Genre: Romantic Comedy

Review: Team Player 2 Anthology

Review: Team Player 2 Anthology

I received this book for free in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Review: Team Player 2 AnthologyTeam Player 2: A Sports Anthology by Charleigh Rose, Ella Fox, Emma Scott, Ilsa Madden-Mills, Kate Stewart, Kennedy Ryan, Mandi Beck, Meghan Quinn, Rochelle Paige, Sara Ney, Teagan Hunter
on 20th September 2019
Genres: College Romance, Contemporary Romance, Romance, Romantic Comedy, Sports
Pages: 1014
Format: eARC
Source: the publisher
Buy on Amazon USBuy on Amazon UK
Goodreadsfour-stars

Our love of hot jocks is never-ending.
Muscular football players. Passionate tennis pros. Sexy soccer stars. All sorts of alpha hotties, on the field and off.
Have no fear! The team is back again, and this time...it's thicker. You'll get your sports romance fix with brand-new stories from eleven bestselling authors.
Need one last summer fix? Dive into this anthology.
*This anthology contains original, never-before-seen stories by the following authors: Mandi Beck, Ella Fox, Teagan Hunter, Ilsa Madden-Mills, Sara Ney, Rochelle Paige, Meghan Quinn, Charleigh Rose, Kennedy Ryan, Emma Scott, and Kate Stewart.

We still aren’t responsible for melted devices.

I was eagerly awaiting the release of Team Player 2 anthology, it has stories from 8 contemporary authors, some of whom I absolutely adore and some who are new to me.

Fast Break by Kennedy Ryan

4+ stars

This is Quinn and Ean Jagger’s book. Quinn who we met in Block Shot (book #2) and Ean who is the coach of August’s team (from Book #1). I really enjoyed this one, its pretty short but as everything with Kennedy Ryan its well written and she made me teary at the epilogue. All in all a pretty great short wish I could have a bit more time with a couple but its done really well for a short novella. We also get to see/hear about the other characters/couples from the HOOPS series which was a plus, especially if your are a fan of Banner. It’s a great little addition to the series!!

The Teaching Hours by Sara Ney

3.5+ stars

This was fun, cute! I haven’t read the Jock series so I didn’t know the characters from beforehand (which I think would have made it a better read for me) but it was also fine as a standalone. Hannah and Rex were cute, again I wish we had a bit more time with the couple but its was pretty rounded off as we got to see them from strangers to getting to know each other and then starting dating. Also Rex and his niece were so cute together.

**I will update this as I read other novella’s in the anthology**

About Ella Fox

Ella Fox writes like a woman possessed whenever she gets the chance! She is the author of The Hart Family Series, The Renegade Saints Series and The Catch Series.

When she’s not writing, Ella indulges the gypsy in her blood and travels the country. Ella loves reading, movies, music, buying make-up, reading Tmz, Twitter and pedicures… not necessarily in that order. She has a wild sense of humor and loves to laugh. Her favorite thing in the world is hanging out with her family and watching comedy movies.

About Emma Scott

Emma Scott is a bestselling author of emotional, character-driven romances in which art and love intertwine to heal, and in which love always wins. If you enjoy thoughtful, realistic stories with diverse characters and kind-hearted heroes, you will enjoy my novels.

About Kennedy Ryan

A Top 30 Amazon Bestseller, Kennedy Ryan writes about women from all walks of life, empowering them and placing them firmly at the center of each story and in charge of their own destinies. Her heroes respect, cherish and lose their minds for the women who capture their hearts.

She is a wife to her lifetime lover and mother to an extraordinary son. She has always leveraged her journalism background to write for charity and non-profit organizations, but enjoys writing to raise Autism awareness most. A contributor for Modern Mom Magazine and Frolic, Kennedy’s writings have appeared in Chicken Soup for the Soul, USA Today and many others. The founder and executive director of a foundation serving Atlanta Autism families, she has appeared on Headline News, Montel Williams, NPR and other media outlets as an advocate for families living with autism.

About Meghan Quinn

Born in New York and raised in Southern California, Meghan has grown into a sassy, peanut butter eating, blonde haired swearing, animal hoarding lady. She is known to bust out and dance if “It’s Raining Men” starts beating through the air and heaven forbid you get a margarita in her, protect your legs because they may be humped.
Once she started commuting for an hour and twenty minutes every day to work for three years, she began to have conversations play in her head, real life, deep male voices and dainty lady coos kind of conversations. Perturbed and confused, she decided to either see a therapist about the hot and steamy voices running through her head or start writing them down. She decided to go with the cheaper option and started writing… enter her first novel, Caught Looking.
Now you can find the spicy, most definitely on the border of lunacy, kind of crazy lady residing in Colorado with the love of her life and her five, furry four legged children, hiking a trail or hiding behind shelves at grocery stores, wondering what kind of lube the nervous stranger will bring home to his wife. Oh and she loves a good boob squeeze!

About Sara Ney

Purveyor of all things witty & romantic, I love: iced latte’s, traveling, and bright, bold colors. On any given day, you can find me in my office, lovingly gazing at my bookshelf or shuffling my Bic felt-tip pen collection. I love hand writing letters, and sarcasm.

I live in the midwest, but “Will Write for Travel,” and believe everyone should follow their dreams, no matter how big or small. My favorite authors include Cindy Miles, S Walden, Suzanne Enoch, Tessa Dare (to name a few). I am a glutton for Historical, RomCom, Sports and MC romance.

One husband. Two daughters. Plenty of chaos.

Release Day Blitz: Handle With Care by Helena Hunting

Release Day Blitz: Handle With Care by Helena Hunting

Release Day Blitz: Handle With Care by Helena HuntingHandle With Care by Helena Hunting
Published by St. Martin's Paperbacks on 27th August 2019
Genres: Romance, Romantic Comedy
Pages: 300
Buy on Amazon USBuy on Amazon UK
Goodreads

HE WANTS TO LOSE CONTROL.

Between his parents’ messed up marriage and his narcissistic younger brother, Lincoln Moorehead has spent the majority of his life avoiding his family. After the death of his father, Lincoln finds himself in the middle of the drama. To top it all off, he’s been named CEO of Moorehead Media, much to his brother’s chagrin. But Lincoln’s bad attitude softens when he meets the no-nonsense, gorgeous woman who has been given the task of transforming him from the gruff, wilderness guy to a suave businessman

SHE’S TRYING TO HOLD IT TOGETHER.

Wren Sterling has been working double time to keep the indiscretions at Moorehead Media at bay, so when she’s presented with a new contract, with new responsibilities and additional incentives, she agrees. Working with the reclusive oldest son of a ridiculously entitled family is worth the hassle if it means she’s that much closer to pursuing her own dreams. What Wren doesn’t expect is to find herself attracted to him, or for it to be mutual. And she certainly doesn’t expect to fall for Lincoln. But when a shocking new Moorehead scandal comes to light, she’s forced to choose between her own family and the broody, cynical CEO.

