Publisher: Avon

Excerpt: The Wallflower Wager by Tessa Dare

Excerpt: The Wallflower Wager by Tessa DareThe Wallflower Wager by Tessa Dare
Series: Girl Meets Duke #3
Published by Avon on 13th August 2019
Pages: 368
Buy on Amazon USBuy on Amazon UKBuy on KoboBuy on itunes
Goodreads


To an undaunted wallflower, he's just the beast next door.

Wealthy and ruthless, Gabriel Duke clawed his way from the lowliest slums to the pinnacle of high society—and now he wants to get even.
Loyal and passionate, Lady Penelope Campion never met a lost or wounded creature she wouldn’t take into her home and her heart.
When her imposing—and attractive—new neighbor demands she clear out the rescued animals, Penny sets him a challenge. She will part with her precious charges, if he can find them loving homes.
Done, Gabriel says. How hard can it be to find homes for a few kittens?
And a two-legged dog.
And a foul-mouthed parrot.
And a goat, an otter, a hedgehog . . .
Easier said than done, for a cold-blooded bastard who wouldn’t know a loving home from a workhouse. Soon he’s covered in cat hair, knee-deep in adorable, and bewitched by a shyly pretty spinster who defies his every attempt to resist. Now she’s set her mind and heart on saving him.
Not if he ruins her first.

The Wallflower Wager by Tessa Dare Releases Tomorrow!! Enjoy the little excerpt below of whats to come!!

She circled back, standing before him. “There now. Better?”

He gave a reluctant nod.

“Can you move your arm in all directions?”

He rolled his shoulder to prove it. “Yes.”

“What about your grip?

“My grip is strong.”

“Perhaps I should wrap the arm in a sling.”

“I do not need a sling.”

“Wait here. I’ll dash upstairs to fetch some linen and—”

“For the love of God, woman. My shoulder is fine.” He took her by the waist and lifted her straight off the floor, until they were eye to eye. “There. Believe me now?”

She nodded, wide-eyed.

“Good.”

In his hands, she was delicate, breakable. Her hair was a golden treasure he should never, ever touch. And oh, how he hungered for those soft, pink lips.

The familiar voice echoed in his ears.

Don’t touch, boy. She’s not for the likes of you.

Put. Her. Down.

But before Gabe could lower those beribboned pink slippers to the floor, she captured his sooty, sweaty face in her hands—

And kissed him on the lips.

 

About Tessa Dare

Tessa Dare is the New York Times and USA Today bestselling author of thirteen historical romance novels and four novellas. Her books have won numerous accolades, including Romance Writers of America’s prestigious RITA® award and multiple RT Book Reviews Reviewer’s Choice Awards.  Booklist magazine named her one of the “new stars of historical romance,” and her books have been contracted for translation in more than a dozen languages.

Mixing wit, sensuality, and emotion, Tessa writes Regency-set romance novels that feel relatable to modern readers. With her bestselling “Spindle Cove” and “Castles Ever After” series, she has had great fun creating heroines who defy the conventions of their time—engaging in “unladylike” pursuits that range from paleontology to beer-making—and dreaming up the strong-willed, sexy heroes who find their hearts ensnared by them.

A librarian by training and a booklover at heart, Tessa makes her home in Southern California, where she lives with her husband, their two children, and a trio of cosmic kitties.

Review: Brazen and the Beast by Sarah MacLean

I received this book for free in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Review: Brazen and the Beast by Sarah MacLeanBrazen and the Beast by Sarah MacLean
Series: The Bareknuckle Bastards #2
Published by Avon on 30th July 2019
Genres: Historical, Regency
Pages: 400
Format: eARC
Source: the publisher
Buy on Amazon USBuy on Amazon UKBuy on KoboBuy on itunes
Goodreadsthree-half-stars

