Source: the publisher

Review: Overnight Service by Lauren Blakley

Review: Overnight Service by Lauren Blakley

Review: Overnight Service by Lauren BlakleyOvernight Service by Lauren Blakely
Series: Always Satisfied #4
on 30th October 2019
Pages: 300
Format: eARC
Source: the publisher
Buy on Amazon USBuy on Amazon UKBuy on itunes
Goodreadsfour-stars

Top three reasons why sleeping with the enemy is a bad idea...
1. She’s my fiercest rival.
2. She’s also my fiery ex.
3. We’re going up against each other in a stiff competition to win the hottest new client on the market.

And yet, I’d like to be up against the wall in a stiff competition to get her to call out my name.

Time to double down on my resistance to her tough-as-nails, take-no-prisoners, sexy-as-sin attitude. The same attitude that I find irresistible.

That’s the big problem, because in this race to nab the client I run into Haven in the hotel, on the beach, in the guest quarters late at night.

Hate sex would be a terrible idea.

Except, it’s the complete opposite, and now we can’t keep our hands off each other.

Trouble is, I’m not so sure it’s hate I’m feeling anymore.

And that's the biggest reason sleeping with the enemy you're falling for is a bad idea -- my job literally depends on never letting her into my heart.

~Just a short review, will update with the proper one when my laptop is fixed!!~

Just what the doctor ordered, a light hearted rom com by Lauren Blakley! They are just so easy to read and get lost into. It doesn’t hurt that the characters are lovely and the romance is great.

Josh Summers and Haven Delilah are former colleagues, secret ex-lovers and current enemies or are they??? Josh and Haven are sports agents, having to go against each other quite often as they compete for the same client. Sometimes he wins and sometimes she does. It’s been sometime since they were actually together but neither can forget each other nor can they forgive the hurt, the other caused. Josh having decided that he needs to clear the air, since they see each other a lot, life would just be a constant fight if they don’t sort out their personal issues. Buttt with their chemistry and now with the upcoming battle of a big client, Josh and Haven are up against each other once again, what will happen ??

I reallly aodred Josh, the man was a goner for Haven. He’s a very a swoon worthy hero, he wants to do the right thing and he really loves Haven and is willing to do anything for her. He might be one of the best sports agent but he isn’t arrogant asshole. He’s confident himself of course but not in a obnoxious way. Also loved his friendship with Ford. Haven is strong, independent women, she has to be in a male dominant work environment but she holds her own with grace and power. Josh and Haven can’t help but be attracted to each other even when they are competing or exchanging barbs against each other. Lauren Blakely really knows how to work her chemistry well between her protagonists and Josh and Haven are no different. I really liked them together! With the added humour, slight angst and drama along with the romance made it a great read. 

Quibbles: Sigh I just really wish there had been more from Haven’s side in terms contributing to their relationship, at times in comparison with how much devoted Josh was to her, it didn’t really come across as that Haven was to that extent which made me feel a bit bummed out. This just might be me though.

Overall, another great romantic comedy by Lauren Blakely! Just a fun, hot and relaxing contemporary read for the winter night.  



Her hand slides down my back, and it feels reverent. Her touch does so many things to me. It turns me on, it riles me up, and it sends me soaring. And now, it makes my heart thunder like a wild animal in my chest. One that wants to be with her, next to her, beside her.

“More,” I whisper. “Give me more of your kisses.”

“Take them all,” she tells me.

I am ravenous for her. I don’t know if I will ever be sated.

Not with her scent in my head, her body curled around me, and her kisses on my lips and in my soul.

We might have come in here for one final hurrah, but as we kiss like we can’t ever get enough, this doesn’t feel like the last time for either of us. It doesn’t seem like the end run down the slopes.

I should keep that thought to myself. But when I’m with her, when she’s close like this, I can’t think rationally. It’s too hard to lie or to pretend like she’s the enemy.

My rival, yes.
The competition, yes.
But she’s also the woman I can’t quit.

The woman I don’t want to quit.

About Lauren Blakely

Since self-publishing her debut romance novel CAUGHT UP IN US three years ago, Lauren Blakely has sold more than 1 million books. She is known for her sexy contemporary romance style that’s full of heat, heart and humor. A devout fan of cake and canines, Lauren has plotted entire novels while walking her four-legged friends. She lives in California with her family. With ten New York Times bestsellers, her titles have appeared on the New York Times, USA Today, and Wall Street Journal Bestseller Lists more than fifty times. Her bestselling series include Sinful Nights, Seductive Nights, No Regrets, Caught Up in Love, and Fighting Fire as well as standalone romantic comedies like BIG ROCK and MISTER O, which were both instant New York Times Bestsellers. In the fall she’ll release WELL HUNG, another romantic comedy.

