Genre: Romantic Suspense

ARC Review: The Gypsy King by Devney Perry

I received this book for free in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

ARC Review: The Gypsy King by Devney PerryGypsy King by Devney Perry
Series: Tin Gypsy #1
Published by Devney Perry LLC on 29th October 2019
Genres: Contemporary Romance, Romantic Suspense
Pages: 404
Format: eARC
Source: the Author
Buy on Amazon USBuy on Amazon UK
Goodreadsthree-half-stars

The former Tin Gypsy motorcycle club has everyone in Clifton Forge, Montana convinced they’ve locked their clubhouse doors and ripped off their patches. Everyone but Bryce Ryan. There’s more happening at the club’s garage than muscle car restorations and Harley rebuilds. Her instincts are screaming there’s a story—one she’s going to tell.
As the new owner of the small town’s newspaper, Bryce is hungry for more than birth announcements and obituaries. When a woman is brutally killed and all signs point to the Tin Gypsies, Bryce is determined to expose the club and their leader, Kingston “Dash” Slater, as murderers.
Bryce bests Dash match after match, disappointed her rugged and handsome opponent turns out to be an underwhelming adversary. Secrets are exposed. Truths defeat lies. Bryce is poised to win this battle in a landslide.
Then Dash breaks all the rules and tips the scales.
One kiss, and she’s fighting to save more than just her story. She’s fighting to save her heart from the Gypsy King.

Rating: 3.5+ stars (Almost but not quite 4 stars)

Lets do this again, I already wrote a review for this but unfortunately I broke my laptop so I couldn’t use it (its still broken so :///) which is why the reviews are late, I was hoping it would be fixed and I wouldn’t have to rewrite them but 🙁 anyways, I’ll update this review with the original one later on.

Whats its about: It’s about Bryce Ryan, the reporter we’ve met in the outpost. She’s smart, beautiful and strong. She left her tv anchor person job to come work with her father at their local newspaper. Bryce has always wanted to be a reporter, she longs to do investigative journalism and her curiosity and instincts are questioning the Tin gypsy motorcycle club’s recent closing down. Which leads to Kingston “Dash” Slater, the former leader of the club and now just the owner of an auto shop. Dash has left behind the club and all its illegal dealing and he’s much happier for it. This all changes of course when a murder charge against his father is bought up and Bryce is there to make things more complicated for him. Now the only way to get answer might be to work together.

What I liked: Bryce, I really liked her, I wanted her to get her own story when I read the outpost so I was very excited to read this and she didn’t disappoint. Bryce along with her strong side, also really longs for a family and her wanting to change her life from the lonely woman, away from her family and not doing what she really desired took some guts. Dash, I liked him as well. He had decided to change the clubs ways and to go the more legal way. I liked the mystery aspect, its not as big or twisted as I generally read in my romantic suspense but it made the book more interesting. I liked the chemistry Bryce and Dash had, it was pretty great. I always enjoy a bit of reluctant feelings about by enemy stories.  I like the writing, the characters and the general plot line.

What I didn’t like: Overall if you look at the amount of time Bryce and Dash actually have spend together in the months following their first meeting, its only a couple of days…nearly not long enough for them to fall in love when all they did was focus on finding the culprit or having sex so the conclusion of the feelings felt rushed. I was hoping for more development in their relationship. I didn’t really understand why they didn’t go to the police in the later bit in the book, it kinda just felt like it was done for dramas sake but it didn’t make sense? Along with 1-2 more inconsistencies in the book, along with certain things not making sense and my feeling very confused after finishing it. I’m sure we will continue on in the next book but it just felt very baffling to not get a proper answer. The last few chapters just felt rushed and made the characters made some decisions that I felt they wouldn’t have in the earlier ones.

Overall, I liked the book, its just not my favourite from Devney Perry. I generally really like the characters and the storylines and feel satisfaction after finishing Devney Perry’s books which I suppose contributes to me rating this lower. I’m really looking forward to Isaiah and Genevieve’s book which releases next year.