The Lady’s Plan
When Lady Henrietta Sedley declares her twenty-ninth year her own, she has plans to inherit her father’s business, to make her own fortune, and to live her own life. But first, she intends to experience a taste of the pleasure she’ll forgo as a confirmed spinster. Everything is going perfectly…until she discovers the most beautiful man she’s ever seen tied up in her carriage and threatening to ruin the Year of Hattie before it’s even begun.
The Bastard’s Proposal
When he wakes in a carriage at Hattie’s feet, Whit, a king of Covent Garden known to all the world as Beast, can’t help but wonder about the strange woman who frees him—especially when he discovers she’s headed for a night of pleasure . . . on his turf. He is more than happy to offer Hattie all she desires…for a price.
An Unexpected Passion
Soon, Hattie and Whit find themselves rivals in business and pleasure. She won’t give up her plans; he won’t give up his power . . . and neither of them sees that if they’re not careful, they’ll have no choice but to give up everything . . . including their hearts.

Will preface this with saying I generally really love Sarah MacLean’s books and her writing. She is one of my favourite historical romance authors and I’ve reread some of book multiple times. I didn’t really enjoy the first one of the series, but I wanted give this series another shot. I think I’m in the minority of this one, my friends really seem to be enjoying this series.

What I loved: Henrietta ‘Hattie’ Sedley is a great character, she is rather unusual woman for her time period, she wants to gain control of her father’s business and so she embarks on the mission to do so with her Year of Hattie plan. She’s practical and brazen. She’s a go getter, she’s ambitious and I really liked that about her. Saviour ‘Whit’ Whittington is also a likeable guy, he’s a bastard son of a duke and known for his fighting abilities. He’s also not a very talkative fellow. I just didn’t understand how his reputation contrasted with how he is with Hattie.

I did also like them together. The banter, the couple, and the secondary characters were all good.

What I didn’t like: I’m not really a person who hates insta love in romance but it has to work, here it just didn’t for me.

Also the whole revenge part just left recycled from the last book which is where my enjoyment suffered a lot. I don’t know what exactly is missing in these books but with the added revenge only motivator and with me wanting my H/h wanting something to come about their way because of what they do themselves do, it left like a let down and then the end left very rushed.

I’m uncertain right now if I want to read Ewan’s story, Grace and Ewan show a lot of promise however so I’m conflicted.

Overall, it’s more or less a decent read, I just had higher expectations I guess. It does have it’s good parts and a lot of people seem to really enjoy this so do give it a shot and see for yourself.

 

About Sarah MacLean

Sarah MacLean grew up in Rhode Island, obsessed with historical romance and bemoaning the fact that she was born far too late for her own season. Her love of all things historical helped to earn her degrees from Smith College and Harvard University before she finally set pen to paper and wrote her first book.
Sarah now lives in New York City with her husband, baby daughter, their dog, and a ridiculously large collection of romance novels. She loves to hear from readers. Please visit her at www.macleanspace.com

Excerpt: Say No To The Duke by Eloisa James

Excerpt: Say No To The Duke by Eloisa JamesSay No to the Duke by Eloisa James
Series: The Wildes of Lindow Castle #4
Published by Avon on 25th June 2019
Genres: Historical, Regency
Pages: 384
Buy on Amazon USBuy on Amazon UKBuy on KoboBuy on itunes
Goodreads

Could she possibly refuse a duke’s hand—in favor of a sardonic, sinful rake?

Lady Betsy Wilde’s first season was triumphant by any measure, and a duke has proposed—but before marriage, she longs for one last adventure.

No gentleman would agree to her scandalous plan—but Lord Jeremy Roden is no gentleman. He offers a wager. If she wins a billiards game, he’ll provide the breeches.

If he wins…she is his, for one wild night.

But what happens when Jeremy realizes that one night will never be enough? In the most important battle of his life, he’ll have to convince Betsy to say no to the duke.

The all new historical, Say No To The Duke by Eloisa James is out Now! Enjoy a short excerpt below.

