Format: eARC

Review: Overnight Service by Lauren Blakley

Review: Overnight Service by Lauren Blakley

Review: Overnight Service by Lauren BlakleyOvernight Service by Lauren Blakely
Series: Always Satisfied #4
on 30th October 2019
Pages: 300
Format: eARC
Source: the publisher
Buy on Amazon USBuy on Amazon UKBuy on itunes
Goodreadsfour-stars

Top three reasons why sleeping with the enemy is a bad idea...
1. She’s my fiercest rival.
2. She’s also my fiery ex.
3. We’re going up against each other in a stiff competition to win the hottest new client on the market.

And yet, I’d like to be up against the wall in a stiff competition to get her to call out my name.

Time to double down on my resistance to her tough-as-nails, take-no-prisoners, sexy-as-sin attitude. The same attitude that I find irresistible.

That’s the big problem, because in this race to nab the client I run into Haven in the hotel, on the beach, in the guest quarters late at night.

Hate sex would be a terrible idea.

Except, it’s the complete opposite, and now we can’t keep our hands off each other.

Trouble is, I’m not so sure it’s hate I’m feeling anymore.

And that's the biggest reason sleeping with the enemy you're falling for is a bad idea -- my job literally depends on never letting her into my heart.

~Just a short review, will update with the proper one when my laptop is fixed!!~

Just what the doctor ordered, a light hearted rom com by Lauren Blakley! They are just so easy to read and get lost into. It doesn’t hurt that the characters are lovely and the romance is great.

Josh Summers and Haven Delilah are former colleagues, secret ex-lovers and current enemies or are they??? Josh and Haven are sports agents, having to go against each other quite often as they compete for the same client. Sometimes he wins and sometimes she does. It’s been sometime since they were actually together but neither can forget each other nor can they forgive the hurt, the other caused. Josh having decided that he needs to clear the air, since they see each other a lot, life would just be a constant fight if they don’t sort out their personal issues. Buttt with their chemistry and now with the upcoming battle of a big client, Josh and Haven are up against each other once again, what will happen ??

I reallly aodred Josh, the man was a goner for Haven. He’s a very a swoon worthy hero, he wants to do the right thing and he really loves Haven and is willing to do anything for her. He might be one of the best sports agent but he isn’t arrogant asshole. He’s confident himself of course but not in a obnoxious way. Also loved his friendship with Ford. Haven is strong, independent women, she has to be in a male dominant work environment but she holds her own with grace and power. Josh and Haven can’t help but be attracted to each other even when they are competing or exchanging barbs against each other. Lauren Blakely really knows how to work her chemistry well between her protagonists and Josh and Haven are no different. I really liked them together! With the added humour, slight angst and drama along with the romance made it a great read. 

Quibbles: Sigh I just really wish there had been more from Haven’s side in terms contributing to their relationship, at times in comparison with how much devoted Josh was to her, it didn’t really come across as that Haven was to that extent which made me feel a bit bummed out. This just might be me though.

Overall, another great romantic comedy by Lauren Blakely! Just a fun, hot and relaxing contemporary read for the winter night.  



Her hand slides down my back, and it feels reverent. Her touch does so many things to me. It turns me on, it riles me up, and it sends me soaring. And now, it makes my heart thunder like a wild animal in my chest. One that wants to be with her, next to her, beside her.

“More,” I whisper. “Give me more of your kisses.”

“Take them all,” she tells me.

I am ravenous for her. I don’t know if I will ever be sated.

Not with her scent in my head, her body curled around me, and her kisses on my lips and in my soul.

We might have come in here for one final hurrah, but as we kiss like we can’t ever get enough, this doesn’t feel like the last time for either of us. It doesn’t seem like the end run down the slopes.

I should keep that thought to myself. But when I’m with her, when she’s close like this, I can’t think rationally. It’s too hard to lie or to pretend like she’s the enemy.

My rival, yes.
The competition, yes.
But she’s also the woman I can’t quit.

The woman I don’t want to quit.

About Lauren Blakely

Since self-publishing her debut romance novel CAUGHT UP IN US three years ago, Lauren Blakely has sold more than 1 million books. She is known for her sexy contemporary romance style that’s full of heat, heart and humor. A devout fan of cake and canines, Lauren has plotted entire novels while walking her four-legged friends. She lives in California with her family. With ten New York Times bestsellers, her titles have appeared on the New York Times, USA Today, and Wall Street Journal Bestseller Lists more than fifty times. Her bestselling series include Sinful Nights, Seductive Nights, No Regrets, Caught Up in Love, and Fighting Fire as well as standalone romantic comedies like BIG ROCK and MISTER O, which were both instant New York Times Bestsellers. In the fall she’ll release WELL HUNG, another romantic comedy.

ARC Review: The Gypsy King by Devney Perry

I received this book for free in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

ARC Review: The Gypsy King by Devney PerryGypsy King by Devney Perry
Series: Tin Gypsy #1
Published by Devney Perry LLC on 29th October 2019
Genres: Contemporary Romance, Romantic Suspense
Pages: 404
Format: eARC
Source: the Author
Buy on Amazon USBuy on Amazon UK
Goodreadsthree-half-stars

The former Tin Gypsy motorcycle club has everyone in Clifton Forge, Montana convinced they’ve locked their clubhouse doors and ripped off their patches. Everyone but Bryce Ryan. There’s more happening at the club’s garage than muscle car restorations and Harley rebuilds. Her instincts are screaming there’s a story—one she’s going to tell.
As the new owner of the small town’s newspaper, Bryce is hungry for more than birth announcements and obituaries. When a woman is brutally killed and all signs point to the Tin Gypsies, Bryce is determined to expose the club and their leader, Kingston “Dash” Slater, as murderers.
Bryce bests Dash match after match, disappointed her rugged and handsome opponent turns out to be an underwhelming adversary. Secrets are exposed. Truths defeat lies. Bryce is poised to win this battle in a landslide.
Then Dash breaks all the rules and tips the scales.
One kiss, and she’s fighting to save more than just her story. She’s fighting to save her heart from the Gypsy King.