“Lincoln and Wren had me flipping through the pages frantically, begging for more. Their chemistry was explosive, their love story both hilarious and tender.”- L.J. Shen, USA Today bestselling author

Handle With Care, an all-new romantic comedy from New York Times bestselling author Helena Hunting is available now!

HWC - Teaser 1 AN

Buy NOW!!

Amazon | AppleBooksNookKoboGoogle PlayAmazon Paperback

 

About Helena Hunting

New York Times and USA Today bestselling author of PUCKED, Helena Hunting lives on the outskirts of Toronto with her incredibly tolerant family and two moderately intolerant cats. She’s writes contemporary romance ranging from new adult angst to romantic sports comedy.

Excerpt: Handle With Care by Helena Hunting

Excerpt: Handle With Care by Helena HuntingHandle With Care by Helena Hunting
Published by St. Martin's Paperbacks on 27th August 2019
Genres: Contemporary Romance, Romantic Comedy
Pages: 300
Buy on Amazon USBuy on Amazon UKBuy on KoboBuy on itunesBuy on B&N
Goodreads

The next book set in Helena Hunting's hilarious and sexy world of Shacking Up!
For the last few years, Lincoln Moorehead has been working for non-profit organizations around the world. When his father suddenly passes away, as the eldest son, Lincoln reluctantly returns home to New York City to inherit the family business--much to the chagrin of his younger brother, Armstrong. What he doesn’t expect is that he’s been assigned a handler, a woman who he finds extremely sexy but frustratingly annoying.
Wren Sterling has a goal: to start her own children’s charity in honor of her sibling that died when they were young. But she lacks two important things: the money and the connections. So when Frederick and Gwendolyn Moorehead hired her as a “handler” to deal with their youngest son’s various indiscretions, she accepted, no questions asked. With Frederick’s sudden death and Lincoln’s return, Gwendolyn makes her a new offer: “handle” both of her sons short term, and she would double her pay and introduce her to all the right connections to help get her charity started.
Lincoln and Wren butt heads in the beginning, but soon their relationship progresses from professional to physical and becomes one of attraction and mutual appreciation. As Wren helps Lincoln adjust to being back in the corporate world, they discover that Frederick had a lot of skeletons in his closet, ones that his mother never expected would be revealed. But Gwendolyn has damning information in her possession—information that would wreck Wren’s family if she can’t stop Lincoln from digging further into his father’s secrets.

Handle With Care, an all-new romantic comedy from New York Times bestselling author Helena Hunting is coming August 27th, and we have a sneak peek!

Chapter One

What Have I Gotten Myself into?

Wren

I slip onto the empty bar stool beside the lumberjack mountain man who looks like he tried to squeeze himself into a suit two sizes too small. He’s intimidatingly broad and thick, with long dark hair that’s been pulled up into a haphazard man bun thing. His beard is a hipster’s wet dream. His scowl, however, makes him about as approachable as a rabid porcupine. And yet, here I am, sidling up next to him.

He glances at me, eyes bleary and not really tracking. He quickly focuses on his half-empty glass again. Based on the slump of his shoulders and the uncoordinated way he picks up his glass and tips it toward his mouth, I’m guessing he’s pretty hammered. I order a sparkling water with a dash of cranberry juice and a lime.

What I could really use is a cup of lavender-mint tea and my bed, but instead, I’m sitting next to a drunk man in his thirties. My life is extra glamorous, obviously. And no, I’m not an escort, but at the moment I feel like my morals are on the same kind of slippery slope.

“Rough day?” I ask, nodding to the bottle that’s missing more than half its contents. It was full when he sat down at the bar an hour ago. Yes, I’ve been watching him the entire time, waiting for an opportunity to make my move. While he’s been sitting here, he’s turned down two women, one in a dress that could’ve doubled as a disco ball and the other in a top so low-cut, I could almost see her navel.

“You could say that,” he slurs. He props his cheek on his fist, eyes almost slits. I can still make out the vibrant blue hue despite them being nearly closed. They move over me, assessing. I’m wearing a conservative black dress with a high neckline and a hem that falls below my knees. Definitely not nearly as provocative as Disco Ball or Navel Lady.

“That solving your problems?” I give him a wry grin and tip my chin in the direction of his bottle of Johnnie.

His gaze swings slowly to the bottle. It gives me a chance to really look at him. Or what I can see of his face under his beard, anyway.

“Nah, but it helps quiet down all the noise up here.” He taps his temple and blurts, “My dad died.”

I put a hand on his forearm. It feels awkward, and creepy on my part since its half-genuine, half-contrived comfort. “I’m so sorry.”

He glances at my hand, which I quickly remove, and refocuses on his drink. “I should be sorry too, but I think he was mostly an asshole, so the world might be better off without him.” He attempts to fill his glass again, but his aim is off, and he pours it on the bar instead. I rush to lift my purse and grab a handful of napkins to mop up the mess.

“I’m drunk,” he mumbles.

“Well, I’m thinking that might’ve been the plan, considering the way you’re sucking that bottle back. I’m actually surprised you didn’t ask for a straw in the first place. Might be a good idea to throw a spacer [CD3] in there if you want tomorrow morning to suck less.” I push my drink toward him, hoping he doesn’t send me packing like he did the other women who approached him earlier.

He narrows his eyes at my glass, suspicious, maybe. “What is that?”

“Cranberry and soda.”

“No booze?”

“No booze. Go ahead. You’ll thank me in the morning.”

He picks up the glass and pauses when it’s an inch from his mouth. His eyes crinkle, telling me he’s smiling under that beard. “Does that mean Imma wake up with you beside me?”

I cock a brow. “Are you propositioning me?”

“Shit, sorry.” He chugs the contents of my glass. “I was joking. Besides, I’m so wasted, I can barely remember my name. Pretty sure I’d be useless in bed tonight. I should stop talkin’.” He scrubs a hand over his face and then motions to me. “I wouldn’t proposition you.”

I’m not sure how to respond. I go with semi-affronted, since it seems like somewhat of an insult. “Good to know.”

“Dammit. I mean, I think you might be hot. You look hot. I mean attractive. I think you’re pretty.” He tips his head to the side and blinks a few times. “You have nice eyes, all four of them are lovely.”

This time I laugh—for real—and point to the bottle. “I think you might want to tell your date you’re done for the night.”

He blows out a breath and nods. “You might be right.” He makes an attempt to stand, but as soon as his feet hit the floor, he stumbles into me and grabs my shoulders to steady himself. “Whoa. Sorry. Yup, I’m definitely drunk.” His face is inches from mine, breath smelling strongly of alcohol. Beyond that, I get a whiff of fresh soap and a hint of aftershave. He lets go of my shoulders and takes an unsteady step back. “I don’t usually do this.” He motions sloppily to the bottle. “Mostly I’m a three drink max guy.”

“I think losing your father makes this condonable.” I slide off my stool. Despite being tall for a woman, and wearing heels, he still manages to be close to a head taller than me.

“Yeah, maybe, but I still think I might regret it tomorrow.” He’s incredibly unsteady, swaying while standing in place. I take the opportunity for what it is and thread my arm through his, leading him away from the bar. “Come on, let’s get you to the elevator before you pass out right here.”