They moved toward each other as if they were following the steps of a very slow, very grand country dance. One that was danced by kings and queens and countryfolk alike.

When they were  beside  each  other, she  squared her shoulders and met his eyes. “I decided to come to you. I hope that is all right.”

“I do believe that you are the bravest woman I’ve ever met,” he replied.

He couldn’t have said anything better; Betsy felt herself begin to glow. “I haven’t been brave to this point, but I have made up my mind to change. I outlawed being nervous, but now I need to outlaw being afraid.” She hesitated. “I have chosen courage, and now I choose happiness.”

“I love you as you are,” he whispered, and then his mouth came down on hers.

Her breath caught in her throat because their tongues met as if they kissed every day, every night. He tasted right, which sent a shiver through her whole  body,  and  pushed  her  against him gently, the way a pebble might roll up a beach when the tide comes in.

One doesn’t fight the tide.

About Eloisa James

A New York Times bestselling author, Eloisa James is a professor of English literature who lives with her family in New York, but who can sometimes be found in Paris or Italy. (Her husband is an honest to goodness Italian knight!) Eloisa’s website offers short stories, extra chapters, and even a guide to shopping in Florence.

ARC Review: Devil’s Daughter by Lisa Kleypas

I received this book for free in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

ARC Review: Devil’s Daughter by Lisa KleypasDevil's Daughter by Lisa Kleypas
Series: The Ravenels #5
Published by Avon on 19th February 2019
Genres: Historical, Regency
Pages: 384
Format: eARC
Source: the publisher
Buy on Amazon USBuy on Amazon UKBuy on KoboBuy on itunes
Goodreadsfive-stars

New York Times bestselling author Lisa Kleypas delivers a scintillating tale of a beautiful, young widow who finds passion with the one man she shouldn't...
Although beautiful young widow Phoebe, Lady Clare, has never met West Ravenel, she knows one thing for certain: he's a mean, rotten bully. Back in boarding school, he made her late husband's life a misery, and she'll never forgive him for it. But when Phoebe attends a family wedding, she encounters a dashing and impossibly charming stranger who sends a fire-and-ice jolt of attraction through her. And then he introduces himself...as none other than West Ravenel.
West is a man with a tarnished past. No apologies, no excuses. However, from the moment he meets Phoebe, West is consumed by irresistible desire...not to mention the bitter awareness that a woman like her is far out of his reach. What West doesn't bargain on is that Phoebe is no straitlaced aristocratic lady. She's the daughter of a strong-willed wallflower who long ago eloped with Sebastian, Lord St. Vincent—the most devilishly wicked rake in England.
Before long, Phoebe sets out to seduce the man who has awakened her fiery nature and shown her unimaginable pleasure. Will their overwhelming passion be enough to overcome the obstacles of the past?
Only the devil's daughter knows...

I love Lisa Kleypas’s writing and her historicals are always such a treat to read. She’s my favourite historical author (actually one of my favourites in general as well). She just somehow makes it all work, from gamblers to lady doctors. This is a book I had been eagerly waiting for. West was introduced in the first book of the Ravenel series while Phoebe introduced in Devil in Spring (The Ravenels #3) is the daughter of one of all time favourite couple Evie and Sebastian from Devil in Winter (Wallflowers) and from the moment we got a little sneak peek last year about Phoebe disliking West, I know this one would be a fun one to read.

Lady Clare, Phoebe has been through quite a bit. She’s a pretty head strong lady (as expected with her being Evie and Sebastian’s daughter), she knew from a young age of who she wanted and that was her late husband Henry. Now a widow with two kids, she’s a great mom but the mourning period has ended and she’s struggling with being around people again.

West Ravenel once a drunkard and scoundrel, now he helps manages his brother’s estate and does an amazing job at that. He really had changed over the course of the series. We get to see him become a hero, someone who’s worth something in his own right even though it takes him a long time to realise that.