Rating: 3.5+ stars (Almost but not quite 4 stars)

Lets do this again, I already wrote a review for this but unfortunately I broke my laptop so I couldn’t use it (its still broken so :///) which is why the reviews are late, I was hoping it would be fixed and I wouldn’t have to rewrite them but 🙁 anyways, I’ll update this review with the original one later on.

Whats its about: It’s about Bryce Ryan, the reporter we’ve met in the outpost. She’s smart, beautiful and strong. She left her tv anchor person job to come work with her father at their local newspaper. Bryce has always wanted to be a reporter, she longs to do investigative journalism and her curiosity and instincts are questioning the Tin gypsy motorcycle club’s recent closing down. Which leads to Kingston “Dash” Slater, the former leader of the club and now just the owner of an auto shop. Dash has left behind the club and all its illegal dealing and he’s much happier for it. This all changes of course when a murder charge against his father is bought up and Bryce is there to make things more complicated for him. Now the only way to get answer might be to work together.

What I liked: Bryce, I really liked her, I wanted her to get her own story when I read the outpost so I was very excited to read this and she didn’t disappoint. Bryce along with her strong side, also really longs for a family and her wanting to change her life from the lonely woman, away from her family and not doing what she really desired took some guts. Dash, I liked him as well. He had decided to change the clubs ways and to go the more legal way. I liked the mystery aspect, its not as big or twisted as I generally read in my romantic suspense but it made the book more interesting. I liked the chemistry Bryce and Dash had, it was pretty great. I always enjoy a bit of reluctant feelings about by enemy stories.  I like the writing, the characters and the general plot line.

What I didn’t like: Overall if you look at the amount of time Bryce and Dash actually have spend together in the months following their first meeting, its only a couple of days…nearly not long enough for them to fall in love when all they did was focus on finding the culprit or having sex so the conclusion of the feelings felt rushed. I was hoping for more development in their relationship. I didn’t really understand why they didn’t go to the police in the later bit in the book, it kinda just felt like it was done for dramas sake but it didn’t make sense? Along with 1-2 more inconsistencies in the book, along with certain things not making sense and my feeling very confused after finishing it. I’m sure we will continue on in the next book but it just felt very baffling to not get a proper answer. The last few chapters just felt rushed and made the characters made some decisions that I felt they wouldn’t have in the earlier ones.

Overall, I liked the book, its just not my favourite from Devney Perry. I generally really like the characters and the storylines and feel satisfaction after finishing Devney Perry’s books which I suppose contributes to me rating this lower. I’m really looking forward to Isaiah and Genevieve’s book which releases next year.

 

Release Day: Calico Descending by Keri Lake

Release Day: Calico Descending by Keri Lake

I received this book for free in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Release Day: Calico Descending by Keri LakeCalico Descending by Keri Lake
Series: Juniper Unraveling #2
on October 29th 2019
Pages: 297
Format: eARC
Source: the Author
Buy on Amazon USBuy on Amazon UKBuy on KoboBuy on itunesBuy on B&N
Goodreadsfour-stars

In a world of suffering and brutality, she's the key to his humanity ...
I was fourteen when I was sold to the men in black uniforms. Too young to understand I served a purpose beyond that of the other girls they’d taken.
For the greater good.
Now, after four years in Calico, I’ve seen more death and suffering than during my days of surviving out in the Deadlands against the threat of Ragers and famine. I didn’t think this world could get any bleaker. Didn’t think it could take any more from me than it already had.
Not until I finally learned my purpose.
That same day, I walked the dark halls in the bowels of this hell, where the suffering is in silence, and ghosts of the dead whisper through the walls. A place where nightmares are real.
A place where I met my Champion—the most revered Alpha in S-Block—locked away in his dark cell.
For the greater good.
He’s their weapon, their only line of defense against the mistakes of the past: the mutations that could wipe out all of what’s left of us.
Me, I’m his whipping girl. His reward for good behavior. And his punishment for acts of defiance.
Calico Descending is the follow up book to Juniper Unraveling, a full-length dystopian post apocalyptic romance.
SERIES READING ORDER: Juniper Unraveling (Book 1) Calico Descending (Book 2) Kings of Carrion (Book 3)

Rating ~ 3.75 stars

Calico descending takes us back to the dark, dangerous and the dystopian world where zombies, human’s infected with viruses might not be the most dangerous and evil creatures out there, it might be the humans that seem to take joy in making other humans suffer in the all name of finding the cure. This time around, the story revolves around Calithea and Valdys, the prisoners in the Calico.

Calithea has been in Calico for the last four years, suffering and in pain as part of the alpha project. The book starts off with her meeting her campion and an alpha, Valdys. Calithea like all characters in the series, has been through a lot, she lost her mother and then her little sister. She hasn’t had any reason to hope to escape or even attempt one but this all changes when she meets Valdys.