Blog Tour: Bishop’s Queen by Katie Reus

Blog Tour: Bishop's Queen by Katie Reus

Blog Tour: Bishop’s Queen by Katie ReusBishop's Queen by Katie Reus
Genres: Contemporary Romance, Romantic Suspense
Format: eARC
Source: the publisher
Goodreadsfour-stars

Return to the Endgame trilogy where blood is thick, but passion is thicker…
He doesn’t believe in fairy-tale endings…
They used to call Evan Bishop the golden boy. He had it all and was about to close the business deal of a lifetime, then marry the woman of his dreams. But everything goes to hell when a faceless enemy wants to destroy his family’s empire and see him dead. Except the bomb meant to kill him fails. He wakes up from a coma to find his face scarred and his brother missing and wanted for murder. Now that he’s damaged, he hides away from the world—including the woman he loves. He refuses to be a burden to her, so even though it destroys him, he sets her free.
She’s about to prove him wrong…
Isla MacDonald isn’t walking away from Evan just because he’s decided to shut her out of his life. He blames himself for the bombing that got her father killed and nearly killed him—but he’s wrong. After all attempts to see him fail, with a broken heart she tries to resume her life and take over her father’s firm. Though it’s not her dream, she wants to honor his legacy. But when someone tries to kill her—twice—she needs a bodyguard. To her surprise Evan steps up and insists on protecting her, putting on a show as the caring fiancé. But he won’t let her back into his life or into his heart. To have any chance at a future together, they’ll have to resurrect the past and stay alive long enough to expose the man determined to see them both dead.
Author note: This book can be read as a stand-alone, complete with HEA.
Books in trilogy: Bishop’s Knight, #1 Bishop’s Queen, #2 Bishop’s Endgame, #3

Rating~ 3.75 stars

Bishop’s queen is about Evan and Isla, the two people who were in love before the tragedy happened in the book 1 of the series, leaving Evan with physical and mental scars and him pushing away from everyone, including breaking off his engagement with Isla. Now with Isla in danger, Evan can’t help but stay close to her.

I quite enjoyed the book, though I do wish I had read the first book in the series, it would have made my connection to Evan and Isla stronger and would have given me an insight of how they were before the event. Regardless of that, I liked Evan and Isla together, though they Evan had broken off their engagement, it was very much obvious of how much they both still loved each other and Isla couldn’t care less about his scars. I also enjoyed the romantic suspense element to the book, it was done well to keep me interested in who might be the culprit.

Quibbles:I do wish however that we had gotten a bit more of the romance between Evan and Isla, since the suspense part of the book takes it away from romance a bit, I guess if the book had been longer it wouldn’t be an issue.

Overall, I enjoyed Bishop’s Queen, it had been sometime since I read a romantic suspense by Katie Reus and it reminded me why I enjoy her writing and her characters, they are just very easy to connect to and get lost in. I’m looking forward to reading the book in the series!

He leaned down, not sure what the hell he was going to do to cut her off. Kiss her? God, what was he thinking? He started to pull back, then she grabbed him by the front of his shirt and yanked him down to her.

Her green eyes flashed in anger—and hunger—as her lips collided with his. What was she doing? What was he doing? He should pull away, but he couldn’t. Instead, he threaded his fingers through her thick auburn hair, cupping the back of her head as she plastered herself to him.

He loved the sweet taste of her, had missed her for far too long. Every morning he woke up, expecting to roll over and see her, but his bed was always empty. And cold. He’d ached for her in that hospital room, even as he was the one who’d kept her out. And he’d continued to ache for her once he’d been discharged. He simply couldn’t stop wanting her.

Needing her.

Without breaking the kiss, he reached behind himself and held his hand to the scanner. A second later, the door opened with a soft snick and then they were inside his place.

Though it wasn’t really his place, but a sparsely furnished rental with the basics and a killer view.

He wasn’t sure what they were doing, not really. He wanted to be friends with her, wanted her in his life, but he didn’t want to saddle her with him. And he really didn’t want her to have any regrets. “We should stop,” he rasped out, surprised he was able to talk at all as he pulled back, his breaths coming in hard and shallow.

She slid off his jacket and tossed it to the ground. “Should we?” Her tone was tart as she stared up at him almost defiantly.

Dammit. He couldn’t remember why they should stop as he looked into her bright eyes. He wanted her so much, had never stopped wanting her, loving her.

About Katie Reus

Katie Reus is the New York Times and USA Today bestselling author of the Red Stone Security series, the Darkness series and the Deadly Ops series. She fell in love with romance at a young age thanks to books she pilfered from her mom’s stash. Years later she loves reading romance almost as much as she loves writing it.

However, she didn’t always know she wanted to be a writer. After changing majors many times, she finally graduated summa cum laude with a degree in psychology. Not long after that she discovered a new love. Writing. She now spends her days writing dark paranormal romance and sexy romantic suspense.

Review: Team Player 2 Anthology

Review: Team Player 2 Anthology

I received this book for free in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Review: Team Player 2 AnthologyTeam Player 2: A Sports Anthology by Charleigh Rose, Ella Fox, Emma Scott, Ilsa Madden-Mills, Kate Stewart, Kennedy Ryan, Mandi Beck, Meghan Quinn, Rochelle Paige, Sara Ney, Teagan Hunter
on 20th September 2019
Genres: College Romance, Contemporary Romance, Romance, Romantic Comedy, Sports
Pages: 1014
Format: eARC
Source: the publisher
Buy on Amazon USBuy on Amazon UK
Goodreadsfour-stars

Our love of hot jocks is never-ending.
Muscular football players. Passionate tennis pros. Sexy soccer stars. All sorts of alpha hotties, on the field and off.
Have no fear! The team is back again, and this time...it's thicker. You'll get your sports romance fix with brand-new stories from eleven bestselling authors.
Need one last summer fix? Dive into this anthology.
*This anthology contains original, never-before-seen stories by the following authors: Mandi Beck, Ella Fox, Teagan Hunter, Ilsa Madden-Mills, Sara Ney, Rochelle Paige, Meghan Quinn, Charleigh Rose, Kennedy Ryan, Emma Scott, and Kate Stewart.

We still aren’t responsible for melted devices.

I was eagerly awaiting the release of Team Player 2 anthology, it has stories from 8 contemporary authors, some of whom I absolutely adore and some who are new to me.