“I don’t deserve her,” he mumbled, without intending to. 
“Of course you don’t. Neither do I deserve my wife. It’s an unfair fact of life that the worst men end up with the best women.” ~West and Sebastian. 

I was already invested in these characters from before, and you know some of their history so seeing them get their happy ending was immensely satisfying.

They made such a great pair, though the started off the wrong foot. I was a bit worried at the start because Phoebe was being a bit too judgmental and I was slightly panicking of not liking her as I usually love Lisa’s Heroines. Fear not, It was all sorted pretty early on and I loved her too. Though of course it was understandable, West had been the enemy of her husband during their years at boarding school and really hurt him which in turn hurt Phoebe. You get see that transition of her going from this man really hurt someone I love, I would rather not be in his presence to seeing him as he is now, forgiving him and falling in love with him.

How surprising life was. Once she would never have considered this man for herself. And now it would be impossible to consider anyone else. ~Pheobe, Lady Clare. 

You also get their own individual journeys in a sense, they become stronger people especially Phoebe, who felt lost and unsure of herself (understandably) because of her husband’s passing whom she loved at the start of this book.

West is, well a wonderful hero and I loved the fact that Phoebe didn’t give up on him because he really didn’t really feel he deserved to be with Phoebe, who was a good woman and had children that he didn’t want to taint their futures with his past mistakes.

They just end up really falling for each other, knowing it might end well for them. I really loved both of them (I just keep repeating that but its true!!!!). They had great chemistry and you know their cute moments made me swoon. West just doesn’t see himself like other people in his family do or how Phoebe or even Sebastian sees him. I loved seeing him with Pheobe’s children and making the lot of them smile and have fun.

I loved their connection with the book, Stephen Armstrong: Treasure Hunter. The scenes with the cat, Galoshes and Pheobe’s sons. And of course West scene’s with Sebastian. Special mention to all the scenes of them during the time West was at the Clare estate! 

I’m nitpicking here because this such a great book but lack of epilogue made me sad, I wanted to see a little preview of their future together, it just felt like an abrupt ending.

I loved getting the little sneak peeks to the other wallflowers children and their lives in the future. We also get a bit of Evie and Sebastian and ugh I still love them so much!!! I ended up rereading their book because sigh they are just amazing. Now I’m reallyyyyyy looking forward to Cassandra’s book but I also don’t want this series to end!!! 🙁

This book pretty much has it all, an amazing heroine, a swoon worthy hero, humour and sweetness and a dash of angst to make it a treat for any historical fans out there!

*quotes from ARC version.

I was gonna work on this collage to make it better but alas….

About Lisa Kleypas

New York Times bestselling author Lisa Kleypas graduated from Wellesley College with a political science degree. She is a RITA award winning author of both historical romance and contemporary women’s fiction. Her novels are published in fourteen different languages and are bestsellers all over the world. She lives in Washington State with her husband Gregory and their two children.

Review: Playing For Keeps by Jill Shalvis

I received this book for free in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Review: Playing For Keeps by Jill ShalvisPlaying for Keeps by Jill Shalvis
Series: Heartbreaker Bay #7
Published by Avon on 22nd January 2019
Genres: Contemporary Romance
Pages: 384
Format: eARC
Source: Edelweiss
Buy on Amazon USBuy on Amazon UK
Goodreadsfour-stars


If you’re planning on falling in love…

When it comes to the confident, charismatic Caleb Parker, Sadie Lane feels the spark—the kind that comes from rubbing each other the wrong way. She’s a tattoo artist, he’s a straight-laced mogul. But after they accidentally co-rescue an abandoned dog from a storm, Sadie sees a vulnerable side to the seemingly invincible hottie.

you’d better be sure…

Caleb doesn’t do emotions. Growing up the underdog, he’s learned the hard way to build up an impenetrable wall. Perfect for business. Disastrous for relationships. He’s never worried about it before—not until he finally gets behind Sadie’s armor and begins to fall.