He nods, then wobbles a bit, like moving his head has set him off balance. “That’s probably a good idea.”

He leans into me as we weave through the bar and stumbles on the two stairs leading to the foyer. There’s no way I’ll be able to stop him if he goes down, but I drape one of his huge arms over my shoulder anyway, and slip my own around his waist, guiding him in a mostly straight line to the elevators.

“Which floor are you on?” I ask.

“Penthouse.” He drops his arm from my shoulder and flings it out, pointing to the black doors at the end of the hall. “Jesus, I feel like I’m on a boat.”

“It’s probably all the alcohol sloshing around in your brain.” I take his elbow again, helping him stagger the last twenty feet to the dedicated penthouse elevator.

He stares at the keypad for a few seconds, brow pulling into a furrow. “I can’t remember the code. It’s thumbprint activated though too.” He stumbles forward and presses his forehead against the wall, then tries to line up his thumb with the sensor, but his aim is horrendous and he keeps missing.

I settle a hand on his very firm forearm. This man is built like a tank. Or a superhero. For a moment, I reconsider what I’m about to do, but he seems pretty harmless and ridiculously hammered, so he shouldn’t pose a threat. I’m also trained in self-defense, which would fall under the by any means necessary umbrella. “Can I help?”

Read the rest of Chapter One: http://bit.ly/2ZBt0RL

Pre-order your copy today!

Amazon US | Amazon UKAppleBooksNookKobo | Google Play 

Amazon Paperback

About Helena Hunting

New York Times and USA Today bestselling author of PUCKED, Helena Hunting lives on the outskirts of Toronto with her incredibly tolerant family and two moderately intolerant cats. She’s writes contemporary romance ranging from new adult angst to romantic sports comedy.

Release Day Blitz: Coldhearted Boss by R.S. Grey

Release Day Blitz: Coldhearted Boss by R.S. GreyColdhearted Boss by R.S. Grey
Published by Amazon Digital Services on 6th June 2019
Genres: Contemporary Romance, Romantic Comedy
Pages: 331
Buy on Amazon USBuy on Amazon UK
Goodreads

I’m desperate and destitute when Lockwood Construction rolls into my small town with an offer too good to pass up: high wages to any able-bodied man willing to join their crew.
Say no more. I throw on baggy clothes, tuck my long hair under a baseball hat, and apply for a job. Unfortunately, my half-baked idea of disguising myself as a guy is flawed from the beginning. As Shakira says, these hips don’t lie.
Still, I like to think I might have pulled the whole thing off save for one thing:
I know my boss.
Last month, we met at a bar, and after a fiery first encounter, it seems we’re destined to be sworn enemies.
Ethan Stone is ruthless and arrogant, a man I never would have crossed had I known how much he likes to toy with his prey.
He should just fire me and be done with it. Instead, he decides to make me his personal slave. Oh right, I think they’re calling it personal “assistant” these days.
It’s torture, all of it—his bad attitude, his ruggedly chiseled face, his desire to grind me into dust.
Every one of our friction-filled battles burns hotter than the last.
A girl can only hold out for so long. Soon, I’m bound to go up in flames.
My objective? Survive the heat long enough to send home a paycheck.
My real objective? Stop having X-rated fantasies about my coldhearted boss.

Nothing burns like the cold.

The New enemies to lovers romantic Comedy by R.S Grey is Out now!

Grab your copy of COLDHEARTED BOSS today, FREE On Kindle Unlimited

AMAZON 

Add COLDHEARTED BOSS to your Bookshelf:

About R.S. Grey

R.S. Grey is the USA Today bestselling author of thirteen novels, including THE FOXE & THE HOUND. She lives in Texas with her husband and two dogs, and can be found reading, binge-watching reality TV, or practicing yoga!

ARC Review: Marriage For One by Ella Maise

ARC Review: Marriage For One by Ella Maise

I received this book for free in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

ARC Review: Marriage For One by Ella MaiseMarriage For One by Ella Maise
on 9th May 2019
Genres: Contemporary Romance, Romantic Comedy
Pages: 499
Format: eARC
Source: the publisher
Buy on Amazon USBuy on Amazon UK
Goodreadsfour-stars

Jack and I, we did everything backward. The day he lured me into his office-which was also the first day we met-he proposed. You'd think a guy who looked like him-a bit cold maybe, but still striking and very unattainable-would only ask the love of his life to marry him, right? You'd think he must be madly in love.

Nope. It was me he asked. A complete stranger who had never even heard of him. A stranger who had been dumped by her fiancé only weeks before. You'd think I'd laugh in his face, call him insane-and a few other names-then walk away as quickly as possible. Well…I did all those things except the walking away part.

It took him only minutes to talk me into a business deal…erm, I mean marriage, and only days for us to officially tie the knot. Happiest day of my life. Magical. Pop the champagne… Not. It was the worst day. Jack Hawthorne was nothing like what I'd imagined for myself.
I blamed him for my lapse in judgment. I blamed his eyes, the ocean blue eyes that looked straight into mine unapologetically, and that frown on his face I had no idea I would become so fascinated with in time.

It wasn't long after he said I was the biggest mistake of his life that things started to change. No, he still didn't talk much, but anyone can string a few words together. His actions spoke the loudest to me. And day after day my heart started to get a mind of its own.

One second he was no one. The next he became everything.
One second he was unattainable. The next he seemed to be completely mine.
One second I thought we were in love. The next it was still nothing but a lie.

After all, I was Rose and he was Jack. We were doomed from the very beginning with those names. Did you expect anything else?

Marriage for One is about the Rose Coleson sorry Rose Hawthorne and Jack Hawthorne. I had been waiting for this since I knew it was in the works last year so I was pretty excited to get my hands on it.

As anyone can guess from the blurb its a marriage of connivence story (which I adore by the way), mixed in with a slight animosity that Rose thinks they have. This a slow burn (and I do mean slow burn) romance of two individuals who are complete opposites in all but the fact that they both very alone in the world.

Rose wants nothing more than to have her own Coffee Shop, and it seemed she would get her dream before everything comes stumbling down on her, her fiancé dumbs her, she finds out the clause in her uncle’s will which means saying goodbye to her dreams and apparently her savings as well. So when a stranger asks her to marry which would win-win for both of them, she’d get her dream coffee shop and he’d get to present the image of a family man and as crazy as it seems to her, she says yes.

Jack is a lawyer, the youngest partner in his firm. He seems like a very serious, pretty closed off, not interested in anything  other than work guy at first, but you start to see it from early on that he’s hiding something and of course he really can’t seem to stay away from his fake wife no matter how many times he tells himself too.