Fast Break by Kennedy Ryan

4+ stars

This is Quinn and Ean Jagger’s book. Quinn who we met in Block Shot (book #2) and Ean who is the coach of August’s team (from Book #1). I really enjoyed this one, its pretty short but as everything with Kennedy Ryan its well written and she made me teary at the epilogue. All in all a pretty great short wish I could have a bit more time with a couple but its done really well for a short novella. We also get to see/hear about the other characters/couples from the HOOPS series which was a plus, especially if your are a fan of Banner. It’s a great little addition to the series!!

The Teaching Hours by Sara Ney

3.5+ stars

This was fun, cute! I haven’t read the Jock series so I didn’t know the characters from beforehand (which I think would have made it a better read for me) but it was also fine as a standalone. Hannah and Rex were cute, again I wish we had a bit more time with the couple but its was pretty rounded off as we got to see them from strangers to getting to know each other and then starting dating. Also Rex and his niece were so cute together.

**I will update this as I read other novella’s in the anthology**

About Ella Fox

Ella Fox writes like a woman possessed whenever she gets the chance! She is the author of The Hart Family Series, The Renegade Saints Series and The Catch Series.

When she’s not writing, Ella indulges the gypsy in her blood and travels the country. Ella loves reading, movies, music, buying make-up, reading Tmz, Twitter and pedicures… not necessarily in that order. She has a wild sense of humor and loves to laugh. Her favorite thing in the world is hanging out with her family and watching comedy movies.

About Emma Scott

Emma Scott is a bestselling author of emotional, character-driven romances in which art and love intertwine to heal, and in which love always wins. If you enjoy thoughtful, realistic stories with diverse characters and kind-hearted heroes, you will enjoy my novels.

About Kennedy Ryan

A Top 30 Amazon Bestseller, Kennedy Ryan writes about women from all walks of life, empowering them and placing them firmly at the center of each story and in charge of their own destinies. Her heroes respect, cherish and lose their minds for the women who capture their hearts.

She is a wife to her lifetime lover and mother to an extraordinary son. She has always leveraged her journalism background to write for charity and non-profit organizations, but enjoys writing to raise Autism awareness most. A contributor for Modern Mom Magazine and Frolic, Kennedy’s writings have appeared in Chicken Soup for the Soul, USA Today and many others. The founder and executive director of a foundation serving Atlanta Autism families, she has appeared on Headline News, Montel Williams, NPR and other media outlets as an advocate for families living with autism.

About Meghan Quinn

Born in New York and raised in Southern California, Meghan has grown into a sassy, peanut butter eating, blonde haired swearing, animal hoarding lady. She is known to bust out and dance if “It’s Raining Men” starts beating through the air and heaven forbid you get a margarita in her, protect your legs because they may be humped.
Once she started commuting for an hour and twenty minutes every day to work for three years, she began to have conversations play in her head, real life, deep male voices and dainty lady coos kind of conversations. Perturbed and confused, she decided to either see a therapist about the hot and steamy voices running through her head or start writing them down. She decided to go with the cheaper option and started writing… enter her first novel, Caught Looking.
Now you can find the spicy, most definitely on the border of lunacy, kind of crazy lady residing in Colorado with the love of her life and her five, furry four legged children, hiking a trail or hiding behind shelves at grocery stores, wondering what kind of lube the nervous stranger will bring home to his wife. Oh and she loves a good boob squeeze!

About Sara Ney

Purveyor of all things witty & romantic, I love: iced latte’s, traveling, and bright, bold colors. On any given day, you can find me in my office, lovingly gazing at my bookshelf or shuffling my Bic felt-tip pen collection. I love hand writing letters, and sarcasm.

I live in the midwest, but “Will Write for Travel,” and believe everyone should follow their dreams, no matter how big or small. My favorite authors include Cindy Miles, S Walden, Suzanne Enoch, Tessa Dare (to name a few). I am a glutton for Historical, RomCom, Sports and MC romance.

One husband. Two daughters. Plenty of chaos.

Review: Brazen and the Beast by Sarah MacLean

I received this book for free in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Review: Brazen and the Beast by Sarah MacLeanBrazen and the Beast by Sarah MacLean
Series: The Bareknuckle Bastards #2
Published by Avon on 30th July 2019
Genres: Historical, Regency
Pages: 400
Format: eARC
Source: the publisher
Buy on Amazon USBuy on Amazon UKBuy on KoboBuy on itunes
Goodreadsthree-half-stars

The Lady’s Plan
When Lady Henrietta Sedley declares her twenty-ninth year her own, she has plans to inherit her father’s business, to make her own fortune, and to live her own life. But first, she intends to experience a taste of the pleasure she’ll forgo as a confirmed spinster. Everything is going perfectly…until she discovers the most beautiful man she’s ever seen tied up in her carriage and threatening to ruin the Year of Hattie before it’s even begun.
The Bastard’s Proposal
When he wakes in a carriage at Hattie’s feet, Whit, a king of Covent Garden known to all the world as Beast, can’t help but wonder about the strange woman who frees him—especially when he discovers she’s headed for a night of pleasure . . . on his turf. He is more than happy to offer Hattie all she desires…for a price.
An Unexpected Passion
Soon, Hattie and Whit find themselves rivals in business and pleasure. She won’t give up her plans; he won’t give up his power . . . and neither of them sees that if they’re not careful, they’ll have no choice but to give up everything . . . including their hearts.