… someone is there to catch you.

Both guarded and vulnerable, Sadie and Caleb are complete opposites. Or are they? Shocked at their undeniable connection, can they ever admit to wanting more? That all depends on what they’re each willing to risk.

Please bear with me, this is my first review after months of break from blogging so it might be all over the place and what the reviews used to be. 

It has been some times since I read a Jill shalvis book (in actuality probably just months but it felts like ages)…One thing is that I really adore Jill shalvis’s writing and her characters and this is coming from someone who isn’t a fan of contemporary romance ( I have loads in the past few years more than my preferred genre but its still just not of my favourites) so its says a lot about her that even from the start I have loved her writing. 

This is the story of Caleb and Sadie, we met a few books a go, we have seen their friendship with other characters and I really wanted to see what Jill Shalvis had in store for them and us. 

Sadie and Caleb have been aware of each other for some time now. Sadie is a tattoo and make up artist, she seems to be very tough and standoffish to people. Caleb on the other hand is the genius multimillionaire that may seem like that he has never had a bad day in his life which couldn’t be further from the truth. 

A dog named lollipop brings Caleb and Sadie together, both are immediately taken with Lollipop and end up being doggy parents and sharing Lollipop. I really adored them with lollipop, also often dogs/children are used a plot point and then just sort of exist in the background….I liked that it wasn’t the care here. I loved their interactions with Lollipop, they were just so sweet and in love with this three legged dog. 

We find out about both their childhoods, we see why they are so guarded and private and though they may seem like they couldn’t be more opposite to each other…they do share similarities as well. It was lovely seeing their journey from the misconceptions they had of each other (mostly Sadie) and see each other for the person the other actual was. 

Onto romance, I loved them to together, it took some time and patience and we get to see them open to each other. Get each other to open up and let the other person love them. I adored them together, minor quibbles aside (one of them being Sadie’s mother who I wanted to gbh to) I really enjoyed the characters, the book and their love and eventual HEA. This book is different from other books in the series, its deeper and deals with more complicated issues (as well as individuals), it does have humour and little light hearted moments from making it too serious which just adds more to their relationship and the book.

It was also really nice seeing the other couples from the series!

About Jill Shalvis

New York Times and USA Today bestselling author Jill Shalvis lives in a small town in the Sierras full of quirky characters. Any resemblance to the quirky characters in her books is, um, mostly coincidental. Look for Jill’s sexy contemporary and award-winning books wherever romances are sold and click on the blog button above for a complete book list and daily blog detailing her city-girl-living-in-the-mountains adventures.

Playlist For The Protector by HelenKay Dimon

Playlist For The Protector by HelenKay Dimon

Playlist For The Protector by HelenKay DimonThe Protector by HelenKay Dimon
Series: Games People Play #4
Published by Avon on 31st July 2018
Genres: Contemporary Romance, Romantic Suspense
Pages: 384
Buy on Amazon USBuy on Amazon UKBuy on KoboBuy on itunes
Goodreads

“Dimon excels at creating memorable, complex characters.” — Publishers Weekly (starred review)
Salvation, Pennsylvania. The commune located in the small town was advertised as a modern Utopia: a place to live, share, and learn with other like-minded young people. Cate Pendleton’s sister was one of them. Now she’s dead—and Cate won’t rest until she finds out who killed her. Stonewalled at every turn, she approaches a DC Fixer for help and ends up with Damon Knox, a mysterious man with a secretive past. But Cate soon discovers that she not only needs Damon, she wants him, which isn’t good—for the attraction brewing between them will only lead to complications that can turn into danger . . .
Damon has tried to erase the hellish memories and the evil that happened in Salvation ever since he left a long time ago. Still, he can’t turn his back on Cate. As Damon works with Cate to uncover her sister’s killer, he finds himself drawn to her more and more. But how will she feel about him when she learns about his connection to the place?
Joining forces to uncover the truth, they must stay one step ahead of a cunning killer who’s bent on not being exposed.