Quibbles: View Spoiler »

Rose and Jack are both very lovely characters, but they couldn’t be more different from each other. Rose is very bubbly, friendly and Jack is standoffish and more glower kinda guy. We get to see their relationship develop, from strangers, to awkward fake wife/husband to friends and then more. They also had great chemistry, they also go through some serious stuff together which cements their bond further to each other. I did really like seeing their domestic life bits, along with Jack’s inability to stop being completely absorbed with his wife. I loved the smile counter Rose had for Jack. They were adorable together, they had such sweet moments that make you smile and of course Jack can be very swoon worthy (without even realising it). He really is so gone for her, it’s amazing to see (or read as the case is) everybody can tell how much he really loves her and how much he had changed over the course of the book. Rose for her part, has no idea why she’s attracted to the man who doesn’t even smile but everything he does or anytime he’s there for her makes her fall harder for him.

“You have me, Rose. You’ve had me the entire time” ~Jack Hawthorne 

I have been a fan of Ella Maise’s writing since I read To Hate Adam Connor and this is one is no different! It really is a love story about two characters who had no home, were alone even with family and who found each other and were made complete with each other.

Overall despite my issues with the length and the pacing, I really enjoyed this. Anyone who’s a fan of slow burn romance and likes marriage of connivence story should give it a try!

About Ella Maise

I’m a big dreamer. And that’s how it all started for me, really. Reading and dreaming. I love nothing more than to escape real life to find those very few magical moments in a book. I love how it has the power of stealing your worries away, putting a smile on your face even when smiling is the last thing on your mind. Crushing on fictional characters is also another bonus. Through my words, if I can manage to make even one-person smile, it means I’ve done my job well.

Writing became my world and I can’t imagine myself doing anything other than creating new characters and telling their stories. You know how some things simply makes your heart burst with happiness? A really good book, a puppy, hugging someone you’ve been missing like crazy? That’s what writing does to me. And all the hard work, all the sleepless nights, all the anxiety that comes with publishing…everything is worth it at the end.

Cover Reveal: Make Me Bad by R.S. Grey

R.S. Grey’s next romantic comedy, MAKE ME BAD, releases March 7th! Check out the cover and find out more about MAKE ME BAD below!

Blurb

I was issued a warning: stay away from Ben Rosenberg.

As Clifton Cove’s resident “king”, he thinks he’s entitled to anyone and anything.

The trouble is, I’ve spent my whole life following the rules and playing it safe. I know what it feels like to be the good girl. I’m the police chief’s daughter and a librarian—for adorable children, no less. My wardrobe consists of colorful sundresses and baggy jeans. I might as well have a Post-it stuck to my forehead that reads: Yup, she’s a virgin.

An all-nighter with a fictional hunk is about as exciting as my life gets, until one day, fate decides to take pity on me and shove me straight into the path of Mr. Off-Limits himself.

Oof.

Just as I suspected, every inch of him promises to be my demise. Up close, he’s tall, menacing, dangerously handsome—the type of man who’s never spent a single moment worrying about the opinions of others. A well-behaved girl would do as she’s told and avoid him at all costs, but I’m overdue for a little rebellion.

No more Friday nights sprawled out on the couch in my comfiest pajamas. No more wishing I had the courage to misbehave.

Everyone thinks Ben is going to ruin me.

They think he’ll chew me up and spit me out.

Well, Ben…go ahead.

Tempt me. Taunt me.

Make me bad.

MAKE ME BAD releases March 7th – you’ll be able to preorder your copy for .99c starting March 3rd!

Keep an eye on R.S. Grey’s Facebook page for the link!

About R.S. Grey

R.S. Grey is the USA Today bestselling author of thirteen novels, including THE FOXE & THE HOUND. She lives in Texas with her husband and two dogs, and can be found reading, binge-watching reality TV, or practicing yoga!

Blog Tour and Giveaway: Motion by Penny Reid

Blog Tour and Giveaway: Motion by Penny Reid

I received this book for free in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Blog Tour and Giveaway: Motion by Penny ReidMotion (Laws of Physics, #1; Hypothesis, #2.1) by Penny Reid
Published by EverAfter Romance on 12th February 2019
Genres: Contemporary Romance, New Adult, Romantic Comedy
Pages: 200
Format: eARC
Source: Author
Buy on Amazon USBuy on Amazon UKBuy on KoboBuy on itunes
Goodreadsfour-stars

Forced to lie to protect her sister . . .

One week.

Home alone.

Girl genius.

Unrepentant slacker.

What’s the worst that could happen?

Mona is a smart girl and had everything figured out a long time ago. She had to. She didn’t have a choice. When your parents are uber-celebrities and you graduate from high school at thirteen, finish college at seventeen, and start your PhD program at eighteen, you don’t have time for distractions outside of your foci. Even fun is scheduled.

Which is why Abram, her brother’s best friend, is such an irritant.

Abram is a talented guy, a supremely gifted musician, and has absolutely nothing figured out, nor does he seem to care. He does what he feels, when he feels, and—in Mona’s opinion—he makes her feel entirely too much.

I’ve been waiting for this book since reading elements of chemistry. Admittedly I didn’t know it was going to be a twin swap story, I tend to shy away from those so I was very hesitant to start but since its Penny Reid (I adore her and her writing), I had to give it a shot. It has the signature Penny Reid humour and along with that deals with some social issues.

Avoiding giving away spoilers like crazy:

Motion, the first book in the Laws of Physics mini series is about Mona DaVinci and Abram. Her brother’s friend and her current watch dog. To get her sister out of trouble, Mona takes her sister’s place and since he hasn’t met Mona (and her twin sister Lisa only once) it should be all okay ??

Mona is a science prodigy, extremely smart, awkward and quirky. She and her twin sister are identical in looks but not anywhere else. She’s also the opposite of our hero, Abram. Who is talented musician and a very smart guy. I adored Abram and Mona. They are both attracted to each other and with her pretending to be her sister and Abram having his perceptions coloured due to her sisters behaviour gives it a little more push/pull element to the story. Their unwanted attraction and genuinely liking each other adds more complications to their lives (and to the story). They have some preettyyy funny scenes together and some filled with sweetness. Mona struggles with being herself and pretending to be her sister. I can’t wait to see where they go!! These kinds of stories, you’re just screaming:

but you also want to protect Abram from the inevitable hurt he’d get when he finds out the truth.

ALSO CLIFFHANGERS!! HOW I HATE THEE!! but we forewarned is forewarned so it was not as in your face/heart but still, its making me very anxious and curious to find what happens next. Can’t wait for the next book!!!

LIVE01.jpg

MOTIONBT.jpg

a Rafflecopter giveaway

My stomach rumbled, long and loud, and I pressed my hand against it. Grunting into the darkness, I tossed off the covers and stood from Lisa’s bed. Food on my mind, I slipped out of the room and down the stairs. The kitchen was dark, but instead of flipping on a light—which might’ve alerted Abram as to my whereabouts . . . which he probably didn’t care about so long as “Lisa wasn’t doing anything crazy”—I crept on quiet feet to the fridge and opened it.

Momentarily dazzled by the bright light within, it took several seconds of squinting and blinking before the scant contents became visible. I frowned. In addition to the pizza box, two suspicious-looking containers of Chinese takeout, and various condiments, I found: shredded cheddar/jack cheese blend, a zucchini, a half a pint of mushrooms, and hot salsa. Opening the hot salsa, I smelled it, and then I dipped my pinkie inside and tasted it while examining the lid. It looked, smelled, and tasted fine.