Calithea is very interesting, she’s strong and even though she has been through so much and seen so much still somehow retains her humanity. She’s caring and loving for people even when they might not deserve it. We don’t get to see much of Valdys, but it is clear from what we do see, is he is willing to do anything for Calithea. We also meet the other alphas in the alpha project, Camdus and Titus.

It’s super easy to get lost into this world, its painful, gut wrenching and heart breaking. Often times I was like no no don’t do that. With some action, some romance and some topsy turvy curves to keep the reader interested. And of course Keri Lake’s writing is addictive.

Quibbles: the whole reason why the rating isn’t higher is because of the whole Camdus and Calithea aspect of the book. I didn’t like it at all and the more it went the more I dreaded anytime she was with him. I wish there had been some kind of warning or something in the blurb that suggested this aspect 🙁 This also meant that Valdys and Calithea had slightly less interactions and this interfered with my connection to them as a couple. Also feel like the book could have really benefited from having Valdys pov.

Overall, it’s a good instalment to the Juniper unravelling dystopian world by Keri Lake, its twisted and intriguing and dangerous. It’s just not my favourite book by her. I adore the world building and the complexities of this world and the glimpses we got of what’s more to come in the series makes me excited and am looking forward to the conclusion of Calithea and Valdys’s story.


For a chance to win a signed paperback + $15 Amazon gift card, visit Keri Lake’s Facebook page and check out the release day post pinned at the top of the page.

Facebook page >> http://www.facebook.com/kerilakeauthor

About Keri Lake

Keri Lake is a married mother of two living in Michigan. By day, she tries to make use of the degrees she’s earned in science. By night, she writes dark contemporary and paranormal romance. Though novels tend to be her focus, she also writes short stories and flash fiction on the many occasions when distraction sucks her in to the Land of Shiny Things.

She loves hearing from readers …

Blog Tour: Bishop’s Queen by Katie Reus

Blog Tour: Bishop's Queen by Katie Reus

Blog Tour: Bishop’s Queen by Katie ReusBishop's Queen by Katie Reus
Genres: Contemporary Romance, Romantic Suspense
Format: eARC
Source: the publisher
Goodreadsfour-stars

Return to the Endgame trilogy where blood is thick, but passion is thicker…
He doesn’t believe in fairy-tale endings…
They used to call Evan Bishop the golden boy. He had it all and was about to close the business deal of a lifetime, then marry the woman of his dreams. But everything goes to hell when a faceless enemy wants to destroy his family’s empire and see him dead. Except the bomb meant to kill him fails. He wakes up from a coma to find his face scarred and his brother missing and wanted for murder. Now that he’s damaged, he hides away from the world—including the woman he loves. He refuses to be a burden to her, so even though it destroys him, he sets her free.
She’s about to prove him wrong…
Isla MacDonald isn’t walking away from Evan just because he’s decided to shut her out of his life. He blames himself for the bombing that got her father killed and nearly killed him—but he’s wrong. After all attempts to see him fail, with a broken heart she tries to resume her life and take over her father’s firm. Though it’s not her dream, she wants to honor his legacy. But when someone tries to kill her—twice—she needs a bodyguard. To her surprise Evan steps up and insists on protecting her, putting on a show as the caring fiancé. But he won’t let her back into his life or into his heart. To have any chance at a future together, they’ll have to resurrect the past and stay alive long enough to expose the man determined to see them both dead.
Author note: This book can be read as a stand-alone, complete with HEA.
Books in trilogy: Bishop’s Knight, #1 Bishop’s Queen, #2 Bishop’s Endgame, #3

Rating~ 3.75 stars

Bishop’s queen is about Evan and Isla, the two people who were in love before the tragedy happened in the book 1 of the series, leaving Evan with physical and mental scars and him pushing away from everyone, including breaking off his engagement with Isla. Now with Isla in danger, Evan can’t help but stay close to her.

I quite enjoyed the book, though I do wish I had read the first book in the series, it would have made my connection to Evan and Isla stronger and would have given me an insight of how they were before the event. Regardless of that, I liked Evan and Isla together, though they Evan had broken off their engagement, it was very much obvious of how much they both still loved each other and Isla couldn’t care less about his scars. I also enjoyed the romantic suspense element to the book, it was done well to keep me interested in who might be the culprit.

Quibbles:I do wish however that we had gotten a bit more of the romance between Evan and Isla, since the suspense part of the book takes it away from romance a bit, I guess if the book had been longer it wouldn’t be an issue.

Overall, I enjoyed Bishop’s Queen, it had been sometime since I read a romantic suspense by Katie Reus and it reminded me why I enjoy her writing and her characters, they are just very easy to connect to and get lost in. I’m looking forward to reading the book in the series!

He leaned down, not sure what the hell he was going to do to cut her off. Kiss her? God, what was he thinking? He started to pull back, then she grabbed him by the front of his shirt and yanked him down to her.

Her green eyes flashed in anger—and hunger—as her lips collided with his. What was she doing? What was he doing? He should pull away, but he couldn’t. Instead, he threaded his fingers through her thick auburn hair, cupping the back of her head as she plastered herself to him.

He loved the sweet taste of her, had missed her for far too long. Every morning he woke up, expecting to roll over and see her, but his bed was always empty. And cold. He’d ached for her in that hospital room, even as he was the one who’d kept her out. And he’d continued to ache for her once he’d been discharged. He simply couldn’t stop wanting her.