Author HelenKay Dimon shares her playlist for The Protector, Book 4 in her Games People Play Series!! Also Enter the giveaway to win previous books in the series Below.

PLAYLIST

“Where’s My Love” by SYML

“Fix You” by Coldplay

“Just Give Me A Reason” by P!nk

“Long Time Traveler” by The Wallin’ Jennys

“Make You Feel My Love” by Adele

“Demons” by Imagine Dragons

“Sometime Around Midnight” by The Airborne Toxic Event

“Wasted Time” by Eagles

“Let’s Hurt Tonight” by One Republic

“Paper Love” by Allie X

“Wicked Game” by Chris Isaak

“The Sound of Silence” by Disturbed

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Release Day: The Protector by HelenKay Dimon

Release Day: The Protector by HelenKay Dimon

Release Day: The Protector by HelenKay DimonThe Protector by HelenKay Dimon
Series: Games People Play #4
Published by Avon on 31st July 2018
Genres: Contemporary Romance, Romantic Suspense
Pages: 384
Buy on Amazon USBuy on Amazon UKBuy on KoboBuy on itunesBuy on B&N
Goodreads

“Dimon excels at creating memorable, complex characters.” — Publishers Weekly (starred review)
Salvation, Pennsylvania. The commune located in the small town was advertised as a modern Utopia: a place to live, share, and learn with other like-minded young people. Cate Pendleton’s sister was one of them. Now she’s dead—and Cate won’t rest until she finds out who killed her. Stonewalled at every turn, she approaches a DC Fixer for help and ends up with Damon Knox, a mysterious man with a secretive past. But Cate soon discovers that she not only needs Damon, she wants him, which isn’t good—for the attraction brewing between them will only lead to complications that can turn into danger . . .
Damon has tried to erase the hellish memories and the evil that happened in Salvation ever since he left a long time ago. Still, he can’t turn his back on Cate. As Damon works with Cate to uncover her sister’s killer, he finds himself drawn to her more and more. But how will she feel about him when she learns about his connection to the place?
Joining forces to uncover the truth, they must stay one step ahead of a cunning killer who’s bent on not being exposed.

Today we have the release day blitz for The Protector by HelenKay Dimon! Check out an exclusive excerpt below

Cate Pendleton dumped her grocery bags on the kitchen counter and glanced around the living room area of her small one-bedroom condo. Flattened pillows. Magazines spread across the coffee table. A blanket in a ball on the floor from where it slipped off her last night while she watched television. The remote stuffed between cushions.

Everything was exactly where she left it when she took off on her store run an hour ago. But something struck her as off. She felt it rather than saw it. A violation of her scared space. A lingering menace. The sensation of unknown hands skimming over her things. A shiver skated through her at the thought.

With her keys sticking between her fingers like a weapon, she walked around the condo, peeking in the closet and looking inside the bedroom. The journey ended back here she started. She approached the couch nice and slow. She listened for footsteps, but the only sound came from the hiss of her clunky, usually-malfunctioning icemaker.

She leaned toward the cushions, just a bit, and sniffed. There it was. Aftershave. Faint, but present. Since a man hadn’t been in the condo for weeks the smell was out of place. And this was not the first time this had happened. She came home two days ago to the same scent. A mix of musk and orange. The last time it happened in the evening. This time in the morning.

On that first day, she found her patio door unlocked. Living in a city, she didn’t take her personal safety for granted. Being two floors up, tucked behind rows of government buildings and a few blocks back from the National Air and Space Museum in downtown Washington, D.C., she kept her guard up. The neighborhood served as home to many congressional staffers. Traffic, both human and the car variety, moved in a steady beat. But she knew better than to assume everything was fine. She locked her doors. All of them and all the time, but someone got in.