Placing my finds on the island counter, I shut the fridge. The sudden extinguishing of the bright light meant that the kitchen was now pitch black. Shrugging off my lack of sight, I extended my arms and blindly felt my way over to the pantry until my hands connected with the torso of a person.

A person.

A PERSON!

I jumped back on instinct, my leg hitting one of the stools at the island counter and sending it crashing to the ground. My heart in my throat, I screamed, turned, and darted forward, but my feet tangled with the felled stool and I pitched, bracing myself for a gravitational collision with unseen wooden bars and a granite stool top.

But then strong arms caught me, deftly spinning and lifting me into the air. Cold dread rushed through my body, tensing every muscle. I couldn’t think. I didn’t think. Instinctively, my legs and fists pumped, fighting against my captor. Rocks in my throat as I readied another scream, a hand covered my mouth just as I belted it out.

“Whoa! Calm down. It’s me.” Abram’s voice at my ear soothed, his bulky arm a tight band around my torso, my back to his front, my feet not touching the ground. “Calm down. Shhh. Calm down.”

Hot breath teased my hair and neck, and I stilled, relief at discovering it was Abram didn’t quite chase away the viral panic still attached to my hemoglobin, coursing through my veins. I shook. I was shaking. And I was gasping through my nose, greedy for air.

Perhaps he heard or felt my strained breathing because his arm loosened, lowering my feet to the ground, and his hand covering my mouth slid away. “Are you okay? Are you hurt?”

“I’m fine,” I said, not sounding convincing. Truth was, I felt like throwing up. “Can you, uh, let me go?”

His arms immediately fell away and I stupidly rushed forward, once more crashing into the stool.

I heard Abram mutter a curse under his breath just as he caught me again, lifting me off the ground again, and saving me—again—from another gravitational collision. This time he turned us away from the stool and carried me across the room.

I didn’t fight him this time. In fact, I relaxed into him. Wired and exhausted, but mostly embarrassed, I allowed myself to be transported without protest. We left the kitchen and I was finally able to see dim outlines of furniture and walls, courtesy of the streetlamp illumination spilling through the windows of the living room.

Abram carried me to my mother’s favorite piece of furniture in our house, a gold velvet chaise lounge said to have once belonged to Napoleon’s sister, Pauline Bonaparte. Depositing me on the soft surface, Abram crossed to one of the Tiffany lamps and pulled the chain, bathing the room in soft blue and yellow, colored light filtering through the stained glass.

He then returned, knelt in front of me, one hand on my leg, the other cupping my cheek. “Are you okay?”

“Yes,” I said, cleared my throat, unable to lift my eyes higher than his black T-shirt, and said again, “Yes.”

He blew out a breath, pushing his fingers through my hair. By doing so, he forced my chin up and caught my gaze. That wrinkle of worry appeared between his eyebrows, and his very pretty eyes—which glowed and sparkled like polished amber cabochons—moved between mine.

“You really freaked out.”

I stiffened, gritting my teeth and yanking my head back, out of his reach. “I didn’t know you were there.”

Watching me with watchful watchfulness, he let his hand drop slowly until it rested on my left leg, next to his other hand which covered my right knee. “I said your name—twice—when I walked in.”

“I didn’t hear you.” I glanced from his eyes to where his palms were hot on my skin. “And I couldn’t see. I’d just shut the fridge, my eyes hadn’t adjusted.”

“Did you think I was a robber?” His left eyebrow lifted as did the side of his mouth, just a hint.

Clearly, he was trying to lighten the mood. Unfortunately, I still felt shaky. And embarrassed.

“I- I didn’t think,” I admitted, releasing an unsteady breath. “I wasn’t thinking. Sorry I fell.”

“No need to apologize. It wasn’t like you could help it.”

“Yeah. Gravity can be such a downer.”

He made a light, laughing sound. “What?”

“Uh, nothing. Whatever.” No physics jokes!

His frown returned, his fingers flexing slightly on my legs. “Are you sure you’re okay?”

Reaching for his hands, I removed them from my knees, setting them away. “I’m really fine. I just don’t like—”

He glanced at my knees. “Being touched?”

“When it’s unexpected.” I crossed my arms.

“That makes sense. But your reaction, even after you knew it was me—” He paused and sat back on his heels, as though debating how to continue and finally settling on, “It was a big reaction.” Abram continued to study me with his big, pretty, knowing brown eyes. “Hey, I would never hurt you.”

I winced, just a little, my gaze falling to my knees where his hands had been. I wanted to huff a laugh and roll my eyes, maybe say something like, I know, don’t be ridiculous.

But the word “Okay,” small and fragile sounding, slipped out instead. I immediately wished it back, because I didn’t understand it. I didn’t know why I’d said it, and I hated not knowing.

Get ahold of yourself, Mona. Pull it together. You are fine. Nothing happened.

Meanwhile, he continued his examination of me, I felt his stare, assessing my downturned face. “Out of curiosity, and no big deal if you don’t want to say, but did something happen to you this last year?”

My back straightened and I sucked in a slow, deep breath before asking calmly, “Like what?”

“You’re very . . . different than you were before.”

“Because I don’t want you touching me?” I tried to infuse my words with challenge, strength—wanting to shake off any earlier impression of weakness—and mostly succeeded. Peeking at him, I gauged his reaction from behind a hastily built wall of dispassion.

But then Abram dropped his chin to his chest, a massive grin lighting his features, and the fragrance of him hit me. My lashes fluttered as though he’d blown dust in my eyes, penetrating my wobbly wall of dispassion and sending it crumbling to the ground.

God, he smelled so good, and—unlike visual stimuli—I couldn’t stop whatever cascade of relaxing, soothing, melting awareness smelling his scent set off. Unthinkingly, I leaned forward an inch, chasing and inhaling the smell of him while he cleared his throat, like he was trying not to laugh.

Why he was fighting a laugh, I didn’t know, but the apparent genuineness of Abram’s struggle to subdue his grin only served to increase his attractiveness.

A moment later, he lifted his eyes and they connected with mine. He’d conceded to a shy smile. It was quite a smile.

“Yes,” he said.

“Yes?” I parroted dumbly. What were we talking about? And would it be weird if I buried my nose in his neck?

“Yes. You not wanting me to touch you means that you are very different now than you were before,” he explained.

I appreciated the completeness and thoroughness of his sentence.

My cheeks were hot. I pressed my hands against them while I examined him with suspicion. What was he doing to me?

“How so?” I asked, hoping to keep him talking so I could hunt down the splintered pieces of my concentration.

His eyebrows pulled together as his shy smile became a smirk. “You’re telling me you don’t remember?”

“Tell me your version of events,” I demanded, side-stepping a lie and still holding my cheeks.

“Uhh . . .” He scratched the back of his neck, peering at me like I both confused and amused him.

I was used to confusing people, but not amusing them. My cheeks burned hotter.

“Do you even remember?” I pushed, knowing my tone was belligerent.