Needing her.

Without breaking the kiss, he reached behind himself and held his hand to the scanner. A second later, the door opened with a soft snick and then they were inside his place.

Though it wasn’t really his place, but a sparsely furnished rental with the basics and a killer view.

He wasn’t sure what they were doing, not really. He wanted to be friends with her, wanted her in his life, but he didn’t want to saddle her with him. And he really didn’t want her to have any regrets. “We should stop,” he rasped out, surprised he was able to talk at all as he pulled back, his breaths coming in hard and shallow.

She slid off his jacket and tossed it to the ground. “Should we?” Her tone was tart as she stared up at him almost defiantly.

Dammit. He couldn’t remember why they should stop as he looked into her bright eyes. He wanted her so much, had never stopped wanting her, loving her.

About Katie Reus

Katie Reus is the New York Times and USA Today bestselling author of the Red Stone Security series, the Darkness series and the Deadly Ops series. She fell in love with romance at a young age thanks to books she pilfered from her mom’s stash. Years later she loves reading romance almost as much as she loves writing it.

However, she didn’t always know she wanted to be a writer. After changing majors many times, she finally graduated summa cum laude with a degree in psychology. Not long after that she discovered a new love. Writing. She now spends her days writing dark paranormal romance and sexy romantic suspense.

Review: Beard With Me by Penny Reid

Review: Beard With Me by Penny Reid

I received this book for free in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Review: Beard With Me by Penny ReidBeard with Me by Penny Reid
Series: Winston Brothers #6
Published by Cipher-Naught on 16th September 2019
Genres: Contemporary, Young adult
Pages: 352
Format: eARC
Source: the Author
Buy on Amazon USBuy on Amazon UKBuy on KoboBuy on itunesBuy on B&N
Goodreadsthree-half-stars

‘Beard With Me’ is the origin story of Billy Winston and Scarlet St. Claire (aka Claire McClure) and is just the beginning of their epic love story.
No one is better at surviving than Scarlet St. Claire and making the best out of circumstances beyond her control is Scarlet’s specialty. In an apocalyptic situation, she’d be the last person on earth, hermitting like a pro, singing along to her CD Walkman, and dancing like no one is watching.
Scarlet is clever, Scarlet is careful, and Scarlet is smart . . . except when it comes to Billy Winston.
No one is better at fighting than Billy Winston and raging against his circumstances—because nothing is beyond his control—is Billy’s specialty. In an apocalyptic situation, he’d be the first person on earth to lead others to safety, overcome catastrophe, or die trying.
Billy is fearless, Billy is disciplined, and Billy is honorable . . . except when it comes to Scarlet St. Claire.

Rating ~ 3 – 3.5 stars

I have been waiting for Billy’s story since he was introduced in Beauty and the Mustache and we found out that the Winston brothers would be getting their own stories. Over the course of the series we have been getting glimpses of Billy and Claire so I was beyond excited to read their backstory in Beard With Me and how they met and what had happened to get them to be where they were today.

Onto the positives, it’s written really well as expected really, it’s Penny Reid. Theres so much heartbreak in this book. Both Billy and Scarlett have a very difficult life. The Winston’s have been through a lot of crap and their mother was truly lovely and it didn’t really help what we know that she dies in the future :/ I did like the more lighter moments (duh) bought on by Cletus because it stopped the book from too gloomy. I really want to see Billy and Claire get their happily ever after. This book really made me adore Billy more. I liked that we got to see the younger versions of our favourite characters even though it didn’t feel they were actually young…I also liked seeing Billy and Scarlett’s sweet moments.

I don’t know if it was because of those expectations I’d had for them for years or maybe its my issues with reading young adult stuff (i.e that I rarely read them because of the way they deal with stuff and all the wishy washy emotions and endless drama that seems to come with them but I digress) that while I enjoyed this book, I didn’t entirely love it for several reasons but I’ll state 3 bigger one here; while the characters are very much young adults, how they talk and interactive and their monologues don’t entirely suit that, I kept forgetting of how old they were because of the way they talked. Secondly because of the fact that they are both young adults, Scarlett 14 and Billy 16 respectively, it just made me feel squirmy at times reading their scenes together and then there was the Ben and Scarlett thing which was even more ://// because of how much more older he is too her. If they had been adults the age difference wouldn’t have mattered but they are not and Ben is an adult but Scarlett isn’t so. :/// It felt just unnecessary to have that, I didn’t like any of it which made it difficult for me to read, it just felt creepy because for a supposedly good guy him lusting after a 14 year old is gross and we know that Ben and Scarlett get married so it made it even more blegh. Lastly I would have really preferred if this was a novella instead of the whole length novel this is because I just so much of it could have been condensed or perhaps the flashbacks etc could have been saved and we could gotten all that in beard necessities. I’m probably alone in that but it would have been personally better for me to have that together as a whole. I don’t like misunderstanding storylines and all that that could really be solved in an afternoon, actually with just one proper talk so for this thing to have lasted for 2 decades is just sigh. Also wasn’t a fan of the whole Sam thing…so many parts of this book frustrated and angered me especially why they actually separated and don’t talk, it was just so typical and for some reason I’d thought it would be something more than that.

Having said that I will be reading their book when it comes out just have to moderate my expectations accordingly. Anyways I’m eagerly waiting for Billy to get his HEA.