Will preface this with saying I generally really love Sarah MacLean’s books and her writing. She is one of my favourite historical romance authors and I’ve reread some of book multiple times. I didn’t really enjoy the first one of the series, but I wanted give this series another shot. I think I’m in the minority of this one, my friends really seem to be enjoying this series.

What I loved: Henrietta ‘Hattie’ Sedley is a great character, she is rather unusual woman for her time period, she wants to gain control of her father’s business and so she embarks on the mission to do so with her Year of Hattie plan. She’s practical and brazen. She’s a go getter, she’s ambitious and I really liked that about her. Saviour ‘Whit’ Whittington is also a likeable guy, he’s a bastard son of a duke and known for his fighting abilities. He’s also not a very talkative fellow. I just didn’t understand how his reputation contrasted with how he is with Hattie.

I did also like them together. The banter, the couple, and the secondary characters were all good.

What I didn’t like: I’m not really a person who hates insta love in romance but it has to work, here it just didn’t for me.

Also the whole revenge part just left recycled from the last book which is where my enjoyment suffered a lot. I don’t know what exactly is missing in these books but with the added revenge only motivator and with me wanting my H/h wanting something to come about their way because of what they do themselves do, it left like a let down and then the end left very rushed.

I’m uncertain right now if I want to read Ewan’s story, Grace and Ewan show a lot of promise however so I’m conflicted.

Overall, it’s more or less a decent read, I just had higher expectations I guess. It does have it’s good parts and a lot of people seem to really enjoy this so do give it a shot and see for yourself.

 

About Sarah MacLean

Sarah MacLean grew up in Rhode Island, obsessed with historical romance and bemoaning the fact that she was born far too late for her own season. Her love of all things historical helped to earn her degrees from Smith College and Harvard University before she finally set pen to paper and wrote her first book.
Sarah now lives in New York City with her husband, baby daughter, their dog, and a ridiculously large collection of romance novels. She loves to hear from readers. Please visit her at www.macleanspace.com

Review: The Friend Zone by Abby Jimenez

I received this book for free in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Review: The Friend Zone by Abby JimenezThe Friend Zone by Abby Jimenez
Published by Piatkus on 11th June 2019
Genres: Contemporary Romance, Contemporary Women
Format: eARC
Source: the publisher
Buy on Amazon USBuy on Amazon UK
Goodreadstwo-half-stars

Kristen Petersen doesn't do drama, will fight to the death for her friends, and has no room in her life for guys who just don't get her. She's also keeping a big secret: facing a medically necessary procedure that will make it impossible for her to have children.
Planning her best friend's wedding is bittersweet for Kristen - especially when she meets the best man, Josh Copeland. He's funny, sexy, never offended by her mile-wide streak of sarcasm, and always one chicken enchilada ahead of her hangry. Even her dog, Stuntman Mike, adores him. The only catch: Josh wants a big family someday. Kristen knows he'd be better off with someone else, but as their attraction grows, it's harder and harder to keep him at arm's length.

The Friend Zone will have you laughing one moment and grabbing for tissues the next as it tackles the realities of infertility and loss with wit, heart, and a lot of sass.

I guess this is another case of me having high expectations because I saw high rating/people really hyping this up (should have stuck to my guns about not reading hyped books when they get released but reading them in my own time), unfortunately maybe because of that, along with the issues I’ll mention below this ended up being more on okay read than a great read that I was hoping for.

The good bits: I did enjoy the authors writing, her sense of humour and her characters are quite complex and she knows how to work a plot. I did like Josh and Kristin (for most part). I also liked their banter and chemistry…

The meh bits: I just didn’t like Josh’s behaviour, the way he knew that Kristin was in a relationship and he loved that the fact she was loyal/wouldn’t cheat but at the same time was hoping that she’d dump the guy for him, all the while he’s her ‘FRIEND’ and I also didn’t like Kristin just not being straight up with Tyler, he reenlists and she’s like okay lets have sex Josh. :/ like right after…and later in the book she’s talking to him about being alone while he’s on tour ? and its ??? you knew this what is was going to be like, it just felt it just all about her wants in that relationship. Her just constantly thinking about being with Josh while she is with Tyler was also blegh to me. There is also her not telling Josh about her fibroids and infertility issues, which understandable at the start just got more and more frustrating as the book went on, I think she doesn’t tell like till almost 70% of the book. Also this is, I get it, its fiction and you want things to be perfect/happy for the couple and most often I would agree but if you’re actually spending the whole book about this issue and make the heroine struggle through this and of her being not defined by her infinity issues and her ability to bare children to then just go and ahead and give the couple a child. (also when this came when I was already pissed that modern media had killed two women who had fertility issues, spoilers for Avengers endgame: Black widow and GOT: Daenerys, like is already an annoying thing that you kill them as shock value or give them a magic sperm…??? which contributed to me feeling pretty frustrated with the ending) I’m happy for them of course but it doesn’t fit the book as an ending. The could easily adopted or used a surrogate…and the whole set up with the next book is already making me :///

I would give this author another try in the future but probably would wait a bit…

About Abby Jimenez

Abby Jimenez is a Food Network champion and USA Today best selling author with her hit debut novel The Friend Zone. Abby founded Nadia Cakes out of her home kitchen back in 2007. The bakery has since gone on to win numerous Food Network competitions and has amassed an international cult following. Her wry literary wit was spotlighted as the admin behind the hilarious viral comments on the now famous Nadia Cakes Vageode™ cake.

Abby loves a good romance, coffee, doglets, and not leaving the house.