A punch of awareness moved though her as she brushed her fingertips over the arm of the chair. The idea of someone snooping through her stuff, standing in her space, made her gag. Last time nothing was stolen, so she skipped calling the police with that fear. Wrote the whole thing off as faulty memory. She knew something strange had happened, but she blocked it and pretended otherwise. But this was different. From the first whiff of that cologne, the trembling started deep down in her stomach, spun up to her head and would not stop.

She forced her mind to focus. Someone kept getting in without leave much of a trail. They didn’t stick around, and for that she was grateful. Nothing stolen. Not obviously, anyway.

Her sister. That’s what this had to be about. Cate thought back to the last six weeks and all the ground she’d covered. She poked around, asked uncomfortable questions and clearly upset someone. She got too close, which was exactly her plan. Maybe she uncovered some piece of information she hadn’t realized yet. But she would.

If someone broke in thinking they’d figure out her strategy or grab every lead she’d collected, they miscalculated. No way would she make it that easy for anyone to destroy her work or derail her.

After the first time this happened, she called the police but that led nowhere. A second call likely would end the same way. They would ignore her, write her off as the crazy one with the dead sister. Add to that her complaint wouldn’t pinpoint any clear evidence. This was about a sense of a presence, of being spooked, and she would become the new lunchtime story for the officers.

But she knew. He had been there. He or she. The person knew how to get in and was playing with her. The next time she might come home too soon.

Despite her worries and the downsides, she picked up the phone and dialed the one person who might be able to help her, the mysterious D.C. fixer. The guy no one ever saw who went by one name – Wren.

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Review and Giveaway: The Good Luck Sister by Jill Shalvis

I received this book for free in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Review and Giveaway: The Good Luck Sister by Jill ShalvisThe Good Luck Sister by Jill Shalvis
Series: Wildstone #1.5
Published by Avon on 1st May 2018
Genres: Contemporary Romance
Source: the publisher
Buy on Amazon USBuy on Amazon UKBuy on KoboBuy on itunesBuy on B&N
Goodreadsfour-stars

This summer, romance blooms again in Wildstone!
After a difficult few years, Tilly Adams is ready for life to start going right. Though she has a case of first day nerves teaching art at the local community college, she knows it isn't anything a few snuggles from her rescue puppy won't cure. Until she sees Dylan Scott again, her one-time BFF and first love sitting in the front row.
Dylan knows he should've left well enough alone, but when he sees Tilly living her dream, he can't help but make contact. Ten years ago, he left Wildstone and everything in it behind, including Tilly. He had his reasons, but now he wants her back in his life, anyway he can get her.
When Tilly agrees to design the logo for Dylan's new helicopter touring company, it's business only...until she finds herself falling into his arms once again. Can she possibly open her heart back up to the only man who's ever broken it? But soon they're both realizing the truth - love always deserves a second chance.


Tilly and Dylan were high school sweethearts, Tilly dreamt that her and Dylan would be together forever, after all they were in love and would achieve their dreams together of being a famous artist (Tilly) and an astronaut (Dylan). But things go awry, Dylan breaks her heart and leaves without telling her. For the next 8 years they go on their lives without Tilly hearing anything from him. This of course changes when one morning she finds Dylan in her art class.

I loved Tilly and Dylan, they both had been through some very tough times but had made it by themselves and neither had really forgotten each other. We also got to see how they were when they were together in their teenage years and it added a little bit more to their story. I also liked the names of chapter titles, they were very relatable….

I really do love Jill Shalvis books and her novella’s are no exception, she does a remarkable job at making the characters three dimensional and give the plot sustenance in very limited word count so with that mind I’ll say I did love the characters and the plot but it seemed like it went to fast especially the ending…I wish the that author maybe placed a epilogue months ahead instead of what happens at the end chapter..because of how Tilly had felt not few hours ago made it seem like it was a bit too sudden to me…

Overall, it’s very quick and beautifully written story about two individuals who deserve a HEA!