 

Release Blitz: The Kingmaker by Kennedy Ryan

Release Blitz: The Kingmaker by Kennedy Ryan

Release Blitz: The Kingmaker by Kennedy RyanThe Kingmaker by Kennedy Ryan
Series: All The King's Men #1
Published by LLC on 28th October 2019
Genres: Contemporary Romance, Multicultural & Interracial, Romantic Suspense
Pages: 344
Buy on Amazon US
Goodreads

Ambition. Passion. Betrayal..
RITA® Award-winning author Kennedy Ryan delivers the epic first installment of the All the King's Men Duet..
Raised to rule, bred to lead and weaned on a diet of ruthless ambition.

In a world of haves and have nots, my family has it all, and I want nothing to do with it.

My path takes me far from home and paints me as the black sheep. At odds with my father, I'm determined to build my own empire. I have rules, but Lennix Hunter is the exception to every one of them. From the moment we meet, something sparks between us. But my family stole from hers and my father is the man she hates most. I lied to have her, and will do anything to keep her. Though she tries to hate me, too, the inexorable pull between us will not be denied.

And neither will I.

“A dazzling, thought-provoking, layered romance that will keep you on the edge of your seat. One of the best books of 2019.”

— L.J. Shen, USA Today bestselling author

The Kingmaker, the first in the all-new powerful and emotional All The King’s Men Duet, from RITA ® Award-winning author Kennedy Ryan, is available now!

 

Enter the $50 Gift Card Release Giveaway

http://bit.ly/TKMRelGiveaway

THE KINGMAKER LIVE JW

Download your copy today or read FREE in Kindle Unlimited!

Amazon |Amazon Worldwide |Amazon Paperback 

THE KINGMAKER AN SIERRA QUOTE

Pre-order the stunning conclusion, The Rebel King!

Releasing November 17th

Amazon |Amazon Worldwide |Amazon Paperback

Be notified FIRST when The Rebel King goes live: http://bit.ly/2oRuDhf

Get notified when The Kingmaker is available on Audio: http://bit.ly/kingmakeraudio

About Kennedy Ryan

A Top 30 Amazon Bestseller, Kennedy Ryan writes about women from all walks of life, empowering them and placing them firmly at the center of each story and in charge of their own destinies. Her heroes respect, cherish and lose their minds for the women who capture their hearts.

She is a wife to her lifetime lover and mother to an extraordinary son. She has always leveraged her journalism background to write for charity and non-profit organizations, but enjoys writing to raise Autism awareness most. A contributor for Modern Mom Magazine and Frolic, Kennedy’s writings have appeared in Chicken Soup for the Soul, USA Today and many others. The founder and executive director of a foundation serving Atlanta Autism families, she has appeared on Headline News, Montel Williams, NPR and other media outlets as an advocate for families living with autism.

Blog Tour: Bishop’s Queen by Katie Reus

Blog Tour: Bishop's Queen by Katie Reus

Blog Tour: Bishop’s Queen by Katie ReusBishop's Queen by Katie Reus
Genres: Contemporary Romance, Romantic Suspense
Format: eARC
Source: the publisher
Goodreadsfour-stars

Return to the Endgame trilogy where blood is thick, but passion is thicker…
He doesn’t believe in fairy-tale endings…
They used to call Evan Bishop the golden boy. He had it all and was about to close the business deal of a lifetime, then marry the woman of his dreams. But everything goes to hell when a faceless enemy wants to destroy his family’s empire and see him dead. Except the bomb meant to kill him fails. He wakes up from a coma to find his face scarred and his brother missing and wanted for murder. Now that he’s damaged, he hides away from the world—including the woman he loves. He refuses to be a burden to her, so even though it destroys him, he sets her free.
She’s about to prove him wrong…
Isla MacDonald isn’t walking away from Evan just because he’s decided to shut her out of his life. He blames himself for the bombing that got her father killed and nearly killed him—but he’s wrong. After all attempts to see him fail, with a broken heart she tries to resume her life and take over her father’s firm. Though it’s not her dream, she wants to honor his legacy. But when someone tries to kill her—twice—she needs a bodyguard. To her surprise Evan steps up and insists on protecting her, putting on a show as the caring fiancé. But he won’t let her back into his life or into his heart. To have any chance at a future together, they’ll have to resurrect the past and stay alive long enough to expose the man determined to see them both dead.
Author note: This book can be read as a stand-alone, complete with HEA.
Books in trilogy: Bishop’s Knight, #1 Bishop’s Queen, #2 Bishop’s Endgame, #3

Rating~ 3.75 stars

Bishop’s queen is about Evan and Isla, the two people who were in love before the tragedy happened in the book 1 of the series, leaving Evan with physical and mental scars and him pushing away from everyone, including breaking off his engagement with Isla. Now with Isla in danger, Evan can’t help but stay close to her.