He made a sound like he was choking on a laugh. “Yes. It’s hard to forget waking up to a naked girl in my bed.”

Jaw dropping, my eyes grew to their maximum diameter.

Naked. Girl. In . . . bed?

“Are you serious?” I whispered, my mind darting in all directions, attempting to form a reasonable hypothesis for Lisa’s behavior and coming up completely empty. Suddenly, I couldn’t catch my breath.

He shook his head, giving me an astonished once-over. “You honestly don’t remember?”

My mouth opened and closed as I struggled to speak, but it was no use. I was too . . . I was too many things. Shocked. Confused. Incredulous. ANGRY.

LISA!

What had she been thinking? She’d been eighteen! How would she have liked waking up to find a strange, naked, eighteen-year-old boy in her bed?

I was beyond shocked. I was horrified. I was electrocuted by the reality of my sister’s brazen-slash-creepy quotient, because I couldn’t imagine doing anything in the same sphere of possibility. I was beginning to believe that if my twin and I were represented by a Venn diagram, our only areas of overlap would be physical. A minor sliver of shared corporal characteristics, and that was absolutely it.

“Lisa?”

Blinking at Abram, and promptly becoming tangled in his searching gaze, I realized he was still there. And I was still here. And my hands were still pressed against my cheeks as I warred with what I now identified as hot mortification.

What else could I do? I shot to my feet and marched out of the living room, dropping my hands and running up the main staircase.

About Penny Reid

SEX! It all started with sex, between my parents. Personally I don’t like thinking about it, but whatever works for you is a-ok with me. No judgment. The sex happened in California and much of my life also occurred in that state until I moved from the land of nuts (almonds), wine, silicon… boobs, and heavy traffic to the southeast US. Like most writers I like to write, but let’s get back to sex. Eventually I married and gave birth to 2 small people-children (boy-6, girl-4 as of this writing).

By day I’m a biomedical researcher with focus on rare diseases. By night I’m a knitter, sewer, lino block carver, fabric printer, soap maker, and general crafter. By the wee hours of the morning or when I’m intoxicated I love to listen to the voices in my head and let them tell me stories. I hope you enjoy their stories.

Review and Excerpt: Once Upon A Real Good Time by Lauren Blakely

I received this book for free in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Review and Excerpt: Once Upon A Real Good Time by Lauren BlakelyOnce Upon A Real Good Time by Lauren Blakely
on 10th September 2018
Genres: Contemporary Romance, Romantic Comedy
Pages: 218
Format: eARC
Source: the Author
Buy on Amazon USBuy on Amazon UKBuy on KoboBuy on itunesBuy on B&N
Goodreadsfour-stars

From #1 New York Times bestseller Lauren Blakely comes a sexy new standalone rom-com! That smoking hot one-night stand with a former rock star? Turns out he's my son's new music teacher. Oops. But I didn't know that the night I met Campbell. All I knew was he played my body the same way he played a guitar — like he owned it.
My libido is still high-fiving me after being self-served for too many years, and we’re both ready for another night or two of fun, especially since we don’t just have chemistry in bed — we connect over everything.
That is, until I learn he’s the man who’ll be coming to my house twice a week to teach my son — the best music lessons money can buy.
Time to turn down the volume on our shenanigans. Only that’s easier said than done.
***
I can rock a guitar solo in front of thousands, I can write chart-topping tunes, and I can absolutely stop thinking about my student’s mother naked.
After all, I’m a single parent too, and I know what it’s like to put your kid first. That’s what I do every damn day.
Trouble is, now that I’ve had Mackenzie, it’s hard — and I do mean hard — to stop wanting her. Harder too when I get to know her, and learn she’s an awesome mom, a great friend, and, oh yeah, she happens to get along perfectly with my daughter.
All we have to do is set some rules. No dating, no nookie when the kids are around, and no one gets hurt.
It’s all working out beautifully. Until we start breaking the rules, one by one.
Making music with her in the bedroom is easy. But will we be more than just a real good time when the music stops?

Mackenzie is a single mother who loves trivia at one of her non mom nights and does trivias at a local pub where she meets a musician ‘guitar hero’ as she thinks of him.

Campbell was a teen idol when he used to perform with his brothers as a trio called heartbreakers. Now he’s music teacher and does gigs with his band made up of his friends at The Grouchy Owl.

Mackenzie and Campbell hit it off from the moment they talk. They had such fun and cute banter. They are both single parents who adore their children. Mackenzie and Campbell were so cute and adorable together! I mean yes they had very passionate moments as well but the entire I thought about how cute they were!!

This is such a feel good romance, it has little angst but its minor but I adored them together. They just fit each other perfectly! They were sweethearts who deserved their HEA, after sacrificing so much for their kids.  Theres the sneaking around, tiny forbidden element and the longing for each other that a bit of angst and spice to their romance and makes the story more special.

I also really liked their kids and both their relationships with them, its nice to read for once about their kids that just nice and don’t have an attitude or any other problem.

Overall, a light hearted romance comedy with a adorable couple to makes you feel warm and fuzzy! I can’t wait to read Campbell’s brother, Miller and his best friends story!!

Mackenzie

I’m not checking him out.

I am solely focused on answering the next trivia question. The game emcee spouts it out for the four teams vying for the prize at The Grouchy Owl bar. The prize being bragging rights.

The hostess clears her throat, brings the mic to her mouth, and asks the question: “Which Las Vegas hotel did the bachelor party stay at—”

I’m perched forward in the chair whispering the answer to my teammate—Caesars, Caesars, Caesars—so we can write it on the answer slip before the hostess even finishes.

“—in the 2009 moving The Hangover?”

“So easy,” I say to Roxy as she smacks my palm and mouths ringer while filling in the answer.

I’m not a ringer.

I was simply fed a steady diet of Trivial Pursuit, trivia books, and endless facts about the world as a kid.

That’s all.

Also, I love trivia. Trivia helped me through some tough times as an adult, and by tough, I mean anxiety-ridden, sleepless, and stressful. That kind of tough.

As the hostess flips her cards to the next question, the guy on stage—the one I’m not at all checking out—adjusts the amp for his guitar. The Grouchy Owl has a little bit of everything—from darts, to pub quizzes, to pool, to live music from local bands. It’s like a Vegas hotel right here in the West Village. Big Ike doesn’t want patrons to leave, so she makes sure the entertainment options are plentiful.

And if that handsome hottie stays on the stage, I won’t want to head home for a long, long time. Except that I’ll have to. I’m Cinderella, and I turn into a pumpkin in minutes.

But for now…Hello, nice view.

As the guy turns the knob on the amp, his brown hair flops over his eyes. He flicks it off his forehead with a quick snap then runs his fingers down the strings on his guitar. Those fingers fly.

I bet they’d fly other places too.

 

 


The Heartbreakers is a series of standalone rom-coms and will be narrated by Sebastian York and Andi Arndt!
Grab your copy of ONCE UPON A REAL GOOD TIME today!
https://adbl.co/2nSLcp7


About Lauren Blakely

Since self-publishing her debut romance novel CAUGHT UP IN US three years ago, Lauren Blakely has sold more than 1 million books. She is known for her sexy contemporary romance style that’s full of heat, heart and humor. A devout fan of cake and canines, Lauren has plotted entire novels while walking her four-legged friends. She lives in California with her family. With ten New York Times bestsellers, her titles have appeared on the New York Times, USA Today, and Wall Street Journal Bestseller Lists more than fifty times. Her bestselling series include Sinful Nights, Seductive Nights, No Regrets, Caught Up in Love, and Fighting Fire as well as standalone romantic comedies like BIG ROCK and MISTER O, which were both instant New York Times Bestsellers. In the fall she’ll release WELL HUNG, another romantic comedy.

Review and Giveaway: Dr. Strange Beard by Penny Reid

Review and Giveaway: Dr. Strange Beard by Penny Reid

I received this book for free in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Review and Giveaway: Dr. Strange Beard by Penny ReidDr. Strange Beard by Penny Reid
Series: Winston Brothers #5
Published by Cipher-Naught on 30th July 2018
Genres: Contemporary Romance, Romantic Comedy
Pages: 350
Format: eARC
Source: Author
Buy on Amazon USBuy on Amazon UKBuy on KoboBuy on itunes
Goodreadsfour-half-stars

NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLERWall Street Journal BestsellerUSA Today Bestseller
Hunches, horse races, and heartbreak
Ten years after Simone Payton broke his heart, all Roscoe Winston wants is a doughnut. He’d also like to forget her entirely, but that’s never going to happen. Roscoe remembers everything—every look, every word, every single unrequited second—and the last thing he needs is another memory of Simone.
Unfortunately, after one chance encounter, Simone keeps popping up everywhere he happens to be . . .
Ten years after Roscoe Winston dropped out of her life, all Simone Payton wants is to exploit him. She’d also like some answers from her former best friend about why he ghosted her, but if she never gets those answers, that’s a-okay. Simone let go of the past a long time ago. Seriously, she has. She totally, totally has. She is definitely not still thinking about Roscoe. Nope. She’s more than happy to forget he exists.
But first, she needs just one teeny-tiny favor . . .
Dr. Strange Beard is a full-length romantic comedy novel, can be read as a stand-alone, and is the fifth book in the USA TODAY bestselling Winston Brothers series.

Roscoe Winston is the quieter youngest brother of the Winston brothers. The sweet and thoughtful Veterinarian. All the winston brothers are different from each other but what makes Roscoe different from the rest is his ability to retain memories and conversations. This has caused him a lot of grief over the years and contributed a lot to his personality.

Simone Payton is the opposite of Roscoe. She’s an undercover FBI. She’s more of the get going type, full of life. Doesn’t mean she isn’t vulnerable just that she’s also strong and independent. And she’s back in town!

This book falls under the unrequited love and friends to lovers trope. Simone and Roscoe were childhood best friend and she was his first love. Simone for her part had no idea why one day Roscoe just stopped talking to her.  That hurt a lot because while she might not have been in love with Roscoe but she had loved him and they had been inseparable for years before he stopped talking to her.

Roscoe and Simone are both a bit guarded when they meet again after 10 years. They both don’t want to want to be hurt. Roscoe would go out of his way to avoid her earlier but chance makes it possible for them to be at the same place and time

Simone and Roscoe were utterly adorable together!! They both start as being unsure of each other because of overnight Simone was abandoned by her best friend and how for Roscoe seeing Simone only makes him hurt and bring memories to the fore front he can’t ever forget. But slowly you start to see them build their friendship  and then more. You see how much they both mean to each other and of course theres that very sizzling chemistry and attraction towards each other they don’t know what to do about.

I loved Roscoe, he’s my 2nd favourite brother after Cletus, he’s just so soft and sweet. He’s one of those genuinely good and nice guys who just cares a lot. And while he’s memory gave him trouble, it also made him a very amazing character. His love for Simone was another thing that I adored, it was so pure. He knew she was the one and it just never changed for him.

He and Simone really reminded me of Barry and Iris from The Flash because of he too had loved Iris from their childhood and how utterly perfect they Barry and Iris and Roscoe and Simone were for each other. They are just so sweet and their book is just as lovely as them.

The book also touches on some of the deeper and controversial topics that the world is going through and people should be made more aware. It doesn’t take away from the book at all, just makes the book more real and I think Penny did a good job at it.

I do wish the that Roscoe had talk to his brothers about his eidetic memory because they just seemed unaware of how much it was a part of Roscoe and why he was the way he was.

They are both such great characters! I loved their love!!! The humour, the family both the paytons and the winstons were great! The sweet and lovely (and the very passionate) romance between Roscoe and Simone was beautifully written and I enjoyed it from start to finish.

Only Billy’s book is left and I’ll be really be sad to finish this series, the Winston brothers is such an amazing series. Billy’s book has been a long time coming, I wonder how Billy and Claire will get their HEA. I’m really excited to see what Penny does with them.

Final verdict: A fantastic addition to the Winston Brothers series!!

LIVE01.jpg

“Simone, this is not one of our adventures from when we were kids. This is not finding Blithe Tanner’s cat. These men are murderers, drug dealers, thieves.”

“I know.” Boy oh boy, did I know. I didn’t want to be here anymore than he did. I was frightened. Yet allowing Roscoe to be taken on his own hadn’t been an option. “I can handle myself, and I can provide backup for you, if you need it.”

Roscoe gripped my shoulders. “Nothing can happen to you, do you understand?” His words were emphatic, his gaze disoriented, desolate, frantic. “If anything happens to you, I’ll . . .” He swallowed, apparently unable to finish the sentence.

My heart twisted to see him like this. I wished there were some way to show him what I could do, what I was capable of, so he would stop seeing me as a liability.

Well, why can’t you?

“Huh.”

Now there was a thought.

Stepping out of his grip, I walked backward to the other side of the room and took a deep breath. “Okay. Come at me.”

He blinked. “What?”

“I want you to come at me.”

“Simone,” he seethed.

“Come at me, bro.” I did that little movement with my fingers, my palm turned upwards. “Come at me or I’ll start singing again.”

“I’m not doing this.”

“Fine.”Frustrating. “I’ll come at you.”

He stood there, features set, looking raw.

Moving quickly forward, staying light on my feet, I faked right and then went left, hooking him behind the back of his leg, catching his arm to twist behind his back, and sending him to the ground—face-first—with a thud.

I winced as he grunted, my knee at the base of his spine, his arm restrained behind his back. “Sorry! But you wouldn’t listen to me.” Leaning forward, I whispered in his ear, “Are you okay? Did I hurt you?”

Roscoe’s back and shoulders rose and fell with an expansive breath, like he was about to respond, but in the next moment he’d spun his legs to the right, leveraged my knee on his back to throw me off-balance, and slipped his wrist from my hold.

In my defense, my grip had been lax as I was purposefully trying not to injure him.

The next thing I knew, Roscoe had me pinned to the ground, air knocked out of me, him hovering above, and my gun digging into my ribs beneath my shirt. He’d been careful to subdue my legs, likely so he wouldn’t end up with a bruised ballsack.

His stare more probing than angry—which I took as a good sign—he said, “I didn’t teach you that. Where’d you learn that?”

Even though I was still coughing, I smiled and rasped, “Since college, take judo.”

He nodded faintly, his eyes moving between mine, looking concerned. “Are you okay? Did I hurt you?”

“No.” Endeavoring to catch my breath, I said, “I took it easy on you because I didn’t want to hurt you either, but I’m an asset, not a liability.”

“You’re definitely an asset.” Roscoe frowned, his gaze dropping to my mouth. “And a distraction,” he said, his voice rough.

“I’m a distraction?” I asked, my words still breathy.

I bucked, but he held me fast.

“Yes. . .” His stare turned inward. “You are most definitely a distraction.”

Even though I’d had plenty of time to recover and we’d been holding still for close to a minute, I was still breathing hard. This might have been because of my lingering irritation. Or, maybe it was because the length of Roscoe’s lean body was lying on mine. He held my hands on either side of my head, our faces even, his mouth just inches away.

Was it insane that I hoped he kissed me?

Yes?

No?

Let’s go with no.

He gave me his eyes again and I saw something there, a battle. He looked undecided, at war with himself, straining against something I couldn’t see.

“Roscoe?” I whispered.

Roscoe closed his eyes, and I thought he was going to let me go, but in the next second his lips descended, capturing my mouth in a tender kiss.

I moaned.

I kissed him back.

That’s what one does when Roscoe Winston kisses one. Moan and kiss. Repeat. Because not doing so would be a travesty.

His hold on my hands slacked, his fingers seeking and threading with mine. He settled his hips between my legs, his form relaxing. The weight of him was different now, warmer somehow. At least I felt warm. I also felt cherished as his tongue sought mine, again tenderly, stroking, causing my abdomen to twist and tighten into delicious knots.

He broke the kiss and a protest died on my lips as his mouth trailed down my jaw to the sensitive skin of my neck, sucking, licking, savoring me. What had felt warm and cherishing heated, and my hips tilted reflexively as he nibbled on my ear, cradling his rapidly growing erection.

We both gasped as his hips rocked in an answering yet inelegant movement. It felt perfect and essential in the moment.

“Oh God.” His hot breath spilled against my jaw, a ragged sigh. “What are we doing?”

“I don’t know, but don’t stop.”

BlogTour_Giveaway.jpg

a Rafflecopter giveaway

About Penny Reid

SEX! It all started with sex, between my parents. Personally I don’t like thinking about it, but whatever works for you is a-ok with me. No judgment. The sex happened in California and much of my life also occurred in that state until I moved from the land of nuts (almonds), wine, silicon… boobs, and heavy traffic to the southeast US. Like most writers I like to write, but let’s get back to sex. Eventually I married and gave birth to 2 small people-children (boy-6, girl-4 as of this writing).

By day I’m a biomedical researcher with focus on rare diseases. By night I’m a knitter, sewer, lino block carver, fabric printer, soap maker, and general crafter. By the wee hours of the morning or when I’m intoxicated I love to listen to the voices in my head and let them tell me stories. I hope you enjoy their stories.

Review: Not So Nice Guy by R.S. Grey

I received this book for free in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Review: Not So Nice Guy by R.S. GreyNot So Nice Guy by R.S. Grey
Published by Amazon Digital Services on 9th August 2018
Genres: Contemporary Romance, Romantic Comedy
Pages: 273
Format: eARC
Source: Author
Buy on Amazon USBuy on Amazon UK
Goodreadsfour-stars

“Oh my god. Who is that?”

I get asked this question a lot.

“Oh him?” I reply. “That’s just Ian.”

Just Ian is the biggest understatement of the century. Just the Mona Lisa. Just the Taj Mahal. Just Ian, with his boring ol’ washboard abs and dime-a-dozen dimpled smile.

Just Ian is…just my best friend.

We’re extremely close, stuck so deep inside a Jim-and-Pam-style friendzone everyone at work assumes we’re a couple—that is until one day, word spreads through the teacher’s lounge that he’s single. Fair game. Suddenly, it’s open season on Ian.

He should be reveling in all the newfound attention, but to our mutual surprise, the only attention he seems to want is mine.

He’s turning our formerly innocent nightly chats into X-rated phone calls. Our playful banter sports a new, dangerous edge.

I want to assume he’s playing a prank on me, just pushing my buttons like always—but when Ian lifts me onto the desk in my classroom and slides his hands up my skirt, he doesn’t leave a lot of room for confusion.

I’m a little scared of things going south, of losing my best friend because I can’t keep my hands to myself. So, I’m just going to back away and not return this earth-shattering kiss—oh who am I kidding?!

Goodbye Ian, ol’ buddy, ol’ pal!

Helloooo mister not so nice guy.

In R.S Grey’s hilarious and sweet Not So Nice Guy, two best friends finally give in to their mutual attraction and love.

Samantha Loring and Ian Fletcher are teachers at the Oak Hill High School, they became best friends when they met at the teachers orientation three years ago and have been inseparable since. Everyone in their school thinks that they together because of how in tune they are with each other and they are just in their own bubble when they are together. They literally spend all their time together from work to at home, where they have plans for each day like West Wing Wednesdays binge watching the show.

Their status quo changes when Samantha says they aren’t dating to their colleagues at work which makes Ian determined to make Samantha his before some guy decides to ask her out.

Ian thinks its finally time that they get together and starts teasing Samantha feeling that she might actually return his feelings but Samantha hates change doesn’t want to lose her best friend in case anything goes wrong but then Ian starts playing not so nice to win Samantha over.

I adorrred then together!!! They were sweet and clearly in love with each other. Just that the other couldn’t see it!! Both of them are attracted to each other and think the world of another. It was just clear from the beginning that they were meant to be together. I was smiling so much while reading it. Their romances is adorable, all their interactions are so cute and later passionate. I loved their banter, how well they knew each other and how much they truly loved each other.

Why not 5 stars: First of all, since everyone at the school at the start of the book thinks they are dating and it wasn’t really an issue then why did it really become one ? Apart from the email obviously, it just was ??? I was confused. Then I just didn’t really like the way the wedding happened, it felt rushed which it was but it felt too soon and very not in line with the Sam’s earlier behaviour. Not that she couldn’t be spontaneous and she was in love but the whole of the wedding made me feel like I was reading about a YA couple instead of an adult one. It was a sudden shift in tone that left me feeling a bit puzzled.

Overall, a wonderful and funny book about a adorable couple that you have to read if you’re a fan of rom coms. If you like  your romance angst free and light hearted with laugh out loud moments this one is for you. It was just a lot of fun to read. I think this might one of the cutest and funniest friends to lovers book I’ve read!!!

 

About R.S. Grey

R.S. Grey is the USA Today bestselling author of thirteen novels, including THE FOXE & THE HOUND. She lives in Texas with her husband and two dogs, and can be found reading, binge-watching reality TV, or practicing yoga!