to four crazy kids under the age of five- including a set of twins. Currently living in South Carolina, she passes what little free time she has reading anything and everything she can get her hands on, preferably with a glass of wine at her side.

Excerpt: Handle With Care by Helena Hunting

Excerpt: Handle With Care by Helena HuntingHandle With Care by Helena Hunting
Published by St. Martin's Paperbacks on 27th August 2019
Genres: Contemporary Romance, Romantic Comedy
Pages: 300
Buy on Amazon USBuy on Amazon UKBuy on KoboBuy on itunesBuy on B&N
Goodreads

The next book set in Helena Hunting's hilarious and sexy world of Shacking Up!
For the last few years, Lincoln Moorehead has been working for non-profit organizations around the world. When his father suddenly passes away, as the eldest son, Lincoln reluctantly returns home to New York City to inherit the family business--much to the chagrin of his younger brother, Armstrong. What he doesn’t expect is that he’s been assigned a handler, a woman who he finds extremely sexy but frustratingly annoying.
Wren Sterling has a goal: to start her own children’s charity in honor of her sibling that died when they were young. But she lacks two important things: the money and the connections. So when Frederick and Gwendolyn Moorehead hired her as a “handler” to deal with their youngest son’s various indiscretions, she accepted, no questions asked. With Frederick’s sudden death and Lincoln’s return, Gwendolyn makes her a new offer: “handle” both of her sons short term, and she would double her pay and introduce her to all the right connections to help get her charity started.
Lincoln and Wren butt heads in the beginning, but soon their relationship progresses from professional to physical and becomes one of attraction and mutual appreciation. As Wren helps Lincoln adjust to being back in the corporate world, they discover that Frederick had a lot of skeletons in his closet, ones that his mother never expected would be revealed. But Gwendolyn has damning information in her possession—information that would wreck Wren’s family if she can’t stop Lincoln from digging further into his father’s secrets.

Handle With Care, an all-new romantic comedy from New York Times bestselling author Helena Hunting is coming August 27th, and we have a sneak peek!

Chapter One

What Have I Gotten Myself into?

Wren

I slip onto the empty bar stool beside the lumberjack mountain man who looks like he tried to squeeze himself into a suit two sizes too small. He’s intimidatingly broad and thick, with long dark hair that’s been pulled up into a haphazard man bun thing. His beard is a hipster’s wet dream. His scowl, however, makes him about as approachable as a rabid porcupine. And yet, here I am, sidling up next to him.

He glances at me, eyes bleary and not really tracking. He quickly focuses on his half-empty glass again. Based on the slump of his shoulders and the uncoordinated way he picks up his glass and tips it toward his mouth, I’m guessing he’s pretty hammered. I order a sparkling water with a dash of cranberry juice and a lime.

What I could really use is a cup of lavender-mint tea and my bed, but instead, I’m sitting next to a drunk man in his thirties. My life is extra glamorous, obviously. And no, I’m not an escort, but at the moment I feel like my morals are on the same kind of slippery slope.

“Rough day?” I ask, nodding to the bottle that’s missing more than half its contents. It was full when he sat down at the bar an hour ago. Yes, I’ve been watching him the entire time, waiting for an opportunity to make my move. While he’s been sitting here, he’s turned down two women, one in a dress that could’ve doubled as a disco ball and the other in a top so low-cut, I could almost see her navel.

“You could say that,” he slurs. He props his cheek on his fist, eyes almost slits. I can still make out the vibrant blue hue despite them being nearly closed. They move over me, assessing. I’m wearing a conservative black dress with a high neckline and a hem that falls below my knees. Definitely not nearly as provocative as Disco Ball or Navel Lady.

“That solving your problems?” I give him a wry grin and tip my chin in the direction of his bottle of Johnnie.

His gaze swings slowly to the bottle. It gives me a chance to really look at him. Or what I can see of his face under his beard, anyway.

“Nah, but it helps quiet down all the noise up here.” He taps his temple and blurts, “My dad died.”

I put a hand on his forearm. It feels awkward, and creepy on my part since its half-genuine, half-contrived comfort. “I’m so sorry.”