I quite enjoyed the book, though I do wish I had read the first book in the series, it would have made my connection to Evan and Isla stronger and would have given me an insight of how they were before the event. Regardless of that, I liked Evan and Isla together, though they Evan had broken off their engagement, it was very much obvious of how much they both still loved each other and Isla couldn’t care less about his scars. I also enjoyed the romantic suspense element to the book, it was done well to keep me interested in who might be the culprit.

Quibbles:I do wish however that we had gotten a bit more of the romance between Evan and Isla, since the suspense part of the book takes it away from romance a bit, I guess if the book had been longer it wouldn’t be an issue.

Overall, I enjoyed Bishop’s Queen, it had been sometime since I read a romantic suspense by Katie Reus and it reminded me why I enjoy her writing and her characters, they are just very easy to connect to and get lost in. I’m looking forward to reading the book in the series!

He leaned down, not sure what the hell he was going to do to cut her off. Kiss her? God, what was he thinking? He started to pull back, then she grabbed him by the front of his shirt and yanked him down to her.

Her green eyes flashed in anger—and hunger—as her lips collided with his. What was she doing? What was he doing? He should pull away, but he couldn’t. Instead, he threaded his fingers through her thick auburn hair, cupping the back of her head as she plastered herself to him.

He loved the sweet taste of her, had missed her for far too long. Every morning he woke up, expecting to roll over and see her, but his bed was always empty. And cold. He’d ached for her in that hospital room, even as he was the one who’d kept her out. And he’d continued to ache for her once he’d been discharged. He simply couldn’t stop wanting her.

Needing her.

Without breaking the kiss, he reached behind himself and held his hand to the scanner. A second later, the door opened with a soft snick and then they were inside his place.

Though it wasn’t really his place, but a sparsely furnished rental with the basics and a killer view.

He wasn’t sure what they were doing, not really. He wanted to be friends with her, wanted her in his life, but he didn’t want to saddle her with him. And he really didn’t want her to have any regrets. “We should stop,” he rasped out, surprised he was able to talk at all as he pulled back, his breaths coming in hard and shallow.

She slid off his jacket and tossed it to the ground. “Should we?” Her tone was tart as she stared up at him almost defiantly.

Dammit. He couldn’t remember why they should stop as he looked into her bright eyes. He wanted her so much, had never stopped wanting her, loving her.

About Katie Reus

Katie Reus is the New York Times and USA Today bestselling author of the Red Stone Security series, the Darkness series and the Deadly Ops series. She fell in love with romance at a young age thanks to books she pilfered from her mom’s stash. Years later she loves reading romance almost as much as she loves writing it.

However, she didn’t always know she wanted to be a writer. After changing majors many times, she finally graduated summa cum laude with a degree in psychology. Not long after that she discovered a new love. Writing. She now spends her days writing dark paranormal romance and sexy romantic suspense.

Teaser: Bishop’s Queen by Katie Reus

Teaser: Bishop's Queen by Katie Reus

Teaser: Bishop’s Queen by Katie ReusBishop's Queen by Katie Reus
on 22nd October 2019
Genres: Contemporary Romance, Romantic Suspense
Buy on Amazon USBuy on Amazon UKBuy on KoboBuy on itunesBuy on B&N
Goodreads

Return to the Endgame trilogy where blood is thick, but passion is thicker…
He doesn’t believe in fairy-tale endings…
They used to call Evan Bishop the golden boy. He had it all and was about to close the business deal of a lifetime, then marry the woman of his dreams. But everything goes to hell when a faceless enemy wants to destroy his family’s empire and see him dead. Except the bomb meant to kill him fails. He wakes up from a coma to find his face scarred and his brother missing and wanted for murder. Now that he’s damaged, he hides away from the world—including the woman he loves. He refuses to be a burden to her, so even though it destroys him, he sets her free.
She’s about to prove him wrong…
Isla MacDonald isn’t walking away from Evan just because he’s decided to shut her out of his life. He blames himself for the bombing that got her father killed and nearly killed him—but he’s wrong. After all attempts to see him fail, with a broken heart she tries to resume her life and take over her father’s firm. Though it’s not her dream, she wants to honor his legacy. But when someone tries to kill her—twice—she needs a bodyguard. To her surprise Evan steps up and insists on protecting her, putting on a show as the caring fiancé. But he won’t let her back into his life or into his heart. To have any chance at a future together, they’ll have to resurrect the past and stay alive long enough to expose the man determined to see them both dead.
Author note: This book can be read as a stand-alone, complete with HEA.
Books in trilogy: Bishop’s Knight, #1 Bishop’s Queen, #2 Bishop’s Endgame, #3