Review: Wolf Rain by Nalini Singh

I received this book for free in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Review: Wolf Rain by Nalini SinghWolf Rain by Nalini Singh
Published by gollancz on 6th June 2019
Genres: Fantasy, Paranormal
Format: Hardback
Source: the publisher
Buy on Amazon USBuy on Amazon UK
Goodreadsfive-stars

The fate of millions of lives hangs in the balance in this new Psy-Changeling Trinity novel from New York Times bestselling author Nalini Singh...

Kidnapped as a young girl, her psychic powers harnessed by a madman, Memory lives a caged and isolated existence . . . until she comes face-to-face with a wolf. Labelled an empath by her bad-tempered rescuer, Memory knows that her 'gift' is nothing so bright. It is a terrible darkness that means she will always be hunted.

But Memory is free now and she intends to live. A certain growly wolf can just deal with it.

Alexei prefers to keep his packmates at bay, the bleak history of his family a constant reminder that mating, love, hope is not for him. But Memory, this defiant and fearless woman who stands toe-to-toe with him awakens the most primal part of his nature - and soon, he must make a choice: risk everything or lose Memory to a murderous darkness that wants to annihilate her from existence . . .

Wolf Rain is the 18th book in the PsyChangeling Series by Nalini Singh. One of my all time favourite PNR series to date.

There is such a comfort and warm feeling in coming back to this series and especially going back to visit the SnowDancers. I adore the wolves and I really adored this book! This review would have been posted sooner had I not decided to reread the book when I opened the book to select the quotes I’d highlighted (no regrets though).

We met Alexei couple of books ago, he is the youngest lieutenant of the SnowDancer  pack. The death of Alexei’s brother, a year ago changed his personality on a fundamental level. He is no longer the laughing and open wolf he was but instead has become a grumpy wolf, trying to avoid his well meaning but nosy packmates.  Alexei finds Memory and frees her from captivity. Memory is an E-psy, taken hostage at a young age, has spend her life under the thumb of psychopath. 

“Love made people crazy. Love.
It was a word he wasn’t supposed to know, an emotion he couldn’t afford to feel. Not for a woman who made him wish for the impossible” ~Alexei.

I loved loved Memory and Alexei together, they are so adorable. We get to see them from strangers to falling in love. They are so sweet, I liked that they didn’t let each other wallow. Memory would poke at the grumpy wolf to stop him from being sad.

“She’d love him with fierce devotion and raw honesty—and she’d hunt for ways to disprove his belief in the family curse.”  ~Memory 

They made each other laugh and really completed each other. Doesn’t hurt that they had great chemistry and from the get go you could see how much they cared for each other. 

“I always dreamed about the sun, but I never realized the loveliness of the moonlight.”
“I’m a wolf….Howling up at the moon is a favorite leisure activity.”  

Memory is such a strong character, she had a brutal childhood with only a pet cat for company. She’s made to feel like she’s bad and you can see how insecure and afraid she is of psychic abilities. You get her journey to becoming her own person, recognising her own worth and getting her happy ending. She’s pretty fearless, at first its because she has nothing to loose. 

“That was his E with the heart of a lioness.”~Alexei

Alexei was a great hero, his family history and his current outlook in life is very much affected by the recent death of his brother. He is determined to not form attachments no matter what but he really didn’t count on the a small E-psy whose vulnerability along with fearlessness spoke to everything inside. She challenged him, made him feel alive.

Memory was color and light and a primal joy in life. ~Alexei.

We also to get more of the couples from previous book; Kaleb and Sahara, Sascha and Lucas (and Naya) and Hawke and Sienna. It was really great seeing them, I really love so much. I also really like the fact that they weren’t shoved into the book, it was organic in the parts they were included.

The aspects of being an E is explored, along with the consequences of silence that are still coming into play and how they affect the PsyNet and their world. I really liked how that all came into play, it was filled with twists and turns and some surprising things for our favs in the series but this book also felt like the calm before the storm. Some of the elements that are mentioned in the book promise to show possible devastation in the psychangeling world, very much the start of the bad things yet to come and the remaining problem to how to incorporate the humans into the PsyNet to save it when the humans hate the Psy. Also there wasn’t consortium/architect business in this one. 

My only quibble is I wanted Memory to do something, that she plays a part in of course but I wanted her do it. Purely from a more closure point of view.

Overall, I really enjoyed and loved the book and the characters, its sweet, well written, has great romance with slight angst along with the interesting suspense elements to make it a fab read! 

!!!WARNING SPOILERS!!!!

Find below some of the notes I made while reading the book. I also wrote a longer thread for twitter but its difficult to copy and I’m feeling lazy.

About Nalini Singh

New York Times and USA Today bestselling author of the Psy-Changeling, Guild Hunter, and Rock Kiss series Nalini Singh usually writes about hot shapeshifters and dangerous angels. This time around, she decided to write about a beautiful, charismatic guitarist with a dark past. If you’re seeing a theme here, you’re not wrong.

Nalini lives and works in beautiful New Zealand, and is passionate about writing. If you’d like to explore her other books, you can find lots of excerpts on her website. Slave to Sensation is the first book in the Psy-Changeling series, while Angels’ Blood is the first book in the Guild Hunter series. Also, don’t forget to swing by the site to check out the special behind-the-scenes page for the Rock Kiss series, complete with photos of many of the locations used in the books.