BWM-BT-GIVEAWAY.jpg

Enter the giveaway for a signed paperback set of The Winston Brothers Series!

a Rafflecopter giveaway

About Penny Reid

SEX! It all started with sex, between my parents. Personally I don’t like thinking about it, but whatever works for you is a-ok with me. No judgment. The sex happened in California and much of my life also occurred in that state until I moved from the land of nuts (almonds), wine, silicon… boobs, and heavy traffic to the southeast US. Like most writers I like to write, but let’s get back to sex. Eventually I married and gave birth to 2 small people-children (boy-6, girl-4 as of this writing).

By day I’m a biomedical researcher with focus on rare diseases. By night I’m a knitter, sewer, lino block carver, fabric printer, soap maker, and general crafter. By the wee hours of the morning or when I’m intoxicated I love to listen to the voices in my head and let them tell me stories. I hope you enjoy their stories.

Review: Team Player 2 Anthology

Review: Team Player 2 Anthology

I received this book for free in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Review: Team Player 2 AnthologyTeam Player 2: A Sports Anthology by Charleigh Rose, Ella Fox, Emma Scott, Ilsa Madden-Mills, Kate Stewart, Kennedy Ryan, Mandi Beck, Meghan Quinn, Rochelle Paige, Sara Ney, Teagan Hunter
on 20th September 2019
Genres: College Romance, Contemporary Romance, Romance, Romantic Comedy, Sports
Pages: 1014
Format: eARC
Source: the publisher
Buy on Amazon USBuy on Amazon UK
Goodreadsfour-stars

Our love of hot jocks is never-ending.
Muscular football players. Passionate tennis pros. Sexy soccer stars. All sorts of alpha hotties, on the field and off.
Have no fear! The team is back again, and this time...it's thicker. You'll get your sports romance fix with brand-new stories from eleven bestselling authors.
Need one last summer fix? Dive into this anthology.
*This anthology contains original, never-before-seen stories by the following authors: Mandi Beck, Ella Fox, Teagan Hunter, Ilsa Madden-Mills, Sara Ney, Rochelle Paige, Meghan Quinn, Charleigh Rose, Kennedy Ryan, Emma Scott, and Kate Stewart.

We still aren’t responsible for melted devices.

I was eagerly awaiting the release of Team Player 2 anthology, it has stories from 8 contemporary authors, some of whom I absolutely adore and some who are new to me.

Fast Break by Kennedy Ryan

4+ stars

This is Quinn and Ean Jagger’s book. Quinn who we met in Block Shot (book #2) and Ean who is the coach of August’s team (from Book #1). I really enjoyed this one, its pretty short but as everything with Kennedy Ryan its well written and she made me teary at the epilogue. All in all a pretty great short wish I could have a bit more time with a couple but its done really well for a short novella. We also get to see/hear about the other characters/couples from the HOOPS series which was a plus, especially if your are a fan of Banner. It’s a great little addition to the series!!

The Teaching Hours by Sara Ney

3.5+ stars

This was fun, cute! I haven’t read the Jock series so I didn’t know the characters from beforehand (which I think would have made it a better read for me) but it was also fine as a standalone. Hannah and Rex were cute, again I wish we had a bit more time with the couple but its was pretty rounded off as we got to see them from strangers to getting to know each other and then starting dating. Also Rex and his niece were so cute together.

**I will update this as I read other novella’s in the anthology**

About Ella Fox

Ella Fox writes like a woman possessed whenever she gets the chance! She is the author of The Hart Family Series, The Renegade Saints Series and The Catch Series.

When she’s not writing, Ella indulges the gypsy in her blood and travels the country. Ella loves reading, movies, music, buying make-up, reading Tmz, Twitter and pedicures… not necessarily in that order. She has a wild sense of humor and loves to laugh. Her favorite thing in the world is hanging out with her family and watching comedy movies.

About Emma Scott

Emma Scott is a bestselling author of emotional, character-driven romances in which art and love intertwine to heal, and in which love always wins. If you enjoy thoughtful, realistic stories with diverse characters and kind-hearted heroes, you will enjoy my novels.

About Kennedy Ryan

A Top 30 Amazon Bestseller, Kennedy Ryan writes about women from all walks of life, empowering them and placing them firmly at the center of each story and in charge of their own destinies. Her heroes respect, cherish and lose their minds for the women who capture their hearts.

She is a wife to her lifetime lover and mother to an extraordinary son. She has always leveraged her journalism background to write for charity and non-profit organizations, but enjoys writing to raise Autism awareness most. A contributor for Modern Mom Magazine and Frolic, Kennedy’s writings have appeared in Chicken Soup for the Soul, USA Today and many others. The founder and executive director of a foundation serving Atlanta Autism families, she has appeared on Headline News, Montel Williams, NPR and other media outlets as an advocate for families living with autism.

About Meghan Quinn

Born in New York and raised in Southern California, Meghan has grown into a sassy, peanut butter eating, blonde haired swearing, animal hoarding lady. She is known to bust out and dance if “It’s Raining Men” starts beating through the air and heaven forbid you get a margarita in her, protect your legs because they may be humped.
Once she started commuting for an hour and twenty minutes every day to work for three years, she began to have conversations play in her head, real life, deep male voices and dainty lady coos kind of conversations. Perturbed and confused, she decided to either see a therapist about the hot and steamy voices running through her head or start writing them down. She decided to go with the cheaper option and started writing… enter her first novel, Caught Looking.
Now you can find the spicy, most definitely on the border of lunacy, kind of crazy lady residing in Colorado with the love of her life and her five, furry four legged children, hiking a trail or hiding behind shelves at grocery stores, wondering what kind of lube the nervous stranger will bring home to his wife. Oh and she loves a good boob squeeze!