Katie Reus is back with the next book in her bestselling Endgame Trilogy. BISHOP’S QUEEN will be out on October 22nd – check out the brand new teaser and pre-order your copy today!

 

Pre-order your copy of BISHOP’S QUEEN today!
Amazon | Apple | Nook | Kobo

About Katie Reus

Katie Reus is the New York Times and USA Today bestselling author of the Red Stone Security series, the Darkness series and the Deadly Ops series. She fell in love with romance at a young age thanks to books she pilfered from her mom’s stash. Years later she loves reading romance almost as much as she loves writing it.

However, she didn’t always know she wanted to be a writer. After changing majors many times, she finally graduated summa cum laude with a degree in psychology. Not long after that she discovered a new love. Writing. She now spends her days writing dark paranormal romance and sexy romantic suspense.

Review: The Regret Duet by Aly Martinez

Review: The Regret Duet by Aly MartinezWritten with Regret by Aly Martinez
Series: The Regret Duet #1
Published by Aly Martinez on 19th May 2019
Genres: Contemporary Romance, Romantic Suspense
Pages: 234
Buy on Amazon USBuy on Amazon UK
Goodreadsfive-stars

Every little girl dreams of the fairytale. The one where the white knight rushes in to save her from the clutches of evil. They fall in love, have babies, and live happily ever after.
By that definition, my life should have been a fairytale too.
When I was eight years old, Caven Hunt saved me from the worst kind of evil to walk the Earth. It didn’t matter that I was a kid. I fell in love with him all the same.
But that was where my fairytale ended.
Years later, a one-night stand during the darkest time imaginable gave us a little girl. It was nothing compared to the pitch black that consumed me when I was forced to leave her with Caven for good.
At the end of every fairytale, the happily-ever-after is the one thing that remains consistent. It wasn’t going to be mine, but there hadn’t been a night that passed where I hadn’t prayed that it would be hers.
I owed Caven my life. However, I owed that innocent child more. And that included ripping the heart from my chest and facing her father again.

I had only read the blurb and Astrids review of book of the duet and decided to give it a go. I’m decidedly pro standolnes and not duets and trilogies because a) the dreaded cliffangers b). not a fan of waiting to complete a couples story and when’s it contemporary I’m even more reluctant to try. But I was the mood and it seemed so intriguing and bonus both the books were were out.

I really loved the writing and the couple. I loved the writing so much that I decided to binge read four books of the author after finishing this.

I would really suggest reading the book without finding out the spoilers, just go in blind. It’s better that way and you’ll fall in love with Caven and Hadley.

Caven Hunt is a millionaire whose entire world changed the night when he found his daughter at his doorstep as a result of a one night stand. Caven’s childhood was filled with terror and later marked with tragedy and pain. After everything he’d went through, the only person he really is close to is his best friend Ian. Not even with only living relative, his brother. Finding out he has a daughter, is a huge shock to him but she changes his life and changes it for the better. She really is the best thing in his life. After getting over his shock, Caven falls in love with the tiny and helpless baby who brings the happiness in his bleak and chaos filled life. And chaos comes again when his daughters’ mother returns on her 4th birthday.

Hadley Banks life changed from the day at the mall when she was 8. She lost her loving parents then and now at 26, she has lost all her family. All that remains is Roselee. Hadley’s also been through a lot, but she’s finally here and all she really wants it is to be a part of Roselee’s life. Hadley is really trying. She’s not demanding, just wants to be a part of Roselee’s life and is willing to do everything she can. She’s very lonely and even now suffers from PTSD.

Usually in books, it’s mostly the father bailing out but here Roselee’s mother did which is unique on its own but then you have the fact that Hadley and Caven have a connection that goes beyond that.