Review: Nightchaser by Amanda Bouchet

I received this book for free in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Review: Nightchaser by Amanda BouchetNightchaser by Amanda Bouchet
Series: Endeavor #1
Published by Piatkus on 1st January 2019
Pages: 416
Format: ARC
Source: the publisher
Buy on Amazon USBuy on Amazon UK
Goodreadsthree-half-stars

Tess Bailey: the galaxy's Most Wanted.Captain Tess Bailey is in deep trouble. She and her crew are on the run, pursued by a tyrant who'll take them dead or alive. Tess's best hope is a tall, dark, and much-too-appealing stranger, Shade Ganavan, who says he can help her. But his motivations are far from clear...
Shade Ganavan: arrogance, charm...and that special something that makes you want to kick him.With the dreaded Dark Watch closing in, what Tess and Shade don't know about each other might get them killed...unless they can set aside their differences and learn to trust each other before it's too late.

Rating~ 3.75 stars.

This book had somehow slipped my mind, I remember being very excited about it last year when it was announced that Amanda Bouchet would be writing more fantasy. I previously really liked her kingmaker chronicles so I was looking forward to this a lot!!

Captain Tess Bailey of the spaceship Endeavour and her crew of rebels (see robin hood-esque thieves) are on the run from overseer’s military after stealing some precious cargo. They escape with a damaged ship to another planet. As with criminals, they’re hiding and now with the ship damaged and a bounty on Tess they have to lay low for a while. They end up on the planet in another universe where they meet Shade Ganavan.

Shade is a man of mystery, with his own secrets to hide and conflicts he faces with the situation he now finds himself in. Shade is the one whose helping with the repairing of the ship but he has his own agendas which are now being coloured by his attraction towards Tess. Will Shade and Tess be able to work together, especially when they are both hiding things from each other, trust is a bit difficult to gain and give when you have both things of impense importance to hide and your own future is in peril.

The book has a blend of action, romance but also friendship, adventure and a dash of family drama and trauma. The romance is a slow burn, which builds up the anticipation. Not only are her protagonists multifaceted but so are her secondary characters, which really helps the reader connect more with the story and become invested in these characters (like Jax and Fiona). I also really liked Tess and Shade individually and together. They had good chemistry. They are very interesting characters, Tess especially her personality makes her instantly likeable while Shade with his grumpy/asshole self isn’t too far off either.

The world building is pretty great (as expected really), it was done well without overwhelming the reader with too much information. I haven’t talked about it but the government/dictatorship aspect in this book is also interesting and I want to see the overseer overthrown and his oppression on the planets ended.

Quibbles: There were certain things within Tess’s characteristics that were said to be one thing but showed another. Also there were some pacing issues and certain elements in plots were mentioned but then sort of just dropped. Maybe I had too high expectations based on the last trilogy by the author, regardless I hope that the next book will show the promise this book suggests.

Overall, despite my issue I think the series shows promise, I did enjoy the book and anyone looking to start a new sci fi with romance series should definitely give this a go (also try the Kingmaker Trilogy). And I can’t wait for the next book in the series!!! Which is called Starbreaker releasing next April.

About Amanda Bouchet

Award-winning debut author Amanda Bouchet grew up in New England and studied French at the undergraduate and graduate levels. The manuscript for book one of the Kingmaker Chronicles won several RWA chapter contests, including the Orange Rose Contest and the Paranormal Category of the prestigious Golden Pen. She moved to Paris, France, in 2001 and has been there ever since with her French husband and two wonderful children.

ARC Review: Marriage For One by Ella Maise

ARC Review: Marriage For One by Ella Maise

I received this book for free in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

ARC Review: Marriage For One by Ella MaiseMarriage For One by Ella Maise
on 9th May 2019
Genres: Contemporary Romance, Romantic Comedy
Pages: 499
Format: eARC
Source: the publisher
Buy on Amazon USBuy on Amazon UK
Goodreadsfour-stars

Jack and I, we did everything backward. The day he lured me into his office-which was also the first day we met-he proposed. You'd think a guy who looked like him-a bit cold maybe, but still striking and very unattainable-would only ask the love of his life to marry him, right? You'd think he must be madly in love.

Nope. It was me he asked. A complete stranger who had never even heard of him. A stranger who had been dumped by her fiancé only weeks before. You'd think I'd laugh in his face, call him insane-and a few other names-then walk away as quickly as possible. Well…I did all those things except the walking away part.

It took him only minutes to talk me into a business deal…erm, I mean marriage, and only days for us to officially tie the knot. Happiest day of my life. Magical. Pop the champagne… Not. It was the worst day. Jack Hawthorne was nothing like what I'd imagined for myself.
I blamed him for my lapse in judgment. I blamed his eyes, the ocean blue eyes that looked straight into mine unapologetically, and that frown on his face I had no idea I would become so fascinated with in time.

It wasn't long after he said I was the biggest mistake of his life that things started to change. No, he still didn't talk much, but anyone can string a few words together. His actions spoke the loudest to me. And day after day my heart started to get a mind of its own.

One second he was no one. The next he became everything.
One second he was unattainable. The next he seemed to be completely mine.
One second I thought we were in love. The next it was still nothing but a lie.

After all, I was Rose and he was Jack. We were doomed from the very beginning with those names. Did you expect anything else?

Marriage for One is about the Rose Coleson sorry Rose Hawthorne and Jack Hawthorne. I had been waiting for this since I knew it was in the works last year so I was pretty excited to get my hands on it.

As anyone can guess from the blurb its a marriage of connivence story (which I adore by the way), mixed in with a slight animosity that Rose thinks they have. This a slow burn (and I do mean slow burn) romance of two individuals who are complete opposites in all but the fact that they both very alone in the world.