“I’ve finished my free trial of adulthood and am no longer interested, so please cancel my subscription.” From The Mixed Up Files of Tilly’s journal.

 

Tilly Adams sat in the vet’s office staring at the doctor in shock. “Say that again?”

Dr. Janet Lyons smiled. “I think Leo faked being sick. Probably so you’d stay home from work today.”

Tilly looked down at Leo. “You do know he’s a dog, right?”

All six pounds of him smiled up at her. About a month ago, she found him on a street corner hiding beneath a bus bench; wet, dirty, cold, hungry and matted. He’d been Dobby meets Gremlin meets neglected, abused Care Bear. Tilly had looked around for an adult, and then had to remind herself that at twenty-five years old, she was legal herself. So then she’d searched for an adultier adult, but she’d been the only one in sight.

So she’d scooped the little guy up and had brought him to the SPCA, who’d said he was about five weeks old, a possible Maltipoo, which meant he came by his care bear look naturally. He was malnutritioned and suffering from mange. They’d said they’d do what they could, and Tilly had turned to go. That had been when she’d seen all the eyes on her from an endless row of cages … and she’d realized her care bear would soon be sitting in one too. Then she’d heard herself offer to foster him until they found him a forever home.

They’d found him one too. Tilly had signed the adoption papers last weekend in spite of the fact that just that morning he’d escaped his crate, eaten her favorite sneakers, destroyed her favorite pillow, and then yakked up the stuffing from the pillow.

He was a destructo of the highest magnitude, and something else too. He had no idea how small he was. He went after her sister Quinn’s twenty-plus pound cat and her neighbor’s hundred pound black lab with the same fierce, fearless gusto. Turned out, the little guy had a bad case of small-man syndrome, which was how he’d earned his name.

Leo, short for Napoleon.

And now on top of Leo’s impressive chewing skills, his escape artist skills, and his ability to get up on her bed and yet still not understand why stepping in his own poop was annoying, he had a new skill.

He’d faked being sick.

Proud of himself, Leo smiled up at her. Smiled. An hour ago he’d been coughing and limping and acting all sorts of odd. Now he just kept smiling up at her while sending her meaningful glances at the open dog biscuit bin between her and the doctor.

Dr. Lyons laughed and gave him one.

“Dogs can’t fake sick,” Tilly said while Leo inhaled the biscuit whole before licking the floor to make sure he got all the crumbs. “Can they?”

Dr. Lyons scooped him up and gave him a kiss on his adorable snout. “Yours did.”
Tilly sighed. It was too early for this. She’d had a crazy late night. Not hanging at Whiskey River, the local bar and grill. Not at a club with friends. Not working on her designs for he upcoming graphic art showing.

Nope, she’d been on a serious stress bender — a marathon of Game Of Thrones. She hadn’t fallen asleep until after two and her alarm had interrupted her in the middle of a really great dream starring Jon Snow.

Dr. Lyons handed Leo over. He immediately snuggled into the crook of Tilly’s neck and dammit, her cold heart melted on the spot and she hugged him close. “You’re sure he’s okay? He was coughing. And then he limped funny. And then he wouldn’t eat.”

“But he hasn’t coughed once that I’ve seen. And he’s not limping either. And you said all his food vanished while you took a quick shower.”

“Yes,” Tilly said.

Dr. Lyons waited for her to catch up.

Tilly sighed. “He really did fake me out.”

US/Canada Only ebook Copy 

~Please comment with your favourite Jill Shalvis book!!
~Bonus entries: Like and follow on facebook/twitter page. 

About Jill Shalvis

New York Times and USA Today bestselling author Jill Shalvis lives in a small town in the Sierras full of quirky characters. Any resemblance to the quirky characters in her books is, um, mostly coincidental. Look for Jill’s sexy contemporary and award-winning books wherever romances are sold and click on the blog button above for a complete book list and daily blog detailing her city-girl-living-in-the-mountains adventures.