Hadley and Caven, I loved them. Caven was an amazing father to his daughter. Caven and Roselee had a beautiful bond and there was nothing he wouldn’t do for that little girl. Caven however is also filled with guilt for events he’s not responsible for. He’s just feels so sorry, which added a vulnerability to his character which along with the love he has for his daughter ,makes you love him. He is decidedly angry that Hadley has come back and so we get that delicious hate/love with Caven and Hadley. It’s sort of inventible that at some point they’d give into the sizzling chemistry they have. I think they were a great couple, I loved their love and their love for Roselee.

“…There’s a reason time only marches in one direction. You can choose any second to start over again.”~Hadley Banks.

Of course this ends in a cliffhanger, which I didn’t see at all coming. In hindsight, it’s like ahhh that makes so much sense now but since you don’t expect it, it hits you in the gut.

This is my first read by the author and there’s something very addictive about her writing, added with the great characters, couple and a cute kid along withe plot, it made for overall fantastic read.

Review: The Regret Duet by Aly MartinezWritten with You by Aly Martinez
Series: The Regret Duet #2
Published by Aly Martinez on 13th June 2019
Buy on Amazon USBuy on Amazon UK
Goodreadsfour-stars

When I was fifteen, a single bullet changed my life. I spent the next decade trying to outrun the devastation of my past, building an empire that would shield me from whatever life could throw at me.
But all the money in the world couldn’t help me when I found a screaming newborn abandoned on my doorstep.
I’d never wanted to be a father. Passing the sludge that ran through my veins down to an innocent child seemed like a tragedy. But there she was—pink cheeks, red hair, and mine.
Somehow, against all logic, that little girl became the best thing that ever happened to me. It was impossible to stay lost in the past when I was the only one who could protect her future.
Which is exactly why, when her mother came back four years later, I was ready for battle.
If only I could stop myself from falling in love with her during the war.

After the cliff-hanger from book 1, I was dying to know what happened. There are so many ups and down in this book. Things that shock you, things that make you laugh, love and want to wish someone hell.

I loooovvveed the main couple. Caven, even in his hatred and asshole-ish behaviour was still lovable. You understand why he’s like that. The same is true with the heroine, no matter what she did, you still love her. Her decisions to me, for most part made sense with the way her character is written and she’s also lovable. The way she loves Caven and Roselee is also touching. I loved them together, they had to work through stuff but they came out stronger. Their HEA left me with immense satisfaction.

While the story has quite a few twists and turns and emotional upheaval, we also get lighthearted moments and sweet moments between the couple, and the couple with Roselee. And I really enjoyed the writing, the plot and the characters.

“I love you. In this second and all the ones to come.” ~Caven Hunt

I read the duet is one sitting, in one day. Honestly don’t even think I did anything but read except when I had to pee. It was my first duet by the author and I’ll be checking out other duets by her now (thank god for kindle unlimited) The duet was just very easy to get lost into and the couple was captivating that couldn’t help but root for them. I didn’t want to say goodbye to the couple and I adored the epilogue. I’m also smacking myself in the head for not giving this author a try years ago.

Overall rating ~4.5 stars.

About Aly Martinez

Born and raised in Savannah, Georgia, Aly Martinez is a stay-at-home mom to four crazy kids under the age of five- including a set of twins. Currently living in South Carolina, she passes what little free time she has reading anything and everything she can get her hands on, preferably with a glass of wine at her side.

Review: Requiem & Reverie by Keri Lake

Review: Requiem & Reverie by Keri Lake

I received this book for free in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Review: Requiem & Reverie by Keri LakeRequiem & Reverie by Keri Lake, Julie Belfield
Series: The Sandman Duet #2
Published by Amazon Digital Services on May 13, 2019
Genres: Dark romance, Romantic Suspense, Thrillers
Pages: 224
Format: eARC
Source: the Author
Buy on Amazon USBuy on Amazon UK
Goodreadsfour-stars

From USA Today Bestselling author Keri Lake comes an intense and gritty romantic thriller that'll have you turning the pages well past your bedtime.

It takes a killer to catch a killer.

And no one understands the motives of ruthless murderer, The Sandman, quite like Rhett Voss.

Having spent his childhood in the shadows of the deranged lunatic, he’s become an expert on the topic. Killing is in his blood, and as a hitman for hire, Voss maintains a steady diet of carnage, himself.