Rose wants nothing more than to have her own Coffee Shop, and it seemed she would get her dream before everything comes stumbling down on her, her fiancé dumbs her, she finds out the clause in her uncle’s will which means saying goodbye to her dreams and apparently her savings as well. So when a stranger asks her to marry which would win-win for both of them, she’d get her dream coffee shop and he’d get to present the image of a family man and as crazy as it seems to her, she says yes.

Jack is a lawyer, the youngest partner in his firm. He seems like a very serious, pretty closed off, not interested in anything  other than work guy at first, but you start to see it from early on that he’s hiding something and of course he really can’t seem to stay away from his fake wife no matter how many times he tells himself too.

Quibbles: View Spoiler »

Rose and Jack are both very lovely characters, but they couldn’t be more different from each other. Rose is very bubbly, friendly and Jack is standoffish and more glower kinda guy. We get to see their relationship develop, from strangers, to awkward fake wife/husband to friends and then more. They also had great chemistry, they also go through some serious stuff together which cements their bond further to each other. I did really like seeing their domestic life bits, along with Jack’s inability to stop being completely absorbed with his wife. I loved the smile counter Rose had for Jack. They were adorable together, they had such sweet moments that make you smile and of course Jack can be very swoon worthy (without even realising it). He really is so gone for her, it’s amazing to see (or read as the case is) everybody can tell how much he really loves her and how much he had changed over the course of the book. Rose for her part, has no idea why she’s attracted to the man who doesn’t even smile but everything he does or anytime he’s there for her makes her fall harder for him.

“You have me, Rose. You’ve had me the entire time” ~Jack Hawthorne 

I have been a fan of Ella Maise’s writing since I read To Hate Adam Connor and this is one is no different! It really is a love story about two characters who had no home, were alone even with family and who found each other and were made complete with each other.

Overall despite my issues with the length and the pacing, I really enjoyed this. Anyone who’s a fan of slow burn romance and likes marriage of connivence story should give it a try!

About Ella Maise

I’m a big dreamer. And that’s how it all started for me, really. Reading and dreaming. I love nothing more than to escape real life to find those very few magical moments in a book. I love how it has the power of stealing your worries away, putting a smile on your face even when smiling is the last thing on your mind. Crushing on fictional characters is also another bonus. Through my words, if I can manage to make even one-person smile, it means I’ve done my job well.

Writing became my world and I can’t imagine myself doing anything other than creating new characters and telling their stories. You know how some things simply makes your heart burst with happiness? A really good book, a puppy, hugging someone you’ve been missing like crazy? That’s what writing does to me. And all the hard work, all the sleepless nights, all the anxiety that comes with publishing…everything is worth it at the end.

Blog Tour: When We Left Cuba by Chanel Cleeton

I received this book for free in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Blog Tour: When We Left Cuba by Chanel CleetonWhen We Left Cuba by Chanel Cleeton
Published by Berkley Books on 9th April 2019
Pages: 368
Format: eARC
Source: the publisher
Buy on Amazon USBuy on Amazon UKBuy on KoboBuy on itunesBuy on B&N
Goodreadsthree-half-stars

In 1960s Florida, a young Cuban exile will risk her life--and heart--to take back her country in this exhilarating historical novel from the author of Next Year in Havana, a Reese Witherspoon Book Club pick.
Beautiful. Daring. Deadly.
The Cuban Revolution took everything from sugar heiress Beatriz Perez--her family, her people, her country. Recruited by the CIA to infiltrate Fidel Castro's inner circle and pulled into the dangerous world of espionage, Beatriz is consumed by her quest for revenge and her desire to reclaim the life she lost.
As the Cold War swells like a hurricane over the shores of the Florida Strait, Beatriz is caught between the clash of Cuban American politics and the perils of a forbidden affair with a powerful man driven by ambitions of his own. When the ever-changing tides of history threaten everything she has fought for, she must make a choice between her past and future--but the wrong move could cost Beatriz everything--not just the island she loves, but also the man who has stolen her heart...

I had been looking forward to this book since reading Next year in Havana!! Which if you haven’t read you should!!

Beatriz Perez is a very interesting character. She’s strong, independent and has a clear goal in mind. She’s a go getter which I liked. She loves her country and she’s fearless. She has been through quite a lot, lost of a lot and now all she wants is revenge and killing Fidel Castro, to avenge her brothers death and returning to Cuba and so she becomes involved with the CIA.

Nicholas Randolph Preston III is a senator with high ambitions and has all the right things to achieve his aspirations. Beatriz and Nick meet and that changes the course of things to come for Nick. He’s forbidden to Beatriz in more ways than one. He really did love Beatriz, he was willing to do a lot for her. Beatriz, however was set on her path to avenge and to return home. They become entangled with each other but their situation and the position they hold makes it difficult for them to get their happy ending.

The book has a lot of political depth to it, with added spy elements. It’s about one woman’s love for her country, justice, the need to avenge her twin brother and the need to be more than what the society deemed women as in the 60s.

Quibbles: View Spoiler »

However, the writing is lovely, I love the way Chanel Cleeton writes. The characters really shinned, everything was vivid and you could tell that the author did a lot of research and even though I’m not a fan of politics I did enjoy this book. It did bring out a lot of emotions in me whether they were positive or negative. You get very easily caught up with Beatriz, her need to avenge, her love for her country and the happiness she longs for. It’s a book about espionage, politics, patriotism and a forbidden love affair and if its that something you like, you’ll definitely enjoy this one!

a Rafflecopter giveaway

About Chanel Cleeton

After years spent studying international politics in London and a stint in law school, Chanel Cleeton found her passion crafting smart and sexy contemporary romances and thrillers. An avid reader and hopeless romantic, she’s happiest curled up with a book, her three dogs lounging beside her. Chanel is a lover of big sunglasses, irresistible handbags, food covered in sprinkles, and pint-sized pups with larger-than-life personalities. 