About Sara Ney

Purveyor of all things witty & romantic, I love: iced latte’s, traveling, and bright, bold colors. On any given day, you can find me in my office, lovingly gazing at my bookshelf or shuffling my Bic felt-tip pen collection. I love hand writing letters, and sarcasm.

I live in the midwest, but “Will Write for Travel,” and believe everyone should follow their dreams, no matter how big or small. My favorite authors include Cindy Miles, S Walden, Suzanne Enoch, Tessa Dare (to name a few). I am a glutton for Historical, RomCom, Sports and MC romance.

One husband. Two daughters. Plenty of chaos.

Review: Brazen and the Beast by Sarah MacLean

I received this book for free in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Review: Brazen and the Beast by Sarah MacLeanBrazen and the Beast by Sarah MacLean
Series: The Bareknuckle Bastards #2
Published by Avon on 30th July 2019
Genres: Historical, Regency
Pages: 400
Format: eARC
Source: the publisher
Buy on Amazon USBuy on Amazon UKBuy on KoboBuy on itunes
Goodreadsthree-half-stars

The Lady’s Plan
When Lady Henrietta Sedley declares her twenty-ninth year her own, she has plans to inherit her father’s business, to make her own fortune, and to live her own life. But first, she intends to experience a taste of the pleasure she’ll forgo as a confirmed spinster. Everything is going perfectly…until she discovers the most beautiful man she’s ever seen tied up in her carriage and threatening to ruin the Year of Hattie before it’s even begun.
The Bastard’s Proposal
When he wakes in a carriage at Hattie’s feet, Whit, a king of Covent Garden known to all the world as Beast, can’t help but wonder about the strange woman who frees him—especially when he discovers she’s headed for a night of pleasure . . . on his turf. He is more than happy to offer Hattie all she desires…for a price.
An Unexpected Passion
Soon, Hattie and Whit find themselves rivals in business and pleasure. She won’t give up her plans; he won’t give up his power . . . and neither of them sees that if they’re not careful, they’ll have no choice but to give up everything . . . including their hearts.

Will preface this with saying I generally really love Sarah MacLean’s books and her writing. She is one of my favourite historical romance authors and I’ve reread some of book multiple times. I didn’t really enjoy the first one of the series, but I wanted give this series another shot. I think I’m in the minority of this one, my friends really seem to be enjoying this series.

What I loved: Henrietta ‘Hattie’ Sedley is a great character, she is rather unusual woman for her time period, she wants to gain control of her father’s business and so she embarks on the mission to do so with her Year of Hattie plan. She’s practical and brazen. She’s a go getter, she’s ambitious and I really liked that about her. Saviour ‘Whit’ Whittington is also a likeable guy, he’s a bastard son of a duke and known for his fighting abilities. He’s also not a very talkative fellow. I just didn’t understand how his reputation contrasted with how he is with Hattie.

I did also like them together. The banter, the couple, and the secondary characters were all good.

What I didn’t like: I’m not really a person who hates insta love in romance but it has to work, here it just didn’t for me.

Also the whole revenge part just left recycled from the last book which is where my enjoyment suffered a lot. I don’t know what exactly is missing in these books but with the added revenge only motivator and with me wanting my H/h wanting something to come about their way because of what they do themselves do, it left like a let down and then the end left very rushed.

I’m uncertain right now if I want to read Ewan’s story, Grace and Ewan show a lot of promise however so I’m conflicted.

Overall, it’s more or less a decent read, I just had higher expectations I guess. It does have it’s good parts and a lot of people seem to really enjoy this so do give it a shot and see for yourself.

 

About Sarah MacLean

Sarah MacLean grew up in Rhode Island, obsessed with historical romance and bemoaning the fact that she was born far too late for her own season. Her love of all things historical helped to earn her degrees from Smith College and Harvard University before she finally set pen to paper and wrote her first book.
Sarah now lives in New York City with her husband, baby daughter, their dog, and a ridiculously large collection of romance novels. She loves to hear from readers. Please visit her at www.macleanspace.com

Review: The Friend Zone by Abby Jimenez

I received this book for free in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Review: The Friend Zone by Abby JimenezThe Friend Zone by Abby Jimenez
Published by Piatkus on 11th June 2019
Genres: Contemporary Romance, Contemporary Women
Format: eARC
Source: the publisher
Buy on Amazon USBuy on Amazon UK
Goodreadstwo-half-stars

Kristen Petersen doesn't do drama, will fight to the death for her friends, and has no room in her life for guys who just don't get her. She's also keeping a big secret: facing a medically necessary procedure that will make it impossible for her to have children.
Planning her best friend's wedding is bittersweet for Kristen - especially when she meets the best man, Josh Copeland. He's funny, sexy, never offended by her mile-wide streak of sarcasm, and always one chicken enchilada ahead of her hangry. Even her dog, Stuntman Mike, adores him. The only catch: Josh wants a big family someday. Kristen knows he'd be better off with someone else, but as their attraction grows, it's harder and harder to keep him at arm's length.