Except lately, it’s lost its appeal. Until he’s enticed to track down the clever Sandman who has his sights set on Nola Tensley.

The stunning single mom is a distraction Voss can’t afford, but to catch his elusive kin, he needs to watch the next victim closely. Consequently, stalking her soon becomes a dangerous obsession, turning a friendly game of cat and mouse into more than he bargained for, when someone close to Nola goes missing.

Suddenly, it’s no longer an old vendetta fueling Voss’s need to hunt down his enemy, but new stakes that are sure to mean more bloodshed. Voss knows better than anyone, though: to draw a killer out of hiding, one must have the right bait.

And both of them want Nola.

*Includes links to dark and light bonus scenes at the end of the book!

We continue on with Voss and Nola, their relationship is very getting complicated and steamier. The Sandman is still out and about and now theres a missing child. Tensions are rising, stakes are higher and Voss is determined to protect Nola and put a stop to Sandman once and for all. Then of course theres the case of Voss lying about who he really is and what he’s doing in Nola life, and when Nola finds out all hell breaks loose. Nola now stands to lose what she holds most dear and it’s bringing her to a very low point in her life.

We go through some twists and turns with amounting dread as the Sandman places the players exactly where he wants them to be, all the while hoping that Nola and Voss will make it through in one piece.

Quibbles: One issues I had for Voss never fully told Nola, what happened with his sister. I was already :/ about that, hoping some way that it wouldn’t happen, but it did and then he just doesn’t tell her the whole story which made me :// even at the end I kept thinking about what her reaction would have been. And Also I was right with who did it, with my theory (and that’s more because I read a lot of RS I guess) which I guess made me slightly disappointed because I was hoping for more AND then I GOT THAT!!! that little twist at the end, that was really good!! which is what gave this book a higher rating because without it, it was pretty predictable. Also Carl hope you’re fiction self is rotting in the fiction hell.

Regardless of these, I enjoyed the books, the author’s writing is great and just addictive. It a very dark, intriguing duet with a creepy serial killer (Really he’s extremely creepy), an anti-hero with a tragic past and struggling single mother. Can’t wait for more books from the author.

About Keri Lake

Keri Lake is a married mother of two living in Michigan. By day, she tries to make use of the degrees she’s earned in science. By night, she writes dark contemporary and paranormal romance. Though novels tend to be her focus, she also writes short stories and flash fiction on the many occasions when distraction sucks her in to the Land of Shiny Things.

She loves hearing from readers …

Cover Reveal: Requiem and Reverie by Keri Lake

Cover Reveal: Requiem and Reverie by Keri Lake

Requiem and Reverie by Keri Lake, the second book in the Sandman Duet releases 13th May!!

Release Date: May 13, 2019
Blurb
It takes a killer to catch a killer.
And no one understands the motives of ruthless murderer, The Sandman, quite like Rhett Voss. 
Having spent his childhood in the shadows of the deranged lunatic, he’s become an expert on the topic. Killing is in his blood, and as a hitman for hire, Voss maintains a steady diet of carnage, himself.
Except lately, it’s lost its appeal. Until he’s enticed to track down the clever Sandman who has his sights set on Nola Tensley.
The stunning single mom is a distraction Voss can’t afford, but to catch his elusive kin, he needs to watch the next victim closely. Consequently, stalking her soon becomes a dangerous obsession, turning a friendly game of cat and mouse into more than he bargained for, when someone close to Nola goes missing.
Suddenly, it’s no longer an old vendetta fueling Voss’s need to hunt down his enemy, but new stakes that are sure to mean more bloodshed. Voss knows better than anyone, though: to draw a killer out of hiding, one must have the right bait.
And both of them want Nola.
Pre-order Links
AMAZON US / UK
Also Available
AMAZON US / UK
Free in Kindle Unlimited
Cover Design: Okay Creations

About Keri Lake

Keri Lake is a married mother of two living in Michigan. By day, she tries to make use of the degrees she’s earned in science. By night, she writes dark contemporary and paranormal romance. Though novels tend to be her focus, she also writes short stories and flash fiction on the many occasions when distraction sucks her in to the Land of Shiny Things.