She is published by Harlequin and Penguin and is the author of the International School, Capital Confessions, Assassins, and Wild Aces series.

Blog Tour: Space by Penny Reid

Blog Tour: Space by Penny Reid

I received this book for free in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Blog Tour: Space by Penny ReidSpace (Laws of Physics, #2; Hypothesis, #2.2) by Penny Reid
Published by Cipher-Naught on 25th February 2019
Genres: Contemporary, New Adult
Pages: 226
Format: eARC
Source: the publisher
Buy on Amazon USBuy on Amazon UKBuy on itunesBuy on B&N
Goodreadsthree-half-stars


All she wants is forgiveness, and all he wants is revenge...
From the New York Times Bestselling Author Penny Reid
One week.Private cabin.Famous physicist.Still an unrepentant slacker.What’s the worst that could happen?
Mona’s meticulously planned allotment of relaxation is thrown into chaos by the unscheduled appearance of her older brother’s band of friends, including the one person she'd hoped to never face again. Abram still makes her feel entirely too much, which is one of the reasons she disappeared after their one week together. But now, trapped on a mountain of snow and things unspoken, Mona will have to find a way to coexist with Abram, chaos and all.

3.5~4 stars

If you haven’t read the first book Motion in the trilogy then I suggest you do that before starting Space! Onwards to the review.

We met Mona and Abram in the last book we were all waiting for the fall out that would once happen when Abram finds out that Mona has been pretending to be her sister. And it does and we are left with nervousness and anticipation to what will come next. Now more than 2 years have past since those events but our protagonist are even with all their accomplishments are stuck in a limbo and all emotions that resurface once they are face to face again.

I’m not a huge fan of angst but I guess mixed with Penny Reid’s humour and unique style…I did enjoy it. However I because I was frustrated at times and it made my enjoyment of the book pretty low along with several want to smack some people of the heads moments. I guess because I had such high expectations I felt slightly let down. I did like the fact that we get both their POVs and we see Abram’s longing for Mona while Mona is just the dorky perhaps too caring girl we fell for in the last book. We also see Martin and Kaitlyn (From hypothesis 1) which was lovely!!

I enjoyed the moments that Mona and Abram had, the chemistry and the tension their story has, has kept me engrossed and I’m (IM)patiently waiting for the next book.

SPACE_T02.jpg

“Hi—hello,” she said, stepping forward but not out of the way, drawing my attention.

She was still staring at me, her face still pale, but her eyes had turned searching instead of stunned.

“I—” She stopped herself, swallowing, her gaze dropping to the front of my coat, a cute little frown furrowing her eyebrows. In the next moment, she was pulling off the glove of her right hand. Abruptly, she shoved the ungloved fingers toward me, returning her eyes to mine. “I’m Mona.”

I suppressed my disbelief at her small action before it could break my outward mask of calm. I wasn’t calm. Just to be clear, I was the opposite of calm.

The fact that she was introducing herself to me now meant that she thought I was too stupid to figure out her lies over the last two-and-a-half-fucking years. She was arguably one of the smartest people in the world, after all. To her, people like me must seem like housebroken pets. So it shouldn’t have surprised me. But it did. The tension and tightness around my ribs reappeared, squeezing uncomfortably.

Dropping my attention to her bare hand, I pressed my lips into a tighter line, dismissing the way my pulse jumped at the sight of her wrist, the olive tone of her skin under the yellow string lights overhead. Glaring at her outstretched offering, I considered telling her to go to hell.

I considered it, but I wouldn’t.

I didn’t trust myself to speak, that was reason number one.

The other reason was harder to explain, or use as a justification, or admit to myself. Staring at her hand, I braced against a sudden flare of hunger. She might consider me a lower life-form, but that didn’t change the fact that I wanted to touch her. I wanted to touch her more than I wanted to tell her to go to hell, and that was fucking pitiful.

But there it was.

Acting on the compulsion, I lifted my right hand and tugged off the ski glove, sliding my warm palm against her much colder one. Her hand felt good in my hand, the right weight, the right size, the right texture, and I inhaled freezing air.

Mona also seemed to suck in a slow but expansive breath as our hands touched, held. This brought my eyes back to hers in time to see her lashes flutter. Pink colored her previously pale cheeks. The sound of the wailing wind, the sting of the air and frost momentarily melted away, leaving just her, her soft skin warming against mine, her beautiful face filling my vision.

So beautiful.

She really was. She was stunning. I hated that she was still so beautiful to me.

About Penny Reid

SEX! It all started with sex, between my parents. Personally I don’t like thinking about it, but whatever works for you is a-ok with me. No judgment. The sex happened in California and much of my life also occurred in that state until I moved from the land of nuts (almonds), wine, silicon… boobs, and heavy traffic to the southeast US. Like most writers I like to write, but let’s get back to sex. Eventually I married and gave birth to 2 small people-children (boy-6, girl-4 as of this writing).

By day I’m a biomedical researcher with focus on rare diseases. By night I’m a knitter, sewer, lino block carver, fabric printer, soap maker, and general crafter. By the wee hours of the morning or when I’m intoxicated I love to listen to the voices in my head and let them tell me stories. I hope you enjoy their stories.