The Friend Zone will have you laughing one moment and grabbing for tissues the next as it tackles the realities of infertility and loss with wit, heart, and a lot of sass.

I guess this is another case of me having high expectations because I saw high rating/people really hyping this up (should have stuck to my guns about not reading hyped books when they get released but reading them in my own time), unfortunately maybe because of that, along with the issues I’ll mention below this ended up being more on okay read than a great read that I was hoping for.

The good bits: I did enjoy the authors writing, her sense of humour and her characters are quite complex and she knows how to work a plot. I did like Josh and Kristin (for most part). I also liked their banter and chemistry…

The meh bits: I just didn’t like Josh’s behaviour, the way he knew that Kristin was in a relationship and he loved that the fact she was loyal/wouldn’t cheat but at the same time was hoping that she’d dump the guy for him, all the while he’s her ‘FRIEND’ and I also didn’t like Kristin just not being straight up with Tyler, he reenlists and she’s like okay lets have sex Josh. :/ like right after…and later in the book she’s talking to him about being alone while he’s on tour ? and its ??? you knew this what is was going to be like, it just felt it just all about her wants in that relationship. Her just constantly thinking about being with Josh while she is with Tyler was also blegh to me. There is also her not telling Josh about her fibroids and infertility issues, which understandable at the start just got more and more frustrating as the book went on, I think she doesn’t tell like till almost 70% of the book. Also this is, I get it, its fiction and you want things to be perfect/happy for the couple and most often I would agree but if you’re actually spending the whole book about this issue and make the heroine struggle through this and of her being not defined by her infinity issues and her ability to bare children to then just go and ahead and give the couple a child. (also when this came when I was already pissed that modern media had killed two women who had fertility issues, spoilers for Avengers endgame: Black widow and GOT: Daenerys, like is already an annoying thing that you kill them as shock value or give them a magic sperm…??? which contributed to me feeling pretty frustrated with the ending) I’m happy for them of course but it doesn’t fit the book as an ending. The could easily adopted or used a surrogate…and the whole set up with the next book is already making me :///

I would give this author another try in the future but probably would wait a bit…

About Abby Jimenez

Abby Jimenez is a Food Network champion and USA Today best selling author with her hit debut novel The Friend Zone. Abby founded Nadia Cakes out of her home kitchen back in 2007. The bakery has since gone on to win numerous Food Network competitions and has amassed an international cult following. Her wry literary wit was spotlighted as the admin behind the hilarious viral comments on the now famous Nadia Cakes Vageode™ cake.

Abby loves a good romance, coffee, doglets, and not leaving the house.

Review: Requiem & Reverie by Keri Lake

Review: Requiem & Reverie by Keri Lake

I received this book for free in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Review: Requiem & Reverie by Keri LakeRequiem & Reverie by Keri Lake, Julie Belfield
Series: The Sandman Duet #2
Published by Amazon Digital Services on May 13, 2019
Genres: Dark romance, Romantic Suspense, Thrillers
Pages: 224
Format: eARC
Source: the Author
Buy on Amazon USBuy on Amazon UK
Goodreadsfour-stars

From USA Today Bestselling author Keri Lake comes an intense and gritty romantic thriller that'll have you turning the pages well past your bedtime.

It takes a killer to catch a killer.

And no one understands the motives of ruthless murderer, The Sandman, quite like Rhett Voss.

Having spent his childhood in the shadows of the deranged lunatic, he’s become an expert on the topic. Killing is in his blood, and as a hitman for hire, Voss maintains a steady diet of carnage, himself.

Except lately, it’s lost its appeal. Until he’s enticed to track down the clever Sandman who has his sights set on Nola Tensley.

The stunning single mom is a distraction Voss can’t afford, but to catch his elusive kin, he needs to watch the next victim closely. Consequently, stalking her soon becomes a dangerous obsession, turning a friendly game of cat and mouse into more than he bargained for, when someone close to Nola goes missing.

Suddenly, it’s no longer an old vendetta fueling Voss’s need to hunt down his enemy, but new stakes that are sure to mean more bloodshed. Voss knows better than anyone, though: to draw a killer out of hiding, one must have the right bait.

And both of them want Nola.

*Includes links to dark and light bonus scenes at the end of the book!

We continue on with Voss and Nola, their relationship is very getting complicated and steamier. The Sandman is still out and about and now theres a missing child. Tensions are rising, stakes are higher and Voss is determined to protect Nola and put a stop to Sandman once and for all. Then of course theres the case of Voss lying about who he really is and what he’s doing in Nola life, and when Nola finds out all hell breaks loose. Nola now stands to lose what she holds most dear and it’s bringing her to a very low point in her life.

We go through some twists and turns with amounting dread as the Sandman places the players exactly where he wants them to be, all the while hoping that Nola and Voss will make it through in one piece.

Quibbles: One issues I had for Voss never fully told Nola, what happened with his sister. I was already :/ about that, hoping some way that it wouldn’t happen, but it did and then he just doesn’t tell her the whole story which made me :// even at the end I kept thinking about what her reaction would have been. And Also I was right with who did it, with my theory (and that’s more because I read a lot of RS I guess) which I guess made me slightly disappointed because I was hoping for more AND then I GOT THAT!!! that little twist at the end, that was really good!! which is what gave this book a higher rating because without it, it was pretty predictable. Also Carl hope you’re fiction self is rotting in the fiction hell.