She loves hearing from readers …

Release Day and Review: Nocturnes & Nightmares by Keri Lake

Release Day and Review: Nocturnes & Nightmares by Keri Lake

I received this book for free in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Release Day and Review: Nocturnes & Nightmares by Keri LakeNocturnes & Nightmares by Keri Lake
Published by Amazon Digital Services on 29 April 2019
Genres: Dark romance, Romantic Suspense, Thrillers
Pages: 240
Format: eARC
Buy on Amazon USBuy on Amazon UK
Goodreadsfour-half-stars

The most terrifying monsters aren’t found in dreams …

Four young socialites have gone missing in the Chicago area. Two found dead, bearing the signature marks of a brutal serial killer. With the kind of tragedy that mars Nola Tensley’s past, she should be concerned, but without a pot to piss in, all the struggling single mom cares about is making a normal life for her son.

After all, she’s clearly not the murderer’s type.
Or is she?

When Rhett Voss, an enigmatic and handsome stranger, answers her ad for the outdated in-law suite at the back of her property, offering double her asking price, Nola really can’t refuse. Even though the supposed Wall Street Wolf seems better suited for a high-rise downtown—a suspicion that quickly turns into hindsight once she submits to the flirtations of her charming new tenant, and consequently, unearths a series of disturbing revelations.

Her curiosities lead her down the path of a madman, whose moniker, The Sandman, only hints at the grisly nature of his crimes. He’s smart. Evasive. A cunning psychopath with a twisted method of disposing his victims.

And his hunting grounds are hitting too close to home.

Author note: This book contains scenes of graphic sex and violence that some readers may find disturbing.

Nightmares and Monsters are real and no one knows this better than Voss, Nola and her son Oliver.

Keri Lake brings in her A game with an extremely disturbing serial killer, slightly less scary anti hero and a single mother who has experienced too many tragedies but is a wonderful parent.

Rhett Voss and Nola Tensely are very different people, one if a hitman and the other is a recently widowed waitress dealing with her own issues. They are both such compelling protagonists though, they have both their own demons and as with Keri Lake, the chemistry between them is combustible. I loved seeing the more domestic bits we got of them regardless of the real reason of why they were together at that particular moment.

The sandman aspect of the book was very intriguing, actually the whole is very intriguing but especially the sandman/Carl/Voss aspect bit. I think in any suspense book, the element who dun it is very important…it can’t be too in the face or like completely out of left side and I here the I think it’s done pretty well, I have several theories and I can’t wait to see how they pan out, thats part of the fun of reading these books you know, figuring out who actually is it and I’m eagerly waiting for the next book to get answers.

I loved the writing, I have kept this review as spoiler free as I can because you really should go in without knowing because the moment you read the first chapter you’re sucked in.

Also fyi the book is dark romance emphasis on dark, deals with a lot of explicit violence, sexual and graphic content that might be triggering for some so please know that before reading.

P.s I read this book after midnight, which I really wouldn’t suggest anyone doing because not only because I couldn’t stop reading it and had to finish to finish it then, I also couldn’t sleep after I had finished it because of being slightly creeped out by the murders.

About Keri Lake

Keri Lake is a married mother of two living in Michigan. By day, she tries to make use of the degrees she’s earned in science. By night, she writes dark contemporary and paranormal romance. Though novels tend to be her focus, she also writes short stories and flash fiction on the many occasions when distraction sucks her in to the Land of Shiny Things.

She loves hearing from readers …

Review and Giveaway: Hunting Danger by Katie Reus

Review and Giveaway: Hunting Danger by Katie Reus

I received this book for free in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Review and Giveaway: Hunting Danger by Katie ReusHunting Danger by Katie Reus
Series: Redemption Harbor #5
Published by LLC on 25th September 2018
Genres: Contemporary Romance, Military, Romantic Suspense
Format: eARC
Source: the Author
Buy on Amazon USBuy on Amazon UKBuy on KoboBuy on itunesBuy on B&N
Goodreadsfour-stars