He glances at my hand, which I quickly remove, and refocuses on his drink. “I should be sorry too, but I think he was mostly an asshole, so the world might be better off without him.” He attempts to fill his glass again, but his aim is off, and he pours it on the bar instead. I rush to lift my purse and grab a handful of napkins to mop up the mess.

“I’m drunk,” he mumbles.

“Well, I’m thinking that might’ve been the plan, considering the way you’re sucking that bottle back. I’m actually surprised you didn’t ask for a straw in the first place. Might be a good idea to throw a spacer [CD3] in there if you want tomorrow morning to suck less.” I push my drink toward him, hoping he doesn’t send me packing like he did the other women who approached him earlier.

He narrows his eyes at my glass, suspicious, maybe. “What is that?”

“Cranberry and soda.”

“No booze?”

“No booze. Go ahead. You’ll thank me in the morning.”

He picks up the glass and pauses when it’s an inch from his mouth. His eyes crinkle, telling me he’s smiling under that beard. “Does that mean Imma wake up with you beside me?”

I cock a brow. “Are you propositioning me?”

“Shit, sorry.” He chugs the contents of my glass. “I was joking. Besides, I’m so wasted, I can barely remember my name. Pretty sure I’d be useless in bed tonight. I should stop talkin’.” He scrubs a hand over his face and then motions to me. “I wouldn’t proposition you.”

I’m not sure how to respond. I go with semi-affronted, since it seems like somewhat of an insult. “Good to know.”

“Dammit. I mean, I think you might be hot. You look hot. I mean attractive. I think you’re pretty.” He tips his head to the side and blinks a few times. “You have nice eyes, all four of them are lovely.”

This time I laugh—for real—and point to the bottle. “I think you might want to tell your date you’re done for the night.”

He blows out a breath and nods. “You might be right.” He makes an attempt to stand, but as soon as his feet hit the floor, he stumbles into me and grabs my shoulders to steady himself. “Whoa. Sorry. Yup, I’m definitely drunk.” His face is inches from mine, breath smelling strongly of alcohol. Beyond that, I get a whiff of fresh soap and a hint of aftershave. He lets go of my shoulders and takes an unsteady step back. “I don’t usually do this.” He motions sloppily to the bottle. “Mostly I’m a three drink max guy.”

“I think losing your father makes this condonable.” I slide off my stool. Despite being tall for a woman, and wearing heels, he still manages to be close to a head taller than me.

“Yeah, maybe, but I still think I might regret it tomorrow.” He’s incredibly unsteady, swaying while standing in place. I take the opportunity for what it is and thread my arm through his, leading him away from the bar. “Come on, let’s get you to the elevator before you pass out right here.”

He nods, then wobbles a bit, like moving his head has set him off balance. “That’s probably a good idea.”

He leans into me as we weave through the bar and stumbles on the two stairs leading to the foyer. There’s no way I’ll be able to stop him if he goes down, but I drape one of his huge arms over my shoulder anyway, and slip my own around his waist, guiding him in a mostly straight line to the elevators.

“Which floor are you on?” I ask.

“Penthouse.” He drops his arm from my shoulder and flings it out, pointing to the black doors at the end of the hall. “Jesus, I feel like I’m on a boat.”

“It’s probably all the alcohol sloshing around in your brain.” I take his elbow again, helping him stagger the last twenty feet to the dedicated penthouse elevator.

He stares at the keypad for a few seconds, brow pulling into a furrow. “I can’t remember the code. It’s thumbprint activated though too.” He stumbles forward and presses his forehead against the wall, then tries to line up his thumb with the sensor, but his aim is horrendous and he keeps missing.

I settle a hand on his very firm forearm. This man is built like a tank. Or a superhero. For a moment, I reconsider what I’m about to do, but he seems pretty harmless and ridiculously hammered, so he shouldn’t pose a threat. I’m also trained in self-defense, which would fall under the by any means necessary umbrella. “Can I help?”

Read the rest of Chapter One: http://bit.ly/2ZBt0RL

Pre-order your copy today!

Amazon US | Amazon UKAppleBooksNookKobo | Google Play 

Amazon Paperback

About Helena Hunting

New York Times and USA Today bestselling author of PUCKED, Helena Hunting lives on the outskirts of Toronto with her incredibly tolerant family and two moderately intolerant cats. She’s writes contemporary romance ranging from new adult angst to romantic sports comedy.