Regardless of these, I enjoyed the books, the author’s writing is great and just addictive. It a very dark, intriguing duet with a creepy serial killer (Really he’s extremely creepy), an anti-hero with a tragic past and struggling single mother. Can’t wait for more books from the author.

About Keri Lake

Keri Lake is a married mother of two living in Michigan. By day, she tries to make use of the degrees she’s earned in science. By night, she writes dark contemporary and paranormal romance. Though novels tend to be her focus, she also writes short stories and flash fiction on the many occasions when distraction sucks her in to the Land of Shiny Things.

She loves hearing from readers …

ARC Review: Marriage For One by Ella Maise

ARC Review: Marriage For One by Ella Maise

I received this book for free in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

ARC Review: Marriage For One by Ella MaiseMarriage For One by Ella Maise
on 9th May 2019
Genres: Contemporary Romance, Romantic Comedy
Pages: 499
Format: eARC
Source: the publisher
Buy on Amazon USBuy on Amazon UK
Goodreadsfour-stars

Jack and I, we did everything backward. The day he lured me into his office-which was also the first day we met-he proposed. You'd think a guy who looked like him-a bit cold maybe, but still striking and very unattainable-would only ask the love of his life to marry him, right? You'd think he must be madly in love.

Nope. It was me he asked. A complete stranger who had never even heard of him. A stranger who had been dumped by her fiancé only weeks before. You'd think I'd laugh in his face, call him insane-and a few other names-then walk away as quickly as possible. Well…I did all those things except the walking away part.

It took him only minutes to talk me into a business deal…erm, I mean marriage, and only days for us to officially tie the knot. Happiest day of my life. Magical. Pop the champagne… Not. It was the worst day. Jack Hawthorne was nothing like what I'd imagined for myself.
I blamed him for my lapse in judgment. I blamed his eyes, the ocean blue eyes that looked straight into mine unapologetically, and that frown on his face I had no idea I would become so fascinated with in time.

It wasn't long after he said I was the biggest mistake of his life that things started to change. No, he still didn't talk much, but anyone can string a few words together. His actions spoke the loudest to me. And day after day my heart started to get a mind of its own.

One second he was no one. The next he became everything.
One second he was unattainable. The next he seemed to be completely mine.
One second I thought we were in love. The next it was still nothing but a lie.

After all, I was Rose and he was Jack. We were doomed from the very beginning with those names. Did you expect anything else?

Marriage for One is about the Rose Coleson sorry Rose Hawthorne and Jack Hawthorne. I had been waiting for this since I knew it was in the works last year so I was pretty excited to get my hands on it.

As anyone can guess from the blurb its a marriage of connivence story (which I adore by the way), mixed in with a slight animosity that Rose thinks they have. This a slow burn (and I do mean slow burn) romance of two individuals who are complete opposites in all but the fact that they both very alone in the world.

Rose wants nothing more than to have her own Coffee Shop, and it seemed she would get her dream before everything comes stumbling down on her, her fiancé dumbs her, she finds out the clause in her uncle’s will which means saying goodbye to her dreams and apparently her savings as well. So when a stranger asks her to marry which would win-win for both of them, she’d get her dream coffee shop and he’d get to present the image of a family man and as crazy as it seems to her, she says yes.

Jack is a lawyer, the youngest partner in his firm. He seems like a very serious, pretty closed off, not interested in anything  other than work guy at first, but you start to see it from early on that he’s hiding something and of course he really can’t seem to stay away from his fake wife no matter how many times he tells himself too.

Quibbles: View Spoiler »

Rose and Jack are both very lovely characters, but they couldn’t be more different from each other. Rose is very bubbly, friendly and Jack is standoffish and more glower kinda guy. We get to see their relationship develop, from strangers, to awkward fake wife/husband to friends and then more. They also had great chemistry, they also go through some serious stuff together which cements their bond further to each other. I did really like seeing their domestic life bits, along with Jack’s inability to stop being completely absorbed with his wife. I loved the smile counter Rose had for Jack. They were adorable together, they had such sweet moments that make you smile and of course Jack can be very swoon worthy (without even realising it). He really is so gone for her, it’s amazing to see (or read as the case is) everybody can tell how much he really loves her and how much he had changed over the course of the book. Rose for her part, has no idea why she’s attracted to the man who doesn’t even smile but everything he does or anytime he’s there for her makes her fall harder for him.

“You have me, Rose. You’ve had me the entire time” ~Jack Hawthorne 

I have been a fan of Ella Maise’s writing since I read To Hate Adam Connor and this is one is no different! It really is a love story about two characters who had no home, were alone even with family and who found each other and were made complete with each other.

Overall despite my issues with the length and the pacing, I really enjoyed this. Anyone who’s a fan of slow burn romance and likes marriage of connivence story should give it a try!

About Ella Maise

I’m a big dreamer. And that’s how it all started for me, really. Reading and dreaming. I love nothing more than to escape real life to find those very few magical moments in a book. I love how it has the power of stealing your worries away, putting a smile on your face even when smiling is the last thing on your mind. Crushing on fictional characters is also another bonus. Through my words, if I can manage to make even one-person smile, it means I’ve done my job well.

Writing became my world and I can’t imagine myself doing anything other than creating new characters and telling their stories. You know how some things simply makes your heart burst with happiness? A really good book, a puppy, hugging someone you’ve been missing like crazy? That’s what writing does to me. And all the hard work, all the sleepless nights, all the anxiety that comes with publishing…everything is worth it at the end.