From USA Today bestselling author Katie Reus comes the next story in the explosive Redemption Harbor series where sparks fly and so do bullets…
The one woman he wants…
When a childhood friend needs help, Nova doesn’t hesitate. They endured the foster system together, forging a bond Nova can’t ignore. Relying on her friends from Redemption Harbor Consulting—including Gage, the computer genius she’s falling for—is out of the question. She used to work for the CIA and she’s trained—she can handle this. Besides, the whole team is working on their own important jobs. She’s not going to drag anyone away when she’s not sure it’s necessary.
Is the one he can’t have…
When Nova asks for time off out of the blue—and use of the company jet—former Marine Gage takes note. Of course, he notices everything about Nova. But as one of her bosses, his growing attraction to her is a line he won’t cross. However, that doesn’t mean he’ll let her run straight into danger—and a quick hack of her computer proves she’s gotten in over her head. Gage is coming along for the ride, whether the sassy assistant likes it or not. He’ll do whatever’s necessary to save her friend…and keep Nova out of the clutches of a lethal enemy who won’t hesitate to kill anyone who gets in their way.
Length: NOVEL
Author note: This is a stand-alone novel in the Redemption Harbor series complete with an HEA and no cliffhanger.

Hunting Danger is Nova and Gage’s story, introduced in the book prior to this one. They are finally getting their own story while they are in the other books in the series, they aren’t any special/prominent scenes of them together so you can read this one as a standalone without missing anything.

When one of Nova’s childhood friend Layla from foster care needs help, Nova decides to help her on her own without asking the team, not counting on one of her bosses, computer wiz Gage following her. But thank god he did!

Nova and Gage have both been attracted to each other, but have been unsure of how the other feels and seeing as they are in a kind of a boss/employee relationship, it would be unprofessional but all that hesitancy will be questioned under the danger they find themselves in.

Apart from minor issues here and there, mostly about the pacing and slight lack of development in their relationship in the second half and too many people but lack of pages. I really enjoyed this one! Gage and Nova were very adorable together. You can see how much they cared for each other and loved each other despite their reluctance to take things further. They had good chemistry together and I liked that Nova didn’t back down from Gage. They were very well matched! Suspense and romance were balanced for most part in the book which I also liked.

Overall, its a quick read, with fast paced action and romance and great writing (as expected from Katie Reus) and a great addition to the series. I’m looking forward to the next book in the series!

a Rafflecopter giveaway

 

About Katie Reus

Katie Reus is the New York Times and USA Today bestselling author of the Red Stone Security series, the Darkness series and the Deadly Ops series. She fell in love with romance at a young age thanks to books she pilfered from her mom’s stash. Years later she loves reading romance almost as much as she loves writing it.

However, she didn’t always know she wanted to be a writer. After changing majors many times, she finally graduated summa cum laude with a degree in psychology. Not long after that she discovered a new love. Writing. She now spends her days writing dark paranormal romance and sexy romantic suspense.

Blog Tour: The Truth About Us by Aly Martinez

Blog Tour: The Truth About Us by Aly Martinez

Blog Tour: The Truth About Us by Aly MartinezThe Truth About Us by Aly Martinez
on 13th September 2018
Genres: Contemporary Romance, Romantic Suspense, Suspense
Pages: 199
Buy on Amazon USBuy on Amazon UK
Goodreads

Truth: Penn Walker entered my life like a summer storm—dark, ominous, and filled with thunder.

After witnessing my husband’s murder, I didn’t have much of a heart left to offer a man.

But Penn took it all.
Every jagged shard.
Every broken bit.
Even the dirty and twisted pieces that I wish never existed.

Lie: I didn’t need him to save me.
Lie: I knew exactly who he was.
Lie: Losing him wouldn’t destroy me.

But that’s the thing about lies—you never know who to believe

The conclusion to the heart-stopping Truth Duet by Aly Martinez just went live!

Today we are celebrating the release of the second book in The Truth Duet by Aly Martinez. The Truth About Us is now available! The first book in the duet, The Truth About Lies, is available too and both titles can be read for FREE as part of KindleUnlimited!

READ THE TRUTH ABOUT US NOW:

Amazon US | Amazon UK | Amazon CA | Amazon AU

THE TRUTH ABOUT LIES (The Truth Duet, #1)

AVAILABLE NOW:

Amazon US | Amazon UK | Amazon CA | Amazon AU

Add THE TRUTH ABOUT LIES (The Truth Duet, #1) to Goodreads

Add THE TRUTH ABOUT US (The Truth Duet, #2) to Goodreads

About Aly Martinez

Born and raised in Savannah, Georgia, Aly Martinez is a stay-at-home mom to four crazy kids under the age of five- including a set of twins. Currently living in South Carolina, she passes what little free time she has reading anything and everything she can get her hands on, preferably with a glass of wine